We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Getting High at 12,000 Feet!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Titilaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Titilaka
Ranked #1 of 67 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Getting High at 12,000 Feet!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

Coming to Peru has always been one of our dream destinations, but being such a distance from where we live, we were never able to explore what we know now to be such an amazing destination. The high-light of our trip was our 3-night stay in Hotel Titilaka arranged for us by SA Luxury Expeditions (a travel company which we might add comes highly recommended). What a stay it had been! Our first impression when coming from Juliaca to the hotel: Seriously, is this place for real?! Being able to stay right next to Lake Titicaca 12,000 feet above sea level was an incredibly peaceful, calming, and humbling experience for two worn-out global-city dwellers seeking some respite from work. The region is a feast to the senses: from waking up to ochre sunrises and turquoise waters from the comfort of our bed, to watching vibrant cultural performances in Taquille included in our visit.

We were so glad we did not stay in Puno and that the Titilaka was all-inclusive, which made pampered living so much easier. We enjoyed our room, the meals, the guides, and our daily excursions to Taquille and Uros (We preferred the former much more though), as well as a trip to watch local handicrafts being produced. The hotel is also aesthetically very pleasing and we had the good fortune of having a room that faced the lake, which meant we could treat ourselves to watch the sunrise from the comfort of our beds every morning! There were ample food choices from both their daily special menus as well as the standard menus for us to select from for our meals there. As other reviews have suggested, we recommend the quinoa pancakes for breakfast! Yummy! The staff overall was very good, and they worked very long hours, though there was some miscommunication with early breakfast served to our room, and our train transfers for the Andean Explorer, but nothing too much that we could not manage. We were frankly quite surprised by how demanding some of the earlier reviews were outlining their “problems” and comments about this hotel concerning staff, facilities, meals, etc., especially if one considers more broadly the location and how hard and the long hours the staff worked in this hotel. For us, Titilaka was and would always be a perfect escape for which we will remember for a long time.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Nalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing T, Director Comercial at Titilaka, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you so much for your flattering review of our hotel.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back one day!
We hope the rest of your travels will be as enjoyable and care free as we hope your stay at Titilaka was.
Sincerely,

Titilaka Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    36
    11
    6
    3
See reviews for
67
208
21
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

We so enjoyed our two nights at Titilaka. The location is wonderful right on the edge of the lake, the lounge and terrace are very pleasant spaces in which to relax and watch the activity on the shore - for example a family bringing in a boat full of reeds and loading up their two donkeys to transport the reeds inland. The service was excellent, the food very good and we enjoyed visiting the lovely people on the islands and finding out about their culture - the hotel organised the trips as part of our package, and the guides were very good. The design of our room was not perfect with the bed in the middle of the room, but the view was amazing. This is definitely the place to stay to see Lake Titikaka - a very memorable experience.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing T, Director General at Titilaka, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you so much for your flattering review of our hotel.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back one day!
We hope the rest of your travels will be as enjoyable and care free as we hope your stay at Titilaka was.
Sincerely,

Titilaka Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

After a 10 hour train ride on the Andean Explorer (long, but incredible), Armando was there to pick up us from the train station in Puno. After a 45 minute drive to the Lodge, we were beginning to wonder if we had made the right decision. We had!!

The setting on the lake is incredible. Puno itself is nothing special, the lodge is set far enough away that the lake nearby is pristine. The staff is very attentive and accommodating. The view from your bedroom when you wake up is stunningly serene.

We had the complete package which included all meals, transfers to the train station/airport, and excursions. We went to the Uros floating islands in the morning and to the weaving community of Copomaya on the mainland in the afternoon. Armando was again our excellent guide. He has roots in several nearby indigenous communities, and therefore is genuinely interested and liked by the people we visited. On our second day, we boated to Taquille Island which is a UNESCO recognized center for its weaving culture. We enjoyed a lunch of Quinoa Soup prepared by our hosts. On all trips Armando gave us excellent background information about the people and their history.

The benefit of the lodge is that all the tours include only people staying at the lodge. If you want to do something lower key there are walks around the area, or kayaks to take out on the lake.

The front desk staff went out of there way to help when needed. I had filled up my camera memory card - so they put my photos on a CD for me. I was getting a sore throat and ear infection on the day before we left, so they arranged to have the medication I requested called in to the pharmacy in Puno, and we picked it up on the way to the airport the next morning. They had noticed that it was someone's birthday from their passport, and they had made him a birthday cake for dessert.

In short, a little pricey. but well worth the cost if you can swing it and if you consider the services included. Make sure you don't overdo it -- the altitude is higher here than Cusco.

Room Tip: We had the basic offering -- which was plenty. Two double beds next to each other, my daughter had h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingTrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marketing T, Director Comercial at Titilaka, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Thank you so much for your flattering review of our hotel.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you back one day!
We hope the rest of your travels will be as enjoyable and care free as we hope your stay at Titilaka was.
Sincerely,

Titilaka Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rockville, MD
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

We stayed at Titilaka for 2 nights prior to our Machu Picchu trip. We stayed at Titilaka with just the full-board rate, but if I had it to do over I would have gone with their full activity rate. We had some trouble with our tour provider - they forgot to book our tours! It eventually worked out, but we have to thank the staff at Titilaka for spending a few hours on the phone for us going back an forth with our Cusco based tour provider and their Puno-based subcontractor before we finally worked out what had happened and how to fix it. The hotel itself is all by itself and that is what you want -- Puno is not a particularly nice city. While waiting for our tour operator to show up, we took a lovely canoe ride around the peninsula that the hotel resides upon. The food is amazing here (though we only got to enjoy a little because we were suffering from a little altitude sickness). The staff are the best part of the hotel - friendly and helpful always. You'll love this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank car001RockvilleMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

I have wanted to visit Lake Titicaca since I was 14 yrs old and learned about it in geography at school. I have had to wait a few years but certainly did it in style.
We had a long days drive from Colca Canyon and were astounded to find such a gorgeous hotel at the end of our journey.
We stayed 2 nights on an all inclusive basis, but what a surprise to find the minibar was included.
We had booked a king room but were upgraded on arrival. I found the design of the room slightly impractical ,although it looked fabulous- no bedside tables but a sort of desk behind the bed. It really didn't matter because the main feature is the view of the Lake from the massive window which the bed faces.
The food in the restaurant was excellent and we enjoyed a pre dinner bonfire with wine and nibbles on the lake shore.
The next day we did 2 trips. The first to Taquile Island. Unfortunately, we were not told that the Lake could be very rough when it is windy. And it was! Of course our travel sick tablets were left in our bedroom and all 6 of us on the boat felt exceedingly ill. The crossing takes about an hour and was very unpleasant and we all felt that we should have been warned. Once we recovered, the visit to the island was very interesting. We met a family who lived there, who gave weaving and knitting demonstrations and fed us with quinoa soup and potatoes. The boat ride back was not quite as bad but bad enough!
In the afternoon we visited the Uros islands from Puno. The water was very calm and this was a fascinating excursion.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bella008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

It doesn't get any better than this! Our three nights were glorious. Great people, services, sights, and food!! Staff cannot do enough for you! I highly recommend this as a big splurge!! We went on a morning exploration of the reeds and it was most unique. We also went with a staff member for a hike which was very informative. Because people were treated so well, all guests were clearly having a great experience. Despite the fact that we were at 14,000+ ft, it was great great great!

Room Tip: Dawn room was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wookie14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

I don't even know where to begin. We flew into Juliacca and were met by a van and guide-the van had pillows, blankets, sandwiches, tea etc. Everything possible to make our two hour journey comfortable. There was a lovely Aussie couple sharing the trip with us. We drive through Juliacca, apparently an unsafe town for tourists because of smuggling and the proximity to Bolivia-then we drive in the dark to the middle of nowhere. With about 25 minutes to go the road ends and we detour through these back roads where I was sure we were going to meet an untimely end! Then back to the main road and more driving until this warm welcoming building comes into site. We stumble out the door o the van and are greeted with hot towels and drinks. The next morning we openend the windows to discover we were on the most beautiful lake! The lodge was well appointed, the rooms and common areas comfortable, the staff went out of there way to fill our every need. The tour of the local sights and our boat rides and trip to the floating Islands were all interesting and fun. We stayed 3 nights and that is really enough time. There is nowhere else to go and the food gets kind of boring. If you like remote and rugged beauty but still want to be able to get a massage and have a soft bed at the end of the day this is the place for you!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puno hotels
18.2 mi away
Libertador Lake Titicaca
20.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
19.5 mi away
Casa Andina
Casa Andina
#10 of 67 in Puno
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.4 mi away
Mirador del Titikaka
19.0 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
35.7 mi away
Isla Suasi Hotel
Isla Suasi Hotel
#15 of 67 in Puno
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Titilaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Titilaka

Property: Titilaka
Address: Lake Titicaca, Puno, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Puno
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puno
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puno
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Titilaka 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infinite skies, snowcapped peaks and limitless shimmering waters will be your companions at this luxury lodge on a remote, private peninsula on the shores of Lake Titicaca. All 18 rooms look out on to the mystical Andean lake, birthplace of the fabled Inca Empire and still home to some of Peru’s farthest-flung communities, many of whom benefit from our operations. Responsible, sustainable development is at the heart of Titilaka’s philosophy; more than 90% of staff are locals and we source food locally as much as possible, while our business model focuses on conserving Andean traditions. Sunsets and the star-speckled night sky here are once-in-a-lifetime experiences. Daytime activities range from exploring Inca and pre-Inca ruins, to visiting the floating reed islands of the Uros people, to leisurely hiking or biking through stunning Andean scenery. The lodge has a sophisticated modern touch and, with its sensational Peruvian cuisine, is the perfect place to relax at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, World Independent Hotel Promotion and Expedia so you can book your Titilaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Titilaka Hotel Puno
Titilaka Resort All Inclusive Puno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing