We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“adequate for a short stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Paraiso Trujillo
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Trujillo
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed 2 nights as part of an organized tour. Dinner the first night was ok and they even had decent wine! Breakfast included hot/cold items including cheese, meat, cereal, breads, eggs etc.
Staff was more efficient than previous reviews indicated. Quick to show people how to use AC, safes and bring extra towels. At least one person at the front desk always spoke passable English.
Pool is really just a soaker but terrace is a good place to relax.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mathladyca49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 11 May 2014

The quite heavy hot water tap in the bathroom was loose and fell on my foot, asked the reception the next morning to fix it, came back in the evening, it was just placed back and fell again, then I got angry and in notice someone came and replaced the missing screw within a minute.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerardthehague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

I stayed two nights at the Paraíso Hotel, a 3-star establishment by Peruvian standards and a 2-star place by American standards. It seemed that there were only several guests at the hotel, which was fine with me.

The hotel Paraíso offered free WiFi throughout, and it worked quite well. Located adjacent to the terrace, it had a very small swimming pool that had not one drop of water in it, despite the fact that I was there in mid-summer.

My single room on the 5th floor was furnished with a double bed, a nice writing desk and chair, a flat screen TV, and a nice bench to place my small suitcase. The bathroom, although quite small, was adequate: shower, commode, sink.

I ate two breakfasts and two dinners in the hotel’s simple restaurant. The food was delicious and the service was excellent.

This was my type of hotel: simple, clean, safe and inexpensive. A real plus: the hotel was super quiet so I slept like a baby!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cyclopath43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Quite modern & close to the old part of town, within walking distance to the main square. One negative is the towels - small & thin. Bed was reasonable, staff friendly. The buffet breakfast was OK. Although this hotel was adequate, nothing made it stand out.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robyn55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

There was absolutely nothing that stand out about this place.
The reception staff was more interested on talking to each other than making sure you had what you needed.
I was really loud all night! they where banging on the roof in aerly morning hours
The breakfast was ok. It had everything a hotel has but not done well.
and the last and most important.... there was a fire in the building and they didn't have a alarm and guess what? a costumer was the one that let everyone know about it, the reception staff was outside.

Room Tip: Just don't book here
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musujpacha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

On the plus side, my room had a huge soaking tub in it (in addition to the shower), and a separate sitting area. Also on the plus side, it was away from the street, but on the negative side, it opened on a light well, and the noise from other rooms echoed up the shaft AND cooking smells from the restaurant below wafted up as well.

The remote control for the air conditioning didn't work, but luckily I could step up on the platform surrounding the tub and reach the controls on the unit itself. On the plus side, the towels were thick and fluffy. On the negative, the blanket on the bed was non-existent. The front desk supplied one, however, as soon as I requested it.

The WORST meal I have eaten in Peru was in the hotel's restaurant: the sautéed mushrooms were canned, the pasta sauce was sweetened canned tomatoes, and the ice cream tasted solely of refrigerator. (I was traveling with a group and we all ate here after a very late arrival, unfortunately.)

The biggest negative was that the in-room safe was not operational: a previous guest must have closed it and it could not be opened. People at the front desk kept promising that the manager had the open sesame code, but she never arrived, which meant carrying my passport, camera, and lenses at all time.

Over all, this was not a positive experience, but the price was good at about $US 70 per night for a very large room.

Room Tip: Try for a room away from the street and light well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nevertooold53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

I have visited Trujillo more than three times for business and have found Hotel
Paraiso to be one of the cleanest and most comfortable in the city.
The rates usually run form $55 thru $75 depending on the rooms.
Most of the amenities are common by US standards, which is why I love
this hotel so much.
The beds are very comfortable and there are extra heavy blankets in the
closet. There is a mini fridge, flat screen TV and a nice size desk to work
from.
Hotel Paraiso also serves a free continental breakfast and has a very
nice lobby and restaurant.
And lastly, I have found the staff to be very friendly and attentive. They
provide excellent service.
If clean and comfortable are your standards while in Trujillo, Hotel Paraiso
is the place. Sin duda.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank plcmts17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trujillo hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Libertador Trujillo
Hotel Libertador Trujillo
#1 of 37 in Trujillo
535 reviews
1.9 mi away
Due
Due
#2 of 37 in Trujillo
420 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa Andina Premium Trujillo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel El Gran Marques
Hotel El Gran Marques
#6 of 37 in Trujillo
161 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kallpa Classic Hotel
Kallpa Classic Hotel
#7 of 37 in Trujillo
96 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Torre Norte
Hotel Torre Norte
#5 of 37 in Trujillo
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Paraiso Trujillo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Paraiso Trujillo

Address: Jiron San Martin 240, Trujillo 5144, Peru
Region: Peru > La Libertad Region > Trujillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 Hotels in Trujillo
Price Range: £37 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Paraiso Trujillo 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Paraiso Trujillo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing