We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Recreo Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
Pullman Hotel(Trujillo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Americano(Trujillo)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Korianka Hotel(Trujillo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Peregrino(Trujillo)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hostal Colonial(Trujillo)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (59)
Filter reviews
59 results
Traveller rating
6
25
23
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
6
25
23
4
1
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 59 reviews
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We found this hotel being advertised at the airport. Location is not bad being close, 5 blocks, to the main plaza. The hallways are very dark, carpet being thin shows signa of aging. Bathroom are outdated. Rooms are small with no special fixtures. Cleanliness is the worst, roaches are crawling thru doors, bathroom and beds. At one point we count as many as 10, on different sizes, it became so bad that the manager on duty changes us to another room at midnight. Unless you dont care or you are too tires to notice dont go. There are better hotels in the area. One word: disgusting

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cjbelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

hotel staff were at the local airport inviting travelers, the pictures looked nice,they told us if we did not like this hotel we could leave no questions asked, when we arrived I asked the staff for the nearest pay phone and they said I could make a call from the desk "no charge." The room had a musty odor, no ac, small, only a fan, the bathroom had roaches, someone came with a spray, I requested another room they did not have another 3 beds room, at that point I just wanted to leave, so around midnite we left this hotel and moved to a hotel nearby, remember the phone call I made when I first checked in? well they charged me 10 soles, a pay phone charges 50 cents. I payed the 10 soles, asked for a receipt and left that nasty place. I do not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bertha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2011

I ended up staying here since there was a last minute change of plans so I decided I wasn't going to be too picky. The hotel looks decent from outside, in a central area in downtown Trujillo.

The good:

Service: service was good, front desk was always helpful
Computers available in lobby, with decent internet speed
Mini fridge in room, useful especially when very hot
fan in room-I would have loved a/c, but I wasn't going to be too picky
not expensive
breakfast is included

The bad:
No iron available, only iron service $ (although not expensive, 1 shirt is 2 soles but I still would have opted to iron my own clothes if it was available)
bathroom was dirty (found some ants in the sink and shower, had to rinse everything, always wear flip flops , damp smell in the bathroom
room is very small, there is not a lot of room to move
Obviously, if you travel in summer, it is extremely hot in the room, you'll be thankful for the fan but wish for A/C
It's quite noisy, thin-paper walls, you can easily hear conversations from other rooms
breakfast is eggs mixed with pieces of ham (since I don't eat ham, I asked if there were other options, but they aren't).


If you stay one night, it's ok but if you plan to stay a couple days in Trujillo, I suggest spending a bit more for something better.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosestar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: que sea un poco más amplia
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessalescano, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Recreo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vanessalescano, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Recreo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews