We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location in Puno”
Review of Royal Inn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Inn Hotel
Ranked #22 of 66 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
arizona
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent location in Puno”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

This hotel was a few steps from the Puno cathedral and a short distance away from restaurants and shopping. (just cross the plaza) I found that there was no heater in the room but there were heavy blankets available to ward off the cold. The wifi was wiggy and you needed to go the lobby to have a stronger signal. Puno is located at 13000 feet so there was quite a few from our group that had altitude sickness. There was complimentary oxygen provided by the hotel which made them feel a lot better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hapibambolbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    114
    51
    10
    7
See reviews for
41
97
18
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NORTH RICHLAND HILLS
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Hotel with large rooms
i. Centrally Located in Puno
ii. Based on Trip Reviews for Gate One, we expected that we would be in the Big White Hotel on the shore of the lake. We found out that this hotel was reserved for the Group A People, not the Second Class Group B.
iii. Breakfast at the hotel was very good -- Large Variety
iv. Rooms were large
v. Water was NOT Provided

Puno was the least attractive city in our 17 day tour of Ecuador and Peru.
A large number of people on our Gate One tour became very ill. -- Partly due to the altitude.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnnyg127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a suite for the two nights we stayed here. While the decor is decidedly last century, it seems to suit the location.

The suite had a wonderful bathroom, with twin sinks, a full length glass window and a walk-in automatic shower/bath/jacuzzi/stream room with a computer voice out of Hollywood. It also had a gigantic superking bed and two sofas!

The hotel restaurant was very good with generous portions and a reliable waiter.

Room Tip: Go for the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bruceboughton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

This was a local standard 4 star Hotel. The hotel was less than half of block from the main square. The rooms were clean and there was plenty of room to move around. The bathrooms were big and the shower was nice with plenty of hot water. The rooms had no A/C but there was no need for it. They did have a heater close to the window for the cold mornings. There was free wi-fi and they also had a computer in the hallway on all floors. The staff was nice and courteous. I had them do some dry cleaning for me which was done the same day for about $4.00 dollars. The bar was nice and breakfast was pretty good.

Room Tip: The back rooms are quieter and try to say above the floor 4th. Keep in mind that the hotel is locat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blue4140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed two nights at this hotel in Puno and found it to be lovely in every way. The room was large and clean, the lobby welcoming and the staff very helpful. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast and there was a particularly engaging waiter who wanted to improve his English and asked that we write the names of items on the table. We also took advantage of the oxygen offered at the front desk when the altitude began to bother us. The wood stoves in the lobby and the restaurant were especially welcome. The location was also great because it was just off the plaza and close to the pedestrian-only street where there were lots of shops, restaurants and banks.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 13bato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed here as part of the "Gate1 affordable Peru" tour. There is nothing second rate about this property. It is decorated in a funky Art Deco - Andean motif. The food was excellent and the service superb. And when the blackout hit their backup generator kicked in. Moreover they have soapstone fireplaces throughout the lobby. We stayed nice & warm throughout our stay. Oxygen is available upon request. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Located just of the city square and close to "restaurant row" this hotel worked well. The rooms were clean, The free Wi-Fi in the room worked well. The staff were courteous and the included breakfast was fine. No complaints.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CWB422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puno hotels
0.1 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Plaza de Armas
0.1 mi away
Hotel Conde de Lemos
Hotel Conde de Lemos
#15 of 66 in Puno
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casona Plaza Hotel
Casona Plaza Hotel
#20 of 66 in Puno
406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Puno
Hotel Hacienda Puno
#10 of 66 in Puno
491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Intiqa Hotel
Intiqa Hotel
#13 of 66 in Puno
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Inn Hotel

Property: Royal Inn Hotel
Address: Ayachucho 438, Puno 5151, Peru
Region: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Puno
#12 Business Hotel in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Inn Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Royal Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Royal Puno
Royal Hotel Puno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing