We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location but Worn Out”
Review of Inn Rocio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Inn Rocio
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Baguio
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Inn Rocio is situated 5 minutes uphill from Burnham park. It is one of the most affordable budget hotel in town, which is why we booked here at the first place. The room was very spacious.

Hot shower is always available and the TV contains most of the mainstream channels if you are coming from the west (e.g. BBC, CNN). If you are not too demanding then this inn would be a good fit. We stayed here for two nights and one of the main concerns we had was hygiene. We had cockroaches and lizards running around the room and we had to catch the former for both nights. The towels had orange stain in them, which is a sign that they are not bleached.

Breakfast is included with options of Filipino breakfast (Tocino, Tapas, and Longanisa) and American breakfast. Coffee is also provided. We tried all of them and they were average.

Room Tip: All the standard rooms are on the bottom floor. Try not to take room 6 as it is next to the carpark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

47 - 53 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 1 July 2014

Revisiting the inn was heart breaking. It is still redolent of Baguio in the seventies and eighties but sadly, the hotel structure has been left to rot. The place is generally still homey and relaxing but now more damp, dark and very old and crumbling.

The old manager and his wife were more attuned to the needs of guests and tried hard to make the place very picture pretty and perky. The new administration seems absent a lot and just lets the housekeepers run the place. The result is apparent. Nearly everything looks old, outdated and worn out.

Room Tip: Hotels by the corridors can be a bit noisy at night if there are guests prowling the rickety halls...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Leslie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

It was a very unassuming hotel along Kisad Road, an easy ten minute walk to SM Baguio. The hotel has a homey atmosphere , it was a former vacation house of a famous family and now converted to a budget hotel. I love the coffee shop/restaurant with the aroma of freshly brewed coffee while absorbing that Baguio feeling looking out on the coffee shop's wide glass windows. The food is great and quite reasonable, one need not go out to have breakfast. The rooms are clean and the linens are quite decent, there are rooms for a big family and small rooms fro one or two persons. Overall, I give credit to the staff, they are very courteous, well trained and accommodating.

Room Tip: try this hotel, you will never regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank charitoyara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay, free breakfast from 7-10am, free wifi, friendly staff, good food at their resto, daily newspapers available at the lobby, clean toilets and bathrooms.

BTW is close to Harrison Night matket about 600m walk through Burnham Park.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Algene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

I have been staying in Inn Rocio for two decades, and I will always come back. Though it's not luxurious and quite old, it's one of the very few that gives one the "Baguio" feeling. I am from Baguio and I don't get that feeling anymore, except when I'm in Inn Rocio.

Towels, linens and beds are basic, so with the room furnishings. But you're paying a very low rate which already includes breakfast so don't complain. The staff is OK, Manang Del has been there ever since I started checking in. The newer ones are also very accomodating.

It always feels good to hang out in the restaurant and admire the pine tree framed view, except when you look towards the direction of SM and see that misplaced structure on top of the hill, then you appreciate being in Inn Rocio.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NicolasMalmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Definitely has a homey vibe, with friendly staff. But rooms were a bit too small for comfort, and the glass windows do not provide good ventilation (it was surprisingly hot inside the whole hotel, considering that it's supposed to be cold in Baguio), so you still would need to turn on the fan. It might be better to stay in their more expensive, bigger rooms.

Prices have gone up a bit, so we've started considering other budget hotels, we used to stay here as a couple. Food was not that good, the salad was really soggy and was just splattered with cheap mayo and ketchup (again, surprising since this is Baguio!).

Nice quiet location if you like walking (it's close to Burnham but an uphill walk back).

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spirit_child84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

From the outside or the main road, the hotel was unnoticable. If I hadn't seen the TripAdvisor logo at the door, I wouldn't have gone in. But inside, there is this distinctive "Baguio Feel" from the walls, furniture to the furnishings. The room had this same homey atmosphere, specifically from the use of local stones and wood. The staff was courteous and very accomodating, catering to evey request as necessary.
The hotel is strategically located on one of the higher slopes so the huge glass windows in the room and restaurant areas provided the mountain view of baguio showcasing the mountainous terrain, pine trees, burnham park, and of course SM.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HarleysLair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baguio hotels
0.5 mi away
Travelite Express Hotel
Travelite Express Hotel
#13 of 49 in Baguio
46 reviews
0.3 mi away
Baguio Holiday Villas
Baguio Holiday Villas
#5 of 49 in Baguio
173 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Veniz
Hotel Veniz
#12 of 49 in Baguio
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baguio
1.5 mi away
Hotel Supreme
Hotel Supreme
#32 of 49 in Baguio
34 reviews
0.5 mi away
Citylight Hotel
Citylight Hotel
#29 of 49 in Baguio
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn Rocio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn Rocio

Address: 68 Kisad road, Baguio, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Benguet Province > Baguio
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Baguio
Price Range: £24 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn Rocio 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Inn Rocio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn Rocio Hotel Baguio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing