We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good and modern hotel in good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Andina Classic - Puno Tikarani

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Casa Andina Classic - Puno Tikarani
Ranked #17 of 67 Hotels in Puno
Viimsi, Estonia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good and modern hotel in good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

We spent a night in the hotel. It was not so easy to find because the street in front of the hotel was being reconstructed and everything was torn up. After getting into the hotel, the contrast of the hotel and the surroundings was enormous. The whole hotel and reception area felt modern, spacious and clean.

The reception staff was professional and helpful with good command of English as a balance to our lack of Spanish.

Our room on the ground floor was really big and spacious, also clean. The breakfast was also good with many choices. So overall a good and modern hotel in good locations - its only a couple of minutes walking to any other place in the centre.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaido K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    114
    185
    93
    24
    1
See reviews for
60
177
31
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We probably weren't in the best frame of mind having departed a luxurious trip on the Andean Explorer to find our transfer not waiting for us and wondering what and where we should go now.
A helpful lady organised a taxi for us and for about $2 we eventually found our hotel about 5 minutes from the train station
The road outside the hotel was a mess (see pic), but our luggage was quickly carried to the lobby by some helpful boys and we were welcomed with smiles and a speedy check in.
A quick explanation that the road was under repair not normally like that may have settled us into thinking we hadn't booked into some dodgy down market accommodation.
A little shell-shocked we got to our room. Small and basic is a good description.
Linen felt old, a bit smelly and musty as if it needed a further wash.
Shower was cold in the morning.
No safety box.
We went downstairs to find a drink and something to eat. Menu consisted of very basic pizza.
After waiting 20 minutes to be served we decided to call it quits and go back to the room and eat some of our trail mix instead and check our gear.
We were up early and skipped breakfast (but saw the breakfast bar) so can't report on that but if anything like dinner I'd suggest it was pretty basic.
Staff were very pleasant and helpful.
Can't say I ever really relaxed or found anything enjoyable about staying here.
Average at best ... then I'm not sure what else there is in Puno ... not the greatest looking town I've ever seen, but you have to overnite here if you do the Cusco to Puno Andean Explorer.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacksdad100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

There was nothing wrong with the hotel - the room was comfortable, clean and attractive and the staff was pleasant and helpful. Many restaurants close by. But the street out front was excavated to a depth of about 1 meter and we had to climb over piles of dirt and debris. The entire block was affected. Especially bad at night when the lighting wasn't all that good and the street was muddy after a rain.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travellermarg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Classic - Puno Tikarani, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with our team.

We appreciate your positive comments regarding your last stay with us. As you mentioned, the local government is turning the street in front of the hotel into a pedestrian area. Nevertheless, our team is working to reduce the disturbance this may cause to our guests.

We hope you visit us any time soon.

Kind regards,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
159 reviews
150 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

The staff is helpful and efficient and why I rated 4 stars. The road in front of hotel is currently torn up so transportation needs to stop about a block away - staff runs for luggage and quickly brings up to room - much appreciated as hotel does not have any elevators. Room is quite basic - I stayed in two different rooms and there are differences in size and features (a larger one that had a bathtub, and a smaller one with just a shower). Breakfast is basic fare. Wi-fi only works in lobby - with better reception in the breakfast area vs front of hotel. Hotel is convenient to shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SF94597
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lutheran All Faiths Cemetery; Queens, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

I was an overnight guest at the Casa Andina on September 13/14, 2013. The facilities are great, the breakfast buffet is a treat, but the staff -- they're in a class by themselves! Through some mixup with my travel agency, I was not picked up at the hotel for my flight to Lima. Helaman Espinoza and Veronica Navarro to the rescue! They stepped in, replacing my faltering high school Spanish with respectful, diplomatic phone calls in my behalf. With tact, combined with just the right measured weight of authority, they solved my problem. A guide and driver soon arrived and my travels continued without further delay.

Thank you, Helaman and Veronica!

Room Tip: There's no elevator service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyGenealogy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
170 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

This was the best of the Casa Andina chain in which we stayed as it was more modern and had an "open plan" feel to it. The room was comfortable with the only draw back been that as it was on the landing next to the stairwell, there was quite a bit of noise at time. The staff were friendly and most spoke some English. Do yourself a favour and have one of their wood fired pizza's for dinner. Delicious. Lack of an elevator or lift was inconvenient however the staff were more than happy to carry the bags upstairs.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the stairwell.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for four nights. Had a heater in my rom and sufficient bedding to keep warm. My room overlooked the street, so the never ending hooting of horns throughout the night was annoying, also my room did It shake a bit when, I assume, heavy vehicles drove past. My room was fine, the bed was a bit hard, but after the first night I got used to it; it had a flat screen TV and a heater. Bathroom had a good hot shower and hair dryer and thick cotton towels. There was a safe and excellent free wifi.
On the downside, water wasn't provided in my room, and no facilities to make a drink. The lobby had no specific highlights, but the staff were courteous and friendly.
Breakfast was a typical selection of drinks and scrambled eggs with bread, toast, cheese, ham cereals etc.
This hotel is absolutely fine, no frills as such, but a lot more than adequate.
It is located a couple of blocks from the main square, where the restaurants are located. All within walking distance.
Cusco has a large police presence, so it was completely safe to walk out at night.
I would recommend it for those who are of the great outdoors type, who use the hotel as somewhere to sleep. Those in 3 inch Jimmy Choo's, forget it.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilyplayed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.0 mi away
Casa Andina Private Collection Puno
0.8 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Plaza de Armas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
1.9 mi away
Libertador Lake Titicaca
0.8 mi away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#13 of 67 in Puno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Andina Classic - Puno Tikarani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Classic - Puno Tikarani

Property: Casa Andina Classic - Puno Tikarani
Address: Independencia 143, Puno 36, Peru
Region: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Casa Andina Classic - Puno Tikarani 3.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A medium-size, easygoing hotel with several relaxing public areas, including a fireplace lounge and courtyard. Close to Puno’s restaurant and bar scene along the pedestrian-only Lima boulevard — just a 5-minute walk— but just far enough removed to make sure visitors get a good night’s sleep. More spacious, with larger bedrooms and with more public areas, than Casa Andina’s other downtown Puno Classic hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Casa Andina Classic - Puno Tikarani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Classic - Puno Tikarani Hotel Puno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing