We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casa Andina,Puno lunch”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Andina Premium Puno
Ranked #13 of 65 Hotels in Puno
Tyalgum, Australia
1 review
“Casa Andina,Puno lunch”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Wonderful waiter, German made our dining experience unforgettable with his beer bottle balancing act. So much fun and delicious food.
Thank you to All staff at Casa Andina.
This is a lovely hotel with enjoyable tapas & wine at the bar,a very quiet but reasonably priced food The food is delicious and presented beautifully.
Rooms are lovely and clean and very comfortable.
Lounging areas are cosy, deck areas take in the sights of lake Titicaca

Room Tip: We wanted a balcony looking out to the lake, fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    388
    404
    224
    52
    29
See reviews for
176
588
56
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, CA
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Awesome place, a little bit odd when first driving up to it. Area right next to it looks shabby but the hotel itself is awesome - and it does sit right on the lake with access to the Lake Titicaca Ouros and Taquile tours from the hotel pier. Super good service in lobby for check in, bell boys are super friendly, the bar, restaurant service and people are super super friendly - way above average = better than Marriott. The rooms are great, good views, woodstove available for chilly nights, oxygen available. Breakfast buffet and egg station are perfect. Would definitely recommend !!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankTibackx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I was there for two nights in June 2014 and found Lake Titicaca an absolute knockout. As I arrived early evening and left early morning after the second night, and was out on the lake all day in between I scarcely noticed the hotel facilities.

I did notice that the hotel had a wonderful lake view and its own landing stage. The train line goes right past the hotel (only one train a day), and if indeed you can get off the train at the hotel (stories on this vary) that would be great. We arrived at Puno by bus and frankly the town itself looks such a dump close up that we were relieved to be met by our agent and taken directly to the hotel. Mind you, if you go by air via Juliaca, that town is even more alarming than Puno.

So, the hotel met our needs and we were only there for two nights and disinclined to be critical. I can't speak for room service or wifi. Maybe it's a generation thing but I tend not to use those facilities.

Our room had no air conditioning. I don't suppose it ever gets that warm there. The heating was from an electric oil filled radiator, adequate but unattractive. The room was clean but the decor did look tired.

The balcony was OK for adults but would have been unsafe for young children because of the design of the railing - it would be easy for a child to fall through. I doubt that many people would take a young child to such a location, but it is worth noting.

I believe you can get oxygen bottles if you ask for them, at a price. I saw some mini bottles containing 8 litres (enough for a few minutes relief if you are feeling rough). They look like oversized aerosol cans. I don't know the price as I did not need one. As others have remarked, you would expect complimentary water for a hotel claiming to be something special. Don't underestimate how much you need to buy, an active day out could easily require four litres.

There is no elevator, so from our room to the restaurant was down a flight of steps, onto the terrace and then down another flight. Given we had good weather that was fine, but it would have been irritating had it been raining. Also it could perhaps be a strain going back up if the altitude was troubling you. You will not, however, need to climb more than two storeys.

The restaurant is quite good, though the head waiter was overly attentive, with an irritatingly camp manner. A slight touch of Monty Python.

The view of the road was uninspiring. If you choose to upgrade to the lake view I think it only adds about 20% to the cost and would be well worthwhile if you are staying more than a couple of nights (I doubt many people do stay much longer).

By all means stay here if it is for no more than two nights and you don't expect to spend much time in the hotel. If you like luxury go elsewhere.

Finally, I advise that if you are not used to sleeping at high altitude, spend at least a couple of nights at Cusco or Arequipa before going to Titicaca. It's supposed to be a holiday, not an ordeal. One does hear horror stories about the altitude (3800 metres, 12,500 feet). You won't die but you may not sleep that well. I did not, despite a comfortable bed and an active day.

Room Tip: Lake view is worth the extra - though you may be too tired to care.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stabreim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Premium Puno, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our Private Collection Puno. We truly appreciate to get to know your impressions.

We are pleased to know that you had a nice stay at our hotel. As you mention, all guests can enjoy the breathtaking lake view and relax at our facilities. We would like to mention you that the rooms are decorating according the hotel location. We want to show the Puno culture through our hotel; we regret that you found it old.

On the other hand, we are glad that you liked the food from our Alma Restaurant.

We hope that you can visit our other properties.

Sincerely,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I've never checked out of a hotel earlier than planned, except for at the Casa Andina Private Collection in Puno. Don't let the name of the hotel fool you! This is NOT what should be considered a 'private collection' hotel. That description of a property would infer that there are basic amenities about the property like an elevator, a gift shop/small store, sound-proof walls, (free) water provided - given the altitude, ventilation, central heat/air, and wifi accessibility around the whole hotel, not just in the common areas. Sadly, that is not the case at this particular property, and the pictures you see on the company's official website are absolutely NOT representative of the true look and feel of the hotel.

If you have travelled extensively in the US, then you'll understand what I mean when I compare the rooms to some of the 2nd tier motel chains there. Things like the clothes drying line inside the shower, the plastic 'no smoking' placard on the dated furniture, and the very old, stained carpeting will give you an idea of the kind of comparison I'm making. Additionally, the bathrooms are not clean. My bathroom had stains on the walls, what looked like black mold around the tub, and a toilet seat that was turning yellow.

When I booked four rooms in their 'private collection' vs. the 'classic' Puno hotel for our family vacation, I expected so much more. Instead, I payed a higher per night room rate than the 'only 5 star hotel in Lake Titicaca' which I found so hard to believe - especially when I got to compare the two hotels to see a NIGHT AND DAY DIFFERENCE, and that the other one clearly lives up to its 5 star status.

What was most disappointing was that the front desk staff refused to let me speak with the manager, and tried to strong arm me into paying for the rest of the nights that I was reserved for. After 30 minutes of demanding to speak to a superior of some sort, and getting no where, my travel agency had to intervene to get them to allow me to check out and only pay for the one night's stay and incidentals incurred.

Now, there are some good things about the hotel, which is why I give it 2 stars instead of one: PeruRail has a stop right at the hotel, the service staff is very friendly, the food in the restaurant is great for dinner, the breakfast is very good and includes an omelet bar, and the lobby is comfortable and encourages interaction with other guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WrldTravelingPaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Premium Puno, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear guest,

We appreciate that you share your impressions regarding your experience at our Private Collection Puno hotel.

We truly regret that we were not able to reach your expectations, and we extend our apology for the discomfort created. The commitment of our hotel is to give the best service to our guests and your overall impressions about your stay in our property are very important to us. We will definitely take them as an opportunity to improve.

On the other hand, we are glad that our staff members attended you properly and that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet and our Alma restaurant.

Sincerely,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed here during a trip to Lake Titicaca, and while we were only there for two nights, we experienced warm and friendly service, as well as comfortable accomodations. The location of the hotel is perfect, as we were able to get on our tour boat right outside the hotel on the lake. The views from the hotel and the guest rooms were exquisite.

The rooms, and in fact some of the hotel itself, could use a bit of a sprucing up, and while they did seem a bit older and dated in terms of decor, our rooms were clean and comfortable.

The restaurant at the hotel was delicious, and the staff were always friendly and helpful. After dinner, we enjoyed sitting at the bar and having some wine in front of the large fireplace. Reynaldo at the bar was excellent and made sure we always received wonderful service.

Overall, our stay here was very pleasant and a wonderful city in which to spend our last couple of nights in Peru.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The Casa Andina Private Collection in Puno was disappointing. While the view across Lake Titicaca is pretty at night (and by day the train runs along the fence), it is located away from any other facilities.
It did not compare at all to a Casa Andina Private Collection in Arequipa as it looked tired and in desperate need of a facelift. To access our room, we had to walk out and across the terrace, down stairs, around a corner, down more stairs and find the end of a hallway. Not fun when you have to go and buy water from reception at 1am to relieve an altitude sickness headache ...
The tap water in our room was brown and there was no drinking water supplied at all. Small (600ml) bottles were available from reception for 4 sols each. Tea making facilities were in each room, but you had to supply your own water ...
Also, after a day trip on the lake (which was fantastic) I was feeling unwell from the altitude and just wanted a simple soup. We asked about room service and was told it was not available and was (unenthusiastically) advised to phone the restaurant. This was not successful.
Overall, the worst hotel we stayed in Peru.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrCart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Premium Puno, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your review regarding your recent stay at our Private Collection Puno hotel.

We regret to know that we did not meet your expectations, and we apologize for any discomfort generated. Rest assured that we have shared your comments with our maintenance team in order to fix any fault.

On the other hand, we would like to mention you that we have implemented a Sama2go module, where you can find sandwiches, salads, beverage and package food at your convenience.

Sincerely,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerrards Cross, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
204 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Located right on Lake Titicaca, 10 minutes from Puno town. Rooms adequate, but nothing special; rather characterless. Wi-Fi, but only one usable TV channel (CNN).
Good tapas selection at the bar in the evening and decent breakfast.
Indolent staff and a quite soulless hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTS99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CasaAndina_CS, Propietario at Casa Andina Premium Puno, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for writing your review and for letting us know about your experience at our Private Collection Puno hotel.

We would like to mention you that our hotel design and decoration are inspired in the hotel destination. On the other hand, we are glad you enjoyed the food at our Alma bar, as well as our staff members were attentive to you.

We hope that you can visit us again in the future.

Sincerely,

The Casa Andina Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.4 mi away
Libertador Lake Titicaca
0.5 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
2.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Mirador del Titikaka
43.3 mi away
Isla Suasi Hotel
Isla Suasi Hotel
#10 of 65 in Puno
506 reviews
1.9 mi away
Casa Andina Standard Puno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Andina Premium Puno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Andina Premium Puno

Property: Casa Andina Premium Puno
Address: Av. Sesqui Centenario 1970, Puno 21001, Peru (Formerly Casa Andina Private Collection Puno)
Region: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Puno
#10 Business Hotel in Puno
#14 Romantic Hotel in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa Andina Premium Puno 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casa Andina Premium Puno is located on the shores of Lake Titicaca, the highest navigable lake in the world, and offers its visitors spectacular views and a wide variety of services in order to make their trip an unforgettable experience. The hotel has 45 - 100% non-smoker comfortable Superior rooms on two floors and a Suite. Some rooms offer a breathtaking view of Lake Titicaca. All rooms are equiped with stove, safe deposit box, coffee kit, iron and hair dryer. Casa Andina Premium Puno features: Internet Center, Internet WiFi, ATM, laundry services and parking. After a long day of walking rest and relax in our Massage Salon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Casa Andina Premium Puno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Andina Private Collection Puno Hotel Puno
Puno Casa Andina Private Collection

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing