We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In its category excellent and great value”
Review of El Escudero Lodge

El  Escudero Lodge
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
El Escudero Lodge
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Trujillo
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
290 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“In its category excellent and great value”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Clean, comfortable, value for money, excellent friendly staff.
This is not for people who want creature comforts. It's clean, fairly basic in decor and finishes but everything works (hot water was fine but there was a hint that with more people it would have been a bit erratic). WIFI, PC and printer (free). TV is fine with a couple of english film channels. Lounge downstairs and a small eating are for breakfast (which is limited in choice but ample). Free pick up from airport (but not drop off - S./20 local taxi)
Staff could not be nicer. We had a small problem with one room and they immediately changed us. Let us levee our bags in the room and relax at the end of the day before our flight. Call you taxis, give good local food tips and will book you tours (pickup at hotel or in centre). Super friendly (we found all of Trujillo like that). They use Moche Tours who were very good (we were told Trujillo Tours was good also but didn't use them).
Not in the centre but you can walk in the day. Taxis (they call) are S./4-5
Perfect for a short stay in Trujillo. Our first hotel outside Lima so hard to compare but if the staff are like this elsewhere Peru we will be thrilled

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
7
2
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This lodge is located in a nice suburb. Close to everything. Had some problems with hot water but i thinks its usual in peru. What I love of this place is the lovely staff. They make you life easier. They give you advice and help you with the bus schedule. They are just so helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chloetraveller2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2012

El Escudero Lodge in Trujillo is located in good part of town. The rooms are a good size if a little noisy. There's a great breakfast here but what makes this place are the lovely people who run it. They're happy to help and make this place what it is.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nomadicnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2009

Bedrooms pretty comfortable, clean and large; however, hot waqter was a problem...you can hardly get anyif the place is full. The area around the hotel is not very nice either. If you go in your car, this place can be ok, no food though around.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank limatraveller1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2007

My fiance and I spend a wonderful vacation month in Peru,we visit the north coast and the last 2 weeks we decide to stay in Trujillo,we find this amaizing place in the middle of a residencial area.
It has all what we need,large ,confortable room,private bathroom ,hot water ,cable and it was super clean.
The staff is very helpful and caring they help us to get the best tours and for best prices,the room was clean every day and our laundry wash and deliver every day.
We spend a whole month in Peru and not all the experiences were great but El Escudero friendly staff make the last 2 weeks of our trip just perfect we coming back soon and we going to stay here again ,after 2 weeks at this lodge they really treat us like family. Also the prices are super low per room :}

  • Liked — It was so close to the city ,super clean and very safe
  • Disliked — The bathroom it was a bit tiny but clean!!!
  • Stayed July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank OlgaLiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Trujillo hotels
1.6 mi away
Due
Due
#2 of 37 in Trujillo
382 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Portada del Sol
Hotel Portada del Sol
#10 of 37 in Trujillo
49 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Ejecutivo San Diego
Hotel Ejecutivo San Diego
#29 of 37 in Trujillo
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Gran Marques
Hotel El Gran Marques
#6 of 37 in Trujillo
156 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hostal Cesar's Moche
Hostal Cesar's Moche
#25 of 37 in Trujillo
6 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Torre Norte
Hotel Torre Norte
#5 of 37 in Trujillo
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Escudero Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Escudero Lodge

Property: El Escudero Lodge
Address: Puerto Rico 361 | Urb El Recreo, Trujillo 005144, Peru
Region: Peru > La Libertad Region > Trujillo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 37 Hotels in Trujillo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — El Escudero Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Escudero Lodge, very comfortable hostelling in Trujillo Peru ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your El Escudero Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing