We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a hostel, not really a hotel”
Review of Europa Hotel Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Europa Hotel Inn
Ranked #49 of 66 Hotels in Puno
Urbana, Illinois
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not a hostel, not really a hotel”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

This hotel has a reasonable location and I think the staff try to be helpful, with pick up from the bus station included. However, the facilities were not very good. The hot water was not hot, only one of the room lights worked and the room had no heating. If you´re a budget traveller accustomed to staying in cheap hostels, this place will give you a similar level of comfort plus some privacy for a similar price. However, if you´re accustomed to staying in hotels then this place is very likely to disappoint.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaun0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    6
    9
    6
    6
See reviews for
3
12
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Good location. Staff forgot to pick me up at the bus station, the room smelt very mouldy and damp. No towels, toilet paper or hot water. The reception guys were very friendly and helpful and did try to get the hot water going. Some light bulbs didn't work despite putting new bulbs in and they were very loose fitting against the wall. You could see the wires. There could be better options.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Puno hotels

York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Initial appearances were good despite the unhelpful staff, but no hot water, a filthy bathroom and no light bulbs all contributed to a terrible night. Not helped by someone dragging furniture round at half five in the morning. Luckily the guy on reception in the morning was very nice and after a big discussion gave us some money back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harbs_saxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare
Level Contributor
356 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Positives - Great location. Drawbacks - 5 floors with no lift, top floor is disgusting, dirty laundry everywhere, kitchen there but filthy, clothes need to be washed if they touch the floor. Staff VERY unhelpful, would not help us, spent most of their time playing video games. No toilet paper in the toilets, we had to ask 3 times for them to put it in. Many of lights are not working. They offer free pick up but when we tried to do this they tried to charge us. Would never stay here again.

Room Tip: DO NOT STAY HERE, VERY BAD EXPERIENCE. 5th floor is disgusting and Wi-Fi does not work there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Voilareally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
178 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The two guys that work at this hotel are a riot. They were do helpful and funny--we could not help but enjoy ourselves. They carried my incredibly heavy pack with no problems and seemed to thrive on the chaos of the hotel. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. There was a heater--what a treat! We enjoyed a simple, but tasty breakfast on the top floor.
This hotel is not the Ritz, but the service and friendly atmosphere is the tops! It is located in the old part of the city which is a little noisy, but that is to be expected. No elevator, so take that into consideration.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Washboardmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The hotel has a good quality-price ratio as it offers cable TV and breakfast (two breads with butter, marmalade and tea). I did not enjoy any hot water and its location is a bit ambiguous: unsuitable (as it is right in the middle of a noisy and crowded commercial area) but close to downtown. The staff was helpful: Nestor helped me out a lot to book buses and guided tours for Titicaca lake. There is a free internet computer (not enough for all guests though) and a playstation in front desk.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliancho79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cusco, Peru
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2011

This place has super clean rooms that are the nicest I have seen for the price, the staff are over the top friendly, gave me a heater for the room, most places charge. Comphy beds, great tv, super close to town, ask for a room with a window tho. Wifi is slow and only in the lobby, plus 2 old slow computers but normal for Peru. Most rooms have jaccuzis but don't be fooled, there hot water per shower lasts about 4 mins before it's gone, so even if the place was empty you still would never fill the jacuzzi up, I woke @ 4 am and tried no luck! But the staff are over the top helpful, I had a great time despite the lack of hot water!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBC28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Presidente
Hotel Presidente
#51 of 66 in Puno
24 reviews
0.3 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 66 in Puno
540 reviews
0.4 mi away
Totorani Inn
Totorani Inn
#27 of 66 in Puno
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
2.2 mi away
Libertador Lake Titicaca
20.0 mi away
Titilaka
Titilaka
#1 of 66 in Puno
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Hotel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotel Inn

Property: Europa Hotel Inn
Address: Jiron Alfonso Ugarte 112, Puno 051, Peru
Region: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 66 Hotels in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Europa Hotel Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
in the hotel we offer the best service so we stay in the heard of the city ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Europa Hotel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing