We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moderate hotel in a moderate town”
Review of Hotel Balsa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Balsa
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Puno
Brussels
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Moderate hotel in a moderate town”
Reviewed 7 December 2011

This is an average hotel. If you're a budget traveler, the room is allright although the carpet was far from clean and paint blistered off the wall at certain spots. The shower, however was super and there were 2 PC's in the hallway free to use. The breakfast was extensive and there is an elevator. In short, it's a perfect hotel when you're on a passage through Colca, Cuzco or Bolivia. And moreover, it is situated in the center (?) of Puno.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herwin04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    78
    44
    9
    11
See reviews for
30
80
23
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Only a short walk to the central square & market. Breakfast menu above average for a typical Peru Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2011

This was an average hotel as far as facilities go. The location was good - right by the cathedral. The staff was really great... very very helpful and always a smile on their faces. I stayed 2 nights, one at the beginning of my Lake Titicaca homestay journey and one at the end. The first night I got a pretty good room. It was a bit cold, but the heater provided eventually warmed it up. Bathroom was clean - not the ritz, but overall not too bad. The second night the room was clean, but again quite cold and unfortunately the heater didn't work too well. There was also a bit of an 'sewage' like smell starting at around 10PM to about 9AM - very good. I am very sure the hotel would have been more than happy to resolve my 'issues' for night 2, but I was just too tired to call down
and tell them :), so I don't hold it against them.

They are also the first hotel I have stayed in so far in Peru that had room service. It's not expensive. The chicken sandwich was quite good - chocolate cake was not so good. Oh and the coffee they serve at breakfast and via room service is quite horrible - perhaps bring some Starbucks VIA with you ;)!

I do recommend this hotel if you are on a budget (I am not sure how much it was as my stay there was included in a package I purchased throught GAP Adventures).

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gothicpink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights as part of a GAP tour. The hotel is nothing special but clean. All in all ok for a three star hotel. Puno itself is not that exciting and I would recommend not to spend too much time there.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJ-EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Jose Dos Campos, SP
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2010

The hotel is well located as it is very close to Puno's Plaza de Armas. Staff is great and always friendly and helpful.
Free wi-fi connection works perfectly in the rooms.
Rooms size is good with a big wardrobe on them. Bathroom was good with hot shower all day long (not just for 5 minutes as others hotels in Peru).
Great deal, I recommend for everyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeStE_78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2010

We had a great experience with this hotel! We arrived fairly late into Puno from Cusco (avoid Turismo del mer) and the staff at the hotel were great! We got our room quickly and they even contacted the tour operator we were using whilst in Puno so we could be briefed. The room was spacious and clean with bathroom. Because its peru, we expected less, and this place certainly exceeded expectations. The location was fantastic, 5 min walk from the plaza and all the eateries. Free internet and the breakfast buffet was good in range and quality, you would understand after eating just bread every morning! they had yoghurt, cereal, fruit, eggs, meat and yes, different types of bread! What made our stay great was when we came back to the hotel from our homestay, they informed us that our bags which had been in storage had already been taking up to our rooms and that everything was ready for us! now thats service! a perfect stay and many thanks to the staff who made it great!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toadstool_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puno
1 review
Reviewed 25 March 2010

I would like to thank the staff at Balsa in for taking extra special care of me during my stay in Puno. Especially Mrs. Marisol (head house keeper) and Mr. Orlando. They were friendly and helpful and made sure my room was well kept when I was unwell.
Gracias
Julie from Australia

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ioulia04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.1 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 66 in Puno
538 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Puno
Hotel Hacienda Puno
#10 of 66 in Puno
490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#15 of 66 in Puno
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casona Plaza Hotel Centro
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
0.2 mi away
Qelqatani Hotel
Qelqatani Hotel
#21 of 66 in Puno
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Balsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Balsa

Property: Hotel Balsa
Address: Jiron Cajamarca 555, Puno 01, Peru
Region: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 66 Hotels in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Balsa 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are your best and safer choice. With our welcoming attention and efficient service you will feel at home.The Balsa Hotel offers to all its guests the comfort of its modern facilities and equipment, thus like its experience in Hotels.Our only intention is to satisfy desires and necessities with our guests, guaranteeing their unforgettable holidays and making the most of your . Luxury rooms and bathrooms Buffet Breakfast included for all guests All carpeted rooms Box spring beds Super king beds Private bathroom with tub and shower Hot water 24 hours Heating in all rooms Hair Dryer in all rooms Safe box in all rooms Telephone in all rooms WI-FI in all Hotel TV per cable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Balsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing