We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little paradise in a beautiful setting”
Review of Titilaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Titilaka
Ranked #1 of 65 Hotels in Puno
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerpen
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Little paradise in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We, unfortunately, only stayed for one night at the Titilaka lodge for exploring the lake and its Islands. If we would have known it to be good we would have skipped taking a hotel in Puno to catch the Andean Explorer. We would gladly have taken the earlier rise (about 1 hour to Puno).
The lodge is situated in a magnificent location overlooking Lake Titicaca. Wether in the lobby, restaurant, bar or rooms, the lake is everywhere. When the sun shines and the lake turns into steel blue you would not imagine being at this altitude but more at the seaside somewhere.
The lodge is beautifuly furnished with a lot of local accents that blend in perfectly with the contemporary style. Nice furniture, colours, ... the lot
The rooms are spacious, the bed positioned in such a way that you see the sun coming up and going down. A lot of small little details, presents, turn down service, cards etc. complete the experience.
As the lodge offers an all inclusive service there is no need for signing bills etc. Rather nice.
The excursions were well organised. We visited one of the islands on the lake and had a very good guide, drinks on board, fleece blankets, ... All one could wish for.
The dinner starts with a bar service where small hors d'oeuvre are served.
We are a bit undecided about the kitchen. Some improvement should/could be done. Our lunch was fine but during dinner our starter and main course looked exactly the same. (Although both dishes were different). The main course (which was put on the table the moment the starter was taken away), the local trout which had been grilled far too long and it had a 'golden potatoe' that was so dry that it hardly could be swallowed (we had a good laugh over it). When we asked the staff to wait with the dessert for 30 min, we nevertheless got it within 10 min.
In the morning we had eggs benedict and both were seriously overcooked which was a true pity.
The staff is all very helpful, extremely friendly and very attentive. Pity about one waiter that sighed when we ordered mango juice and in the end forced us to have orange juice.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Antwerpengl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

422 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    362
    39
    12
    6
    3
See reviews for
80
230
22
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed 2 nights in Titilaka and had such a great experience. As we only had time to visit Uros and Taquile Island, we opted for the full board and paid extra for the tours to the two islands. This worked out to be much more economical than full board + all activities included. You can also add in airport/station transfers for a small cost.

All rooms face the lake with the only differences being size, whether you get a sunrise/sunset view and bathroom switch timer (weird I know). My brother landed a room with a bathroom switch timer and it was quite a pain. It can only be set to max 15 minutes and can't be switched off so you have to wait until the timer runs out before the bathroom lights go off.

Titilaka is located approx 45 minutes by car from Puno town. This is good as Puno, let's just say is nothing like Cusco or Arequipa. Its location is also great for visiting the Taquile Island as it is only an hour's boat ride away (versus 3 hours from Puno). The only minor inconvenience is that all tours to Uros leave from Puno so you have to drive back to Puno to catch the 20 minute boat ride out to Uros.

Staff are ever so friendly and willing to assist with any request. The included meals are really amazing. Breakfast is a buffet with a selection of eggs to order. Lunch and Dinner are all cooked to order from two menus - one that is fixed and another which varies daily to provide variety. The quality of the produce and standard of cooking is very very good.

Overall, a great boutique hotel which I highly recommend if you are staying at least 2 nights at the Lake (to truly appreciate it). Book well in advance to make sure you don't miss out!

Room Tip: Ask for a room without a bathroom timer switch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wennie_T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I recently stayed at the Titilaka for two days after spending some time in the jungle. It was heavenly. The location was on a peninsula about 30 minutes from Puno. The location and hotel were beautiful. It is quite peaceful and serene with spectacular views of the lake. The hotel staff were excellent and non-intrusive. The food was also great. I took a day trip to the Uros Floating Islands and Taquile Island (arranged throught the hotel) and it was quite enjoyable. I wish I had stayed for another day or two at the hotel - it was good for my soul. This hotel is one of those rare finds - that you always remember!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Silverthorne, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This place is great. An absolutely wonderful setting on Lake Titicaca. Excellent day trips to the floating islands and another island in the lake. The food was excellent and the service attentive. Overall, just a relaxing romantic place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MiltonS4012970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed three nights in this intimate, small and beautiful hotel. It is right on Lake Titicaca near Puno in Peru. The bedrooms all have a lake view and are beautifully appointed. Every day there were excursions laid on for the guests at no extra charge. We went hiking, birdwatching, biking and on a trip on the hotel boat to visit the unusual floating islands nearby. The hotel arranged English speaking guides for the excursions.
Three meals a day were included and they were amazing, extraordinary Peruvian/Andean fusion dishes served in the beautiful dining room looking out to the lake.
Service was impeccable. One of the members of our party had a bit of trouble with the high altitude and the staff couldn't have been more helpful, giving him extra oxygen and monitoring the oxygen levels of his blood. They also provide special herbal teas which help with the altitude. The three Peruvians who own this hotel use some of the hotel takings to support a local kindergarten and clinic. The hotel owners are very ecologically aware... providing guests with reusable water bottles. I whole heartedly recommend this hotel as a beautiful and relaxing place to visit. It was our last stop in Peru and we really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms are lovely and I think they all face the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RebeccaS968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We spent three fantastic days. A helpful, professional and friendly staff. A magnificient environment, we visited the Uros Islands and Lampa, but kayaking and swimming in the lake so as an outdoor wine meeting the other guests was simply unforgettable

Room Tip: Sunrise better than sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Atletico C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2014

In such a quiet place, a unique expérience with special and kind services. It was one of our favorite moment un Peru. The canoé on the lake where we discovered birds Life was a gréât moment! Thanks for everything

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rbrenier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Puno hotels
18.2 mi away
Libertador Lake Titicaca
20.2 mi away
Tierra Viva Puno Plaza Hotel
19.0 mi away
Sonesta Posadas del Inca Lake Titicaca Puno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
35.7 mi away
Isla Suasi Hotel
Isla Suasi Hotel
#9 of 65 in Puno
512 reviews
20.4 mi away
Mirador del Titikaka
18.5 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Puno
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Titilaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Titilaka

Property: Titilaka
Address: Lake Titicaca, Puno, Peru
Phone Number:
Region: Peru > Puno Region > Puno
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Puno
#1 Family Hotel in Puno
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Puno
#1 Romantic Hotel in Puno
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Titilaka 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Infinite skies, snowcapped peaks and limitless shimmering waters will be your companions at this luxury lodge on a remote, private peninsula on the shores of Lake Titicaca. All 18 rooms look out on to the mystical Andean lake, birthplace of the fabled Inca Empire and still home to some of Peru’s farthest-flung communities, many of whom benefit from our operations. Responsible, sustainable development is at the heart of Titilaka’s philosophy; more than 90% of staff are locals and we source food locally as much as possible, while our business model focuses on conserving Andean traditions. Sunsets and the star-speckled night sky here are once-in-a-lifetime experiences. Daytime activities range from exploring Inca and pre-Inca ruins, to visiting the floating reed islands of the Uros people, to leisurely hiking or biking through stunning Andean scenery. The lodge has a sophisticated modern touch and, with its sensational Peruvian cuisine, is the perfect place to relax at the end of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Titilaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Titilaka Hotel Puno
Titilaka Resort All Inclusive Puno

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing