We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly OK”
Review of Europa Hotel Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Europa Hotel Inn
Ranked #50 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Europa is a surprisingly OK budget hotel in Puno. It was very clean, our rooms were almost cozy, walls in warm colors, I expected something more basic for such a hotel. The staff was very helpful and nice. They suggested a place to eat a great trout - Restaurante International, just two corners from the hotel and it was truly great! However, Puno is a very cold place and the rooms don't have heating plus the hot shower worked only sometimes. Also beware that the hotel is not in a nice neighborhood. It is not far from the main pedestrian zone, but the streets around the hotel are VERY noisy and not very safe ... I got my cell phone stolen by some guys in front of he hotel the very first night we came, so keep an eye on your things.

Room Tip: The street is very noisy, I think it is better to get an inside room if you want to sleep well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iliveinmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (30)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 30 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2012

This hotel has a reasonable location and I think the staff try to be helpful, with pick up from the bus station included. However, the facilities were not very good. The hot water was not hot, only one of the room lights worked and the room had no heating. If you´re a budget traveller accustomed to staying in cheap hostels, this place will give you a similar level of comfort plus some privacy for a similar price. However, if you´re accustomed to staying in hotels then this place is very likely to disappoint.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shaun0211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Good location. Staff forgot to pick me up at the bus station, the room smelt very mouldy and damp. No towels, toilet paper or hot water. The reception guys were very friendly and helpful and did try to get the hot water going. Some light bulbs didn't work despite putting new bulbs in and they were very loose fitting against the wall. You could see the wires. There could be better options.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Initial appearances were good despite the unhelpful staff, but no hot water, a filthy bathroom and no light bulbs all contributed to a terrible night. Not helped by someone dragging furniture round at half five in the morning. Luckily the guy on reception in the morning was very nice and after a big discussion gave us some money back.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harbs_saxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

Positives - Great location. Drawbacks - 5 floors with no lift, top floor is disgusting, dirty laundry everywhere, kitchen there but filthy, clothes need to be washed if they touch the floor. Staff VERY unhelpful, would not help us, spent most of their time playing video games. No toilet paper in the toilets, we had to ask 3 times for them to put it in. Many of lights are not working. They offer free pick up but when we tried to do this they tried to charge us. Would never stay here again.

Room Tip: DO NOT STAY HERE, VERY BAD EXPERIENCE. 5th floor is disgusting and Wi-Fi does not work there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Voilareally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

The two guys that work at this hotel are a riot. They were do helpful and funny--we could not help but enjoy ourselves. They carried my incredibly heavy pack with no problems and seemed to thrive on the chaos of the hotel. The room was clean and the beds comfortable. There was a heater--what a treat! We enjoyed a simple, but tasty breakfast on the top floor.
This hotel is not the Ritz, but the service and friendly atmosphere is the tops! It is located in the old part of the city which is a little noisy, but that is to be expected. No elevator, so take that into consideration.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Washboardmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

The hotel has a good quality-price ratio as it offers cable TV and breakfast (two breads with butter, marmalade and tea). I did not enjoy any hot water and its location is a bit ambiguous: unsuitable (as it is right in the middle of a noisy and crowded commercial area) but close to downtown. The staff was helpful: Nestor helped me out a lot to book buses and guided tours for Titicaca lake. There is a free internet computer (not enough for all guests though) and a playstation in front desk.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juliancho79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.3 mi away
Suites Antonio's
Suites Antonio's
#3 of 64 in Puno
565 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
20.0 mi away
Titilaka
Titilaka
#1 of 64 in Puno
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Libertador Lake Titicaca
0.5 mi away
La Casa De Manuelita
La Casa De Manuelita
#37 of 64 in Puno
97 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Europa Hotel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Europa Hotel Inn

Address: Jiron Alfonso Ugarte 112, Puno 051, Peru
Region: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 64 Hotels in Puno
Price Range: £11 - £15 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In The Hotel We Offer The Best Service So We Stay In The Heard Of The City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Europa Hotel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing