We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average hotel for those on a tight budget”
Review of Starwood Hotel

Starwood Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Starwood Hotel
Ranked #37 of 48 Hotels in Baguio
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average hotel for those on a tight budget”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Location:
- around 5-10 minutes from the town proper
- 7 11 convenience store is in the same building
- I think it is better to ask for a room that is not in the side of the road to make sure there won't be noise from passing vehicles (though I didn't stay in a room that's on the side of the road)
- we had no problem in looking for a taxi because there were a lot passing by in that area
- there is a parking space in the entrance with a guard on duty 24 hours (and they also have at the back though I was not able to see it)

Room:
- we stayed in 2 deluxe rooms (beside each other) that can accommodate 4 pax each
- spacious enough for 4 people
- the bed was average and it is good for 2 people
- hot shower in the bathroom was working, though there was a faint smell of urine, which may be from either the guests who stayed before us or the building that is not new
-tv reception was good in one of the rooms, but in the other room, the tv reception was not that clear
- the room we stayed at was not in the side of the road so it was very quiet, but we were not able to open the windows and feel the cold air because if you open the window, the sound of airconditioning units and warm air will come in the room and there was no view (aside from the walls)
- they provide toilet paper, shampoo, soap and towels, but bring your own if you're not very comfortable using those provided in hotels
- they have rooms with separate toilet and bath so ask them of the availability if you need it

Restaurant:
- very affordable food
- large servings of food
- courteous staff
- you can ask them to deliver your order to your room without charges
- cooking time is around 15 minutes, which is good because they cook the food upon receipt of the order, so freshness is guaranteed
- you can call them from your room and order 15 minutes before going down to the restaurant, to lessen waiting time

Building:
- the general appearance inside is a building that is a bit old but is decent for guests who are not very particular in staying in deluxe hotels
- elevator is fast, the building has 5 floors
- the carpet outside the rooms is obviously old and dirty but it's not in our room so I do not care much about it

Staff:
- courteous staff, receptionist, and guard

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Iris011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    12
    21
    6
    6
See reviews for
19
9
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
bangkok
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

After a rather bumpy ride from Pampangas (5 hours) uphills,we decided to jump the bus,as we spotted the first hotel sign,and a 7/11 sign.
Friendly staff,a resturant and a 7/11 walk inn in from lobby.
Room big,but a little run down,bed ok for a nap to next morning and good wifi,price was ok 1100piso,nice sleep and no noise.
But a little bit old the whole thing,but after that uphill trip on the "schoolbus" going in 20 km/h i think even the plastic chairs at 7/11 would have been an option.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank eric m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippines
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Pros:

- Decent value. Double bed room was P1400 per night (quoted via SMS... their walk-in rates are more expensive).

- Near Spade Nightclub, convenient for a party goer. It was an easy walk back to the hotel after a hard night of partying.

- 7-11 in the lobby of the building.

Cons:

- Outdated. The hotel needs renovation. At least replace the old CRTs with flat panels.

- Shower water barely got warm.

- Very few decent places to eat in this area.

Overall:

This was the only hotel available during the Panagbenga festival. For one night it was fine.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank paulboogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baguio, Philippines
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

I ordered pork chop and when i smelled the meat, it has very foul smell. i reported the problem to the cashier and the cashier said, oh only you complain!!! very unprofessional. and the kitchen staff check the meat they said the meat is ok.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
8 Thank dandats76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Baguio hotels

Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Located a bit outside the center but within walking distance (mind you, not for those who consider two-three blocks their walking distance), Starwood hotel offers spacious rooms that are reasonably clean (didn't see any cockroaches or ants!) and have decent facilities. The very surroundings of the hotel are a bit questionable, as there aren't many restaurants around, but there's a laundry place just half a block away and a public hospital (happened to need this one in Baguio) just 100 meters from the hotel. Also, all the taxi drivers knew the hotel so it was easy to find.

The staff was quite friendly and even offered to continue our discount price for an extra night, as I needed to extend our stay to recover. About the prices - we got a better deal booking a room through Agoda than would've been possible by walking in, and paid about 1650 pesos per night for a double room.

Wifi worked quite well (only had a few breaks during the evening/night) and the room was mostly comfortable. Could stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

We had a lovely experience when we stayed at the hotel. very good location and good advantage of park with a food court available It was quite refreshing.

The staff are friendly.

The view from the rooms is little bit refreshing.

Stayed May 6, 2013 Traveled as a group

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Rain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cainta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Starwood Hotel sits right smack on top of Kennon Road and is situated along major thoroughfares in Baguio City. The staff at the front desk are kind, courteous, and accommodating, and requests are quickly acted on.

Highly recommended for vacationers who are not looking for anything fancy but a simple, clean, decent place to sleep in. We booked a room that had two queen sized beds, a TV with cable, free wi-fi, and hot showers and were charged about P1,700 per night. You pay additional P300 per day if you would like to use the aircon. Request for your towels and additional pillows at no additional cost. The elevator is pretty quick too (which I really appreciate as elevators in small buildings like this one are usually pretty slow).

At the first floor is the Starwood Cafe. They serve good food with pretty generous servings, and are reasonably priced (full meals are priced at about P110 and set breakfast meals are priced at P95. Breakfast meals come with garlic rice, coffee, and fried egg). Right beside the lobby, you have a 7-11 branch so anything you need is right there. I found their cellphone charger machine particularly useful as I inadvertently left my charger at home (aaargh!).

All in all, you get good bang for your money.

Room Tip: If you can request for a room with a view. We got a room that looked out onto a wall, and it was pre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank yidg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baguio hotels
2.2 mi away
Travelite Express Hotel
Travelite Express Hotel
#20 of 48 in Baguio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Supreme
Hotel Supreme
#25 of 48 in Baguio
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
2.1 mi away
Inn Rocio
Inn Rocio
#14 of 48 in Baguio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Citylight Hotel
Citylight Hotel
#28 of 48 in Baguio
3.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
2.0 mi away
Baguio Holiday Villas
Baguio Holiday Villas
#8 of 48 in Baguio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hotel Supreme Convention Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starwood Hotel

Property: Starwood Hotel
Address: Kisad Rd cnr Marcos Hwy along BGH Rotunda, Baguio, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Benguet Province > Baguio
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 48 Hotels in Baguio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 57

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing