We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worse to WORST!”
Review of Summer Place Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Baguio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Summer Place Hotel
Ranked #43 of 48 Hotels in Baguio
Philippines
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worse to WORST!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

The service is the WORST you can find around. The hotel service is an insult to the service industry. Their housekeeping personnel is also their bellman, IT personnel and security guard. They do not know how to handle back to back functions. Their waiters are also their dishwashers which is why it takes so long for the service to arrive. Their cups are not washed properly and if order room service they charge an additional 25%. However, when they dish out your utensils from the room, they leave it outside your door for almost 24 hours until you see cockroaches in the cups and utensils. Their make up room only includes change of linens but not the sweeping and cleaning. Dust accumulation is all around and if you ask for the manager, everybody pretends he does not exist. If you need hot water in the room, you have to request at least half a day or better yet, get it yourself "self-service".

Room Tip: Never choose this hotel if you want to relax. If ever you do, try not to stay more than a day so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pr-apl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    5
    10
    9
    16
See reviews for
12
11
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I read the horrible reviews. However, I needed a big room and booked the presidential suite hoping that the service would be presidential worthy. I was wrong! No shampoo, soap, slippers, welcome drinks! No real service. I asked what service I can expect and they said 24/7 water and soap service will be available. Upon request, I got a 6 peso rejoice shampoo sachet. Wow! I paid 11000 pesos to get a 6 peso service! Never again!

Believe the reviews. Big rooms but no service. Better book a different hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rontimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Baguio hotels

Saijo, Japan
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

Because of the peculiar cliff side location, the elevator has to be cut into two, i.e., elevator can't navigate straight down or up. This is quite inconvenient for those with heavy bags or those in a rush. Just imagine your check-in counter or front desk is on 7th floor, and rooms can be located several meters down in the dungeon.
Rooms are spacious but badly configured. Dining room has spectacular view of Mount Santo Tomas and the sad urban sprawl of Baguio and nothing more. Looking down on the cliff side reminds one of earthquake disaster movies as the structure will be among the first to tumble down should an event happens.
Rates seem reasonable but compared to the rooms one get, it is surely overpriced. We requested an earlier check-in as we were half dazed from the long overnight bus trip, but accommodated our request only after paying a PhP1000 surcharge. That left a bad taste and impression especially when we found out there were tons of vacancies.
This hotel is recommended for budget conscious tourists who do not mind inferior accommodations and services, especially those big families who want to squeeze in everyone into one room. You will need a car to move around and see the sights of the city from the remote or out of the way location of this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Budjetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

It was last few days of our honeymoon, coming from sagada. We opted to stop by Baguio to buy vegetables and fruits a day before new year! We were told that accommodations were hard to find, so we asked helped from a friend to find us a hotel. At first, you will think you got the discount of your life, it was 50% off. So we said yes without really researching.

It started on the night before we are scheduled to travel back to Baguio, we called the hotel to make sure our reservations are confirmed since we are assuming there's no more rooms available. It took an hour of call backs before we were given confirmation. We had to talk to 3 different person.

When we got to the hotel, it was decent. Not so alarming, but when we were brought to our room. We had to walk outside going to the parking area, coz our room was located outside the main building. It was obvious that the room was built as an extension. I was concerned about safety because we can easily see the main road which is few steps away. It feels like a motel/hostel rather than a hotel. The room itself is clean with basic amenities. Hot water, clean beds, TV. The windows are big so i am glad we got view but not really enticing.

I am glad we just need a place to sleep over coz we were out most of the time. what i also dont like is the location of the hotel, it was far away from the down town. We want to walk around but cant do it, the transportation fee costs. so if you want to stay away from the buzz, this might be a good place for you. But be prepared to spend money in taxi fare coz it is too far. You cant even walk back and forth.

The staff tried their best to be accommodating, i cannot complain about it. Overall, i think the hotel is over priced. The decorations, the setup needs more attention. I have visited other hotels that charge low but better and pleasing to the eye.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony or good view or windows. Make sure to ask if the room is within the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoseyGrosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

Went during panabenga, baguio palace is all booked up! Thanking my stars that this one has a spare avail. Room... Plus its cheap coz they got a 50% on prices, good vibes.

Every design is so ethnic and mind you impressive. But hola we got donk in a room without windows at 1500/night! Felt like nasa bartolina, maski anung ganda ng toilet kung totally close anung use?!

We transfered the next day to another hotel!

Total disaster ever! Thos hotel should get a life, and make those rooms a storage room!

Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Merce V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I don't understand the aesthetics of the place. The interiors are messed up. There's this ethnic figurines and chairs, but the walls and some decorations have Chinese + Japanese influence. The reception desk design has also this Balinese decorations. The dining area has colorful lights that are misplaced. I think that the hotel is poorly decorated. I don't like the fact that you have to change elevators just to go to the lower areas of the hotel. Its not convenient when you're carrying a big luggage.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emperorgtuynian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
seattle
Level Contributor
312 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We were looking to have accommodations for 20 and they suggested the "Presidential Suite" for 10,000 pesos/nt. It turns out there was only 9 beds and 1 CR. Certainly they should have suggested multiple rooms as it isn't realistic to house this many people with 1 CR - I was given the impression it was going to be multiple rooms and multiple CRs within a suite.

While the hotel and staff was decent, the value provided was poor.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baguio hotels
4.1 mi away
Ridgewood Hotel
Ridgewood Hotel
#18 of 48 in Baguio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.8 mi away
Green Valley Baguio Hotel and Resort
3.3 mi away
Hotel Supreme
Hotel Supreme
#26 of 48 in Baguio
3.0 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Venus Parkview Hotel
Venus Parkview Hotel
#10 of 48 in Baguio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hotel Elizabeth Baguio
Hotel Elizabeth Baguio
#12 of 48 in Baguio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
2.4 mi away
Travelite Express Hotel
Travelite Express Hotel
#20 of 48 in Baguio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Summer Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Summer Place Hotel

Property: Summer Place Hotel
Address: 288 Marcos Highway, Baguio, Luzon 02600, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Benguet Province > Baguio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Baguio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect place to experience luxury and sophistication at the Summer-Capital of the Philippines, the gateway to Baguio City is a unique hotel experience at Summer Place Hotel, "the first fine boutique hotel in Baguio City" just opened April 2003. It is just one of Baguio's most popular 3-Star Hotel destination which offers spectacular views and breathtaking scenery of the city, a dramatic and romantic touch of sunset, with a glimpse of South China Sea. Take it all in through a panoramic window, all while relaxing in spacious rooms. European, Asian, American, influences and unequalled modern facilities are reflected in the design and decor for you to experience the cultural mix of the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Summer Place Baguio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing