We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little paradise”
Review of Isla Suasi Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Isla Suasi Hotel
Ranked #13 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 May 2013

During our two months trip through Peru, Bolivia and Chile we booked two nights at Casa Andina on Suasi Island. The idea was to relax and to enjoy the service of a good hotel, located in the quiet nature. Our objective has been exceeded! Already the journey on the lake Titicaca, accompanied by the perfect guide Gilbert, visiting an island of the Uros and Taquile Island was an unforgettable experience. After several beautiful walks on the island, observing the lamas, vicunias, rabbits and birds, and a tour by hotel owned kayak we always relaxed in the marvellous hotel garden where we also had breakfast and lunch. An outstanding service provided Rolando our waiter on all meals. He even explained us the southern night sky with the constellations of the stars using a telescope. Back to the room for the night the wood in the stove was burning and the eucalyptus leaves on top spreaded a delightful scent...
Many thanks to the great staff for all the perfect services.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pierre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (516)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 516 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2013

We had 2 nights here. A private island on Lake Titicaca complete with alpacas & vicuna roaming around. We stayed in the Andean Cottage which is a delight with lots of delightful touches-flowers, eucalyptus leaves on top of the wood burning stove, hammocks & on the lake. Amazingly quiet. It is a reasonable a walk up to the main building with the altitude but we did need some exercise!
The best part of our visit were the staff, in particular the incredibly attentive Rolando who could not do enough for us. Belizabeth at the front desk is also great.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mc-3449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

On a private island a few hundred metres from the mainland on Lake Titicaca opposite Puno. It is a 3 hour crossing via motor boat (A high end Volvo!). Guests leave the Casa Andina hotel outside Puno at 0700 in the morning and arrive at the island at around midday having visited the Uros Tribe who line on floating islands and Taquile Island inhabited by another tribe. The hotel is "rustic eco" but very well done. Electricity from 0700-0900 and 1700-2300 although cameras etc can be charged at reception at any time. All power etc is generated on the island or is wood (BBQ's) or solar or gas (for the kitchen I guess). Rooms are very comfortable (at least ours was - 2nd floor); fires are lit at night and hot water bottles are provided. Food is OK+, often not terribly hot. You certainly won't go hungry!! The island setting is beautiful. Tranquil. Lovely gardens. Beautiful views and sunsets. There's nothing much to do except relax which is fine for a couple of days particularly after likely visits to the Inca heartland with lots of activity. The altitude can be an issue for some (around 3800 metres) but oxygen is available and rest/inactivity is a good cure as well. Best to come here via another high altitude place eg Cusco or Colca or Arequipa - at least some acclimatization will have taken place. Lovely staff.

Room Tip: 2nd floor, main building seemed better than first. May be more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Isla Suasi is a private island (the owner lives on the island) on Lake Titicaca. Access to the island is from Puno via a floating island and tequila island both really interesting. Once you get to Isla Suasi the views as you arrive take your breath away. The hotel itself is lovely if not a little dated. There is no electricity at different times and at night but if you have a medical condition which requires access to power they will run electricity into your room. The food is adequate and yes as reported by others the waiter is very responsive to your needs. Perhaps some of the other staff could follow his example although most would suffer in comparison to his dedication and they do provide a good service. We only stayed one night but I think it would be a nice place for a longer stay but you would need to be looking for rest rather than adventure. The altitude is a factor but if you look after yourself you should be fine. This is pretty expensive but we felt it was well worth it. There is some upmarket and up priced accommodation down on the beach but to get to the dining room you have to climb a pretty formidable set of stairs so I would stick to the standard rooms which are fine and comfortable.Getting off the island as reported by others was via Zodiac with staff going off duty. When it rains they will give you umbrellas but it could get a little wet. We had no such issues and enjoyed our Zodiac ride. The trip back to Puno by road was fairly long and tedious and made worse for us as we were leaving that evening from the airport 1 hr outside of Puno. We drove past it into Puno and were immediately taken 1 hr back to the airport. Not great planning. We are not sure what role the two Casa Andina Hotels in Puno and Isla Suasi had in this regard but the coordination could have been better.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Allan.G49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013 via mobile

If you are a traveler and can take altitude of 13000 feet this place is for you in Peru. Private launch for Puno with trip to the Uros island people on Lake Titicaca. This island had neat hotel with about 35 rooms. We occupied the only 3 rooms used one of the 2 days we were here. This place is restful just read and walk and enjoy the isolation. The grounds are beautiful as are the walks good food. Like your own place. Drinks and snacks free all the time Though you come thru Juliaca airport DO NOT STAY there it looked awful driving through. Puno has decent hotels and is good for the one night stop prior to getting the launch

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travelingbonedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2013

I had an amazing experience here for my two-day visit, but I can understand why so many other travelers would be disappointed. The linens need to be updated, and the food, while good, could certainly use an upgrade. I found The Green House to be much more luxurious than Isla Suasi, but I enjoyed both of my stays equally. The lake is absolutely beautiful and the sunsets incredible. The staff really does what they can to make you comfortable, and fireplaces and bed warmers are a great touch. It was cloudy the whole time that I was there, so I missed the "near mystical" experience that Frommer's rave's about, but I would definitely come back to this secluded island to give it another shot.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank demoisellemoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

My husband and I stayed two nights at CAPC Isla Suasi, and counted them the best two of our 18-day visit to Peru. The service was excellent, our room was very comfortable, warmed by a small wood stove with eucalyptus cuttings in a pot on top, scenting the room. We could see the stars from our skylight over our cozy king-sized bed, and we had an excellent view of the lake. The food was always delicious. Our guide Maria de los Angeles was very attentive to our every need and very knowledgeable about the island's flora and fauna, its history. We enjoyed the hill trail in Maria's and Elisabeth's (member of the staff) company, took a kayak out on the lake on our own. It was a pleasure to meet Martha, the owner of the island, who shared many insights about the property and area culture. What truly impressed us was the attention to detail. For example, the cultural center had several small bowls with flowers floating in them throughout...and we were the only guests one of the nights. CAPC Isla Suasi is the gold standard for eco lodges, that is, comfort and care, attractive appointments are not sacrificed to the eco cause. That is, this hotel demonstrates that it is possible to implement ecological practices with no loss of comfort and enjoyment. All in all, it was the perfect place to celebrate the end of our 40th wedding anniversary year.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvjsulli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puno hotels
43.3 mi away
Libertador Lake Titicaca
43.8 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
43.3 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Puno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
45.6 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
44.1 mi away
Mirador del Titikaka
21.2 mi away
Amantica Lodge
Amantica Lodge
#16 of 64 in Puno
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isla Suasi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isla Suasi Hotel

Address: | Isla Suasi, Lago Titicaca, Puno, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Puno
#3 Romantic Hotel in Puno
#4 Family Hotel in Puno
Price Range: £148 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Isla Suasi Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A solar-powered ecolodge on remote and uniquely beautiful Isla Suasi-the only private island in massive Lake Titicaca, the world's highest navigable body of water. Featuring panoramic lake views from every room, surrounded by terraced gardens and designed with native materials (stone, adobe and thatched roofs) to blend into the island, the lodge is committed to being green. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Isla Suasi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Private Collection Isla Suasi Hotel Puno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing