We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Qelqatani a place to feel like being at home!”
Review of Qelqatani Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Qelqatani Hotel
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Reviewed 11 September 2010

I have found that this place is great. From the very beginning the people working here make you feel you are at home. It is nociable that their concern is that you, I mean the traveler feels is welcome. When you ask something they immediately serve you. moreover, I have noticed that Qelqatani's workers are very polite and always willing to help. I strongly believe that they work to demonstarte that Peru is a great place to visit. Congratulations for Qelqatani.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hector_hermoza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Dear guest we really appreciate your comments, thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (441)
There are newer reviews for Qelqatani Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

177 - 183 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2010

Our stay here was nice. The staff was pleasant. While everything was perfect and accomodating, there is nothing that stood out from the hotel. Everything was as expected. The staff were nice and friendly, but not as much as other places I stayed - but still very nice. Our room was large and comfortable. Breakfast was good, but not great.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oenophile79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you very much for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

This hotel was one of the most pleasant surprises during our recent trip to Peru.

My wife and I found this hotel via the Internet (Trip Advisor and other sites) and booked it through our travel agent (among other trip details) for the same rate as advertised ($80/night for a double room with one bed - called "matrimonial" in Peru - including a sumptuous breakfast).

Room was big and the bathroom was really specious - huge would be the right description for both. There was a lot of closet space and clean sheets, towels, etc., more than we had experienced in similarly priced hotels in Peru. We had a large window overlooking the city and the mountain. Hotel is clean and friendly and its location is central for easy access to stores, pickups etc. for tour operators.

We checked out for an overnight trip to Lake Titikaka. The staff happily stored our luggage and kept our passports in their safe overnight and arranged a van pickup to the airport next day even though we were not staying there anymore.

The breakfast spread was very nice - 4 juices, 4 cereals, eggs-to-order, lots of different breads, and beverages... wonderful service too.

One last tip for travel between Juliaca airport to Puno... van service costs only 15 Soles/person one-way and can be found at the airport (does not have to be booked in advance). It will save you money compared to a taxi (70 soles) or other kinds of airport transfers to any hotel in Puno.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank URK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thanks for your feedback about your experience with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Dull rooms, at least had a bath. Breakfast passable. No glitz or glamour here!

Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
Thank likest0travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

We regret not having been at its height and we hope to satisfy to other guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2010

The staff were helpful but the hotel is dimmly lit and cold.
The hotel was almost empty during my 3 night stay.
Puno itself is plain by Sacred Valley standards.
The floating islands were very interesting but quite tourist oriented (they already had props and handicrafts set up on all of the islands we boated by).
Taquile island was a nice place to hike.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaseCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2010

We stayed in the Qelqatani Hotel for 2 nights during an excursion to Amantani and Taquile. The hotel staff was superb and extremely helpful in arranging taxi's, recommending restaurants, and confirming out travel plans. Our room was clean, comfortable and pleasant. The hotel was one block from a main street with plenty of restaurants and shops. I can't say enough about the wonderful staff at the front desk, and the courtesy of the staff assisting us with our luggage. You guys rock!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColleenMnglo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback. You were a great guest for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2010

We stayed for two days in late June as a base to tour Lake Titicaca. The staff are very courteous and helpful. The restaurant on site has a nice selection of food at reasonable prices.

The hotel is a few blocks from Plaza de Armas, and 10 minutes by car to the bus station. The pedestrian-only strip is only two blocks away. The neighborhood felt safe, and police were often seen throughout the blocks.

The room was maintained and cleaned daily, and the breakfast buffet was ok. The room had a portable electric heater (Fall-like US temperatures in June). The staff also have on hand an oxygen tank for those who feel altitude-related symptoms.

I would clearly stay here again without hesitation. Couteous and attentive staff, a well-kept hotel, value for the money (I booked thru Expedia) and one of the best restaurants I´ve seen in a hotel in Peru are all present in this hotel. There is no parking on the street, since it´s very narrow.

Feel free to email me with any questions.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nessim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
QELQATANI, Director Comercial at Qelqatani Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thanks for your comments, really appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.2 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 64 in Puno
560 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Puno
Hotel Hacienda Puno
#9 of 64 in Puno
519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#14 of 64 in Puno
407 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Qalasaya
Hotel Qalasaya
#31 of 64 in Puno
158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Plaza de Armas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qelqatani Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qelqatani Hotel

Address: Jiron Tarapaca 355, Puno, Peru
Region: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Price Range: £18 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Qelqatani Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION: Located in the heart of Puno city, within easy walking distance of tourist attractions such as museums, colonial churches, commercial centers, banks, restaurants, night life, and other places of interest for our guests.ACCOMMODATION: The Hotel has 42 rooms, 14 are Single or Matrimonial rooms, 18 are Doble rooms, 7 Triples, 2 Suites “Double Junior” and 1 Suite “Single or Matrimonial Junior”, each room is furnished with carpet, TV / Cable, Telephone (IDD/NDD), Heating, Bathroom with tub and Hot / Cold Water 24 hrs, Safe, Hair Dryer and Energy Transformer from 220V to 110V.SERVICES: Restaurant, Bar and Cafeteria, Laundry, Telephone (IDD/NDD), Fax and Wireles Internet, Room Service, Conference Room, Mail Service, Souvenirs Shop, Tourist Information, Travel Agency, Medical Assistance, Reservation and Flight Confirmation, Transfers to the Airport, Money Exchange, Credit Cards, Baggage Storage and Taxi Service.Our Conference Room offers great benefits to our current and future clients, including our Dinner & Shows offer. During the day, it is also available for conferences, seminars, shops and any other activity that require a wide, elegant and welcoming atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Qelqatani Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Qelqatani Hotel Puno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing