We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Calm and quite” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hostal Cocos Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hostal Cocos Beach
Ranked #52 of 84 Trujillo B&B and Inns
Poznań
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Calm and quite”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Hostel is not in the centre of Huanchaco, it's more on the north so it's quite quite. You can hear the waves just 20 meters from hostel! It's really great to sit on the tarrace and enjoy the view. Also, there is only 500 meters to centre with surfing schools, restraurants, shops. Room was clean with bathroom and hot water, towel and soap. In the hostel you can buy water, baverages, beer, cigarettes.... You can exchange a book as well.
I really recomend Huanchaco for surfers, long beaches, big waves for pro and small for students.
The only thing i didn't like was that sometimes the smell was like fish.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aga s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3
    12
    4
    0
    2
See reviews for
2
8
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint John, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

While researching hostals in Huanchaco on TripAdvisor, Cocos Beach was at the top of my list. I made no reseverations ahead of time, as my boyfriend and I didn't have a defined itinerary. We arrived in Trujillo, and realized Huanchaco was really the place to be. We arrived at Cocos Beach, and we greeted by a lovely family. Even the family dog is lovely.
The hostal is very clean, quiet and has a restaurant. On the second floor is a nice balcony, where you can eat, drink and watch the sunset. Huanchaco is a small town, stetches along the beach. This hostal is about 1km down from the road from the pier. After the first night, we extended our stay to just under a week. I didn't want to leave. Book this hostal, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadiansLovePeru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mölndal, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

I've been to Hostal Cocos Beach twice and like it very much. Good beds, good food, 24-hour service, always hot water. My favorite place is to sit on the balcony with a Pisco Sour in hand and watch the sunset.

Room Tip: I like the room next to the balcony, from the room you have some view of the ocean and go out on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rikard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lencois, BA
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

From the moment of my arrival when the staff member on duty did not understand my Spanish (not great but had no problems anywhere else in Peru and held long conversations with some people), and then insisted on me paying in full (at an inflated exchange rate) after asking me if I wanted to cancel, the whole experience was abysmal.
The room was a decent size, but pretty basic, and was only cleaned after I have been there 3 days (and on my request). Breakfast was appalling - the juice was indeterminate and tasted "old" - so after 2 days I ate elsewhere, and the restaurant downstairs was closed by 7pm most evenings, before I ventured out to eat.
The website promises a lot, but he hostel delivers nothing! Had I not paid on arrival I would probably have moved out.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BahiaDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Trujillo hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
145 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2010

Stayed for one night in a private room with bathroom. Price was okay and room was decent size and had cable tv. It had wifi, but kept cutting in and out. Breakfast was expensive at 9s pp and not really worth it. Power went off in the morning and wasnt back on before we left. View from terrace was nice, except for the 100 power cords in the way. We stayed in September and the town was pretty dead and so was the hostel. It was very cold and not beach weather. Beers and waters expensive, but there aint many shops around.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannonluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trujillo hotels
7.0 mi away
El  Escudero Lodge
El Escudero Lodge
#18 of 37 in Trujillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
6.9 mi away
El Mochilero Trujillo Peru
El Mochilero Trujillo Peru
#13 of 44 in Trujillo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
6.8 mi away
Residencial Munaywasi
Residencial Munaywasi
#4 of 84 in Trujillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hostal Wanka
Hostal Wanka
#3 of 44 in Trujillo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 30 reviews
6.0 mi away
B&B Orrego
B&B Orrego
#9 of 44 in Trujillo
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
7.0 mi away
Hostal El Centurion
Hostal El Centurion
#1 of 84 in Trujillo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Cocos Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Cocos Beach

Property: Hostal Cocos Beach
Address: Av. Larco 1500 | Huanchaco, Trujillo 044, Peru
Region: Peru > La Libertad Region > Trujillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Trujillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostal Cocos Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hostel Cocos Beach, is located in front of the sea in the beautiful beach of Huanchaco, ideal zone to visit the main tourist attractions of the city. The comfort of our installations guarantee that your stay among us will be completely pleasant, because our services have been conceived thinking in you.The hostal has a great colorfull design with a big and nice terraze where you will have a panoramic view of the sea and the city.We offer you:- Confortable rooms: singles, doubles, twins, triples and quadruples with private bathroom and towels.- Dormrooms for lonely travelers.- Travel information with our own agency.- Breakfast service, really hot showers 24 hours, internet access, 24 hours reception, laundry service, telephone facilities, safety box, cable tv and DVD with library of movies, BBQ, large terrace, football table and different board games, free luggage . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Hostal Cocos Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing