We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, but small room and bathroom.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Recreo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Recreo Hotel
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Trujillo
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
235 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Great location, but small room and bathroom.”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Stayed in Trujillo to see Chan Chan. We had a quiet room all the way in the back of the hotel. The room was very tight, even by Peru standards, and the bathroom tiny. Location of the hotel is fantastic, just one block or so off the square, and breakfast in the rooftop restaurant was included. A decent enough place to stay for a day or two to do daytrips in and around Trujillo.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pierre1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    25
    23
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
9
6
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

The people at the restaurant are very nice -- very accommodating and very helpful. The food at the restaurant is tasty, but the breakfasts are boring. The cleaning staff is also very nice, patient. Some of the "bell boys" and ladies in the administration are not so nice. The rooms are tiny and some strong sewer odors come through the toilets. This hotel could be nicer if it was well maintained throughout the year and all the personnel was better trained in customer service.

Room Tip: Ask for the largest room they have.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Derby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We found this hotel being advertised at the airport. Location is not bad being close, 5 blocks, to the main plaza. The hallways are very dark, carpet being thin shows signa of aging. Bathroom are outdated. Rooms are small with no special fixtures. Cleanliness is the worst, roaches are crawling thru doors, bathroom and beds. At one point we count as many as 10, on different sizes, it became so bad that the manager on duty changes us to another room at midnight. Unless you dont care or you are too tires to notice dont go. There are better hotels in the area. One word: disgusting

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cjbelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Trujillo hotels

New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

hotel staff were at the local airport inviting travelers, the pictures looked nice,they told us if we did not like this hotel we could leave no questions asked, when we arrived I asked the staff for the nearest pay phone and they said I could make a call from the desk "no charge." The room had a musty odor, no ac, small, only a fan, the bathroom had roaches, someone came with a spray, I requested another room they did not have another 3 beds room, at that point I just wanted to leave, so around midnite we left this hotel and moved to a hotel nearby, remember the phone call I made when I first checked in? well they charged me 10 soles, a pay phone charges 50 cents. I payed the 10 soles, asked for a receipt and left that nasty place. I do not recommend this hotel

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bertha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

I ended up staying here since there was a last minute change of plans so I decided I wasn't going to be too picky. The hotel looks decent from outside, in a central area in downtown Trujillo.

The good:

Service: service was good, front desk was always helpful
Computers available in lobby, with decent internet speed
Mini fridge in room, useful especially when very hot
fan in room-I would have loved a/c, but I wasn't going to be too picky
not expensive
breakfast is included

The bad:
No iron available, only iron service $ (although not expensive, 1 shirt is 2 soles but I still would have opted to iron my own clothes if it was available)
bathroom was dirty (found some ants in the sink and shower, had to rinse everything, always wear flip flops , damp smell in the bathroom
room is very small, there is not a lot of room to move
Obviously, if you travel in summer, it is extremely hot in the room, you'll be thankful for the fan but wish for A/C
It's quite noisy, thin-paper walls, you can easily hear conversations from other rooms
breakfast is eggs mixed with pieces of ham (since I don't eat ham, I asked if there were other options, but they aren't).


If you stay one night, it's ok but if you plan to stay a couple days in Trujillo, I suggest spending a bit more for something better.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosestar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trujillo hotels
2.5 mi away
Due
Due
#2 of 37 in Trujillo
365 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Portada del Sol
Hotel Portada del Sol
#11 of 37 in Trujillo
47 reviews
1.0 mi away
Media Luna Hotel
Media Luna Hotel
#31 of 37 in Trujillo
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Torre Norte
Hotel Torre Norte
#5 of 37 in Trujillo
198 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel El Gran Marques
Hotel El Gran Marques
#6 of 37 in Trujillo
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gran Bolivar Hotel
Gran Bolivar Hotel
#15 of 37 in Trujillo
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Recreo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Recreo Hotel

Property: Recreo Hotel
Address: Jr. Estete 647, Trujillo 13003, Peru
Region: Peru > La Libertad Region > Trujillo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Trujillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Recreo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Booking.com so you can book your Recreo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing