We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Buffet just can't cope with the number of guests” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Manor at Camp John Hay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Manor at Camp John Hay
Ranked #1 of 50 Hotels in Baguio
Certificate of Excellence
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Buffet just can't cope with the number of guests”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

The Manor is best at off peak period. During the holidays, esp year end Christmas at full occupancy, the food buffet, house-keeping and front desk simple could not cope with the traffic. The number of dining tables stretched into the garden inside 3 big tents. Minor panic ensued when it drizzled just before dinner was served when tables that were outside the tents were moved into the tents. This is management failure, not with the working staff. The management simply decided to prioritise profit ahead of customer satisfaction.
At check out, a guest jumped the queue and asked to be checked out ahead of other waiting guests, and the front desk staff served him. That was very annoying.

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the forest, and away from the shops below the building. The shops played lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steven t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManorcjh, Front Office Manager at The Manor at Camp John Hay, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Dear steven t,

Thank you for choosing The Manor at Camp John Hay on your recent trip to Baguio.

We are very concerned to learn of the less than pleasing experiences you had during your stay.
Rest assured that these have been shared with the management team.

We sincerely apologize for any inconvenience caused.Please know that immediate improvements are expected as we work together to raise our service standards.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope that you give us another opportunity to re-engineer your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    334
    249
    77
    24
    15
See reviews for
320
121
13
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
manila
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Pros:
* Despite the high occupancy rate, we were allowed to check-in 4 hours earlier; plus 1 hour later check-out.
* Staff were very helpful and gracious. Special kudos goes to Frances at the Front Desk who is always wearing a smile amidst all the busyness
* We were given a room at the topmost floor with a forest view. Very peaceful and quiet. Away from the noisy dining crowd.
* Buffet breakfast is still tops! Adding a few variety of viands and fruit juices will make it better though
* My request to have a birthday cake for my friend was accommodated

Cons:
* the hot water comes and goes intermittently
* furniture in the lobby is a bit old and grimy. Could use a bit of shampooing

Room Tip: Select from rooms in the 3rd and 4th floors with a forest view. Much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alec1572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManorcjh, Front Office Manager at The Manor at Camp John Hay, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear alec1572,

Greetings from The Manor at Camp John Hay!

Thank you for you valuable review. It is through feedback such as yours that enables us to improve the quality of our products and services.

We are grateful for the good points that you have enumerated in your review. We are humbled to learn that you consider The Manor as The Best in Baguio.

We have taken note of your comment regarding the water heater and lobby furniture.Rest assured that his has been brought to the attention of the concerned departments.

Again, thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Everytime i come here theres always a long line. When checking in theres a line and theres always some reason why the room isnt available, this year i wad told der was an engineering problem, last year it was because someone was still occupying the room. So another 2 hour wait this year. Now its pila nman for breakfast. The wifi is like the one at work, they block certain sites and shut it off at midnight

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManorcjh, Front Office Manager at The Manor at Camp John Hay, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Dear A C,

Thank you for taking time to inform us about the details of your stay. We truly regret that your experience with us for the last 2 years was less than ideal. We have taken note of your comment regarding the long queue at the Front Desk and breakfast buffet.

It is always a challenge to manage the influx of guests specially during Peak Season however you might be glad to know that the Management and staff are devising all possible solutions and strategies to resolve this concern.

Our sincerest apologies and we hope to see you and your guests back at The Manor at Camp John Hay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cavite City, Philippines
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

The Hotel looks great with amazing ambiance the morning sun shines the best on the Restaurant, the Piano Bar is Awesome the Lobby is just picturesque. The rooms are OK. The Forest View are more relaxed and Private.You can see all the activities in the garden view. The Breakfast Buffet are Generous and nice. The Dinner Buffet is quite expensive. The Rooms are OK. The View is the best of Baguio. that is why this hotel is Number 1.

Room Tip: Forest view upper floor for best relaxation. Garden View if you want to see the action. (I wanted i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobetEvang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013

This is my first visit. The hotel and its garden were beautifully decorated for Christmas.

We called the hotel directly to make our room reservations and specifically requested for a quiet room. The reservation staff recommended the rooms facing the "forest". However, the music blasting from Mile Hi Center (a row of shops and restaurants) was noisy and loud. It starts from 9am to 7pm everyday and it was so annoying. We wanted to relax in the room with a book to read in the early afternoon but gave up after an hour and left the hotel. And for the rest of the stays, we did not return to the room until after 7pm, when we were sure that the music was switched off. The hotel receptionist was particularly unhelpful when we brought up this noise complain.

We also paid for the Christmas Eve dinner buffet at the hotel. There were long queues snaking around the tables just to get to the food especially the tempuras. There was also a queue for pastas and the chef was really not coping well....our pasta was under seasoned as he was trying very hard to cope by cooking 3 different pans at the same time. We were seated inside the tent. Unfortunately it started to rain just before dinner and there was a scramble to move tables that were out in the open into the tent. We were requested by the service staff to get up so that they can move our table (we were moved three times) as more and more tables were brought into the tent. Food counters that were set-up in the open was also moved into the tent. Once the rain stopped, some of the food counters were moved back out in the open. Overall, it gives me the impression that the hotel and the service staff was not well prepared for the buffet dinner.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hviv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManorcjh, Front Office Manager at The Manor at Camp John Hay, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear vivienne h,

Thank you for allowing us to know your recent experience at The Manor at Camp John Hay. We are concerned to learn of the less than pleasing experiences you had during your stay. It it regrettable to learn that your first visit was not up to your expectations.

Please know that we have taken serious note of your comments and rest assured that corrective measures will be taken to avoid similar incidents in the future.

Our sincerest apologies and we hope that you will allow us the opportunity to re-engineer your stay at The Manor at Camp John Hay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

For the second straight year, we went to Manaoag and headed straight to Baguio afterwards. We stayed at a different place last year because The Manor was fully booked. Luckily, we were able to book this year since we went a week earlier just before the busy long weekend. We initially booked a 2-bedroom suite so that our family can stay together. However, there seemed to have been a problem when we re-confirmed during the day itself. We were instead given a deluxe room as well as a 1-bedroom suite. It was still all good.

Parents stayed at the 1-bedroom suite facing the back of the hotel grounds. This by far has the best views for me and you can open the balcony to have a nice view of the garden. Other amenities include a small kitchen with dining area, couches, a flat screen TV, powder room and a bathroom (aside from the one inside the bedroom). This room was really spacious and we enjoyed staying there. Our room was located opposite of the 1-bedroom suite which faced the front of the hotel with a forest view. The deluxe room we stayed at is still quite huge compared to other hotel standards. It even had a powder room as well. Apart from staying at The Manor, I suggest that you try their buffet breakfast. I really like the variety of dishes they offered and enjoyed most of them. A good way to start your day right at Baguio. A definite must if you're staying there!

Overall, I'd suggest staying at The Manor. We really enjoyed staying here (except for the initial 2-bedroom suite booking) and love their breakfast buffet. We'll probably stay here again next year unless we want to try out a new place for comparison. By far, this is my favorite place to stay at in Baguio.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony facing the hotel grounds at the back. This has the best views for me espec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xpao87x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManorcjh, Front Office Manager at The Manor at Camp John Hay, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear xpao87x,

Thank you for sharing your experience at The Manor at Camp John Hay. We are glad that you had a wonderful stay in our 1 bedroom suite facing the garden and deluxe room facing the pine forest. We are also delighted to know that you enjoyed our room amenities and facilities.

Thank you as well for your positive feedback on our breakfast buffet. Indeed, it is one of the reasons why guests keep coming back to our hotel.

We hope to welcome you and your family back at The Manor at Camp John Hay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Japan
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Stayed from 27Nov-11Dec. From the lobby to their veranda, this is a very gorgeous looking hotel. Shops at the bottom of the hotel gives you a variety of different shopping venues and diners. The room was very adequate but the room we got on the first floor didn't pass the noise test. We stayed in Room 102 which is right next to the double doors following the main lobby. At night, a band plays right by the bar next to those double doors and oftentimes during the morning, you can pretty much hear anything that goes on in the hallway. Another thing I want to point out is that, breakfast is never included with any accomodations and this was relayed by the front desk personnel to me during check-in. Might be a good incentive for future promos to get this included instead of having to go somewhere else for food.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frankie371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheManorcjh, Front Office Manager at The Manor at Camp John Hay, responded to this review, 3 January 2014
Dear frankie371,

Thank you for choosing The Manor at Camp John Hay as your home during your recent visit to Baguio.

We are sorry to learn that your room on the ground floor was not at par with your expectations. We would like to inform you that your comments are duly noted and reviewed to further improve our product and services.

It might interest you to know that we offer online promos and packages that can suit your needs. You can visit our website at www. campjohnhay.ph.

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience with us. We look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Baguio hotels
1.2 mi away
Azalea Residences Baguio
1.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Baguio
1.9 mi away
Baguio Holiday Villas
Baguio Holiday Villas
#7 of 50 in Baguio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hotel Elizabeth Baguio
Hotel Elizabeth Baguio
#9 of 50 in Baguio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ridgewood Hotel
Ridgewood Hotel
#19 of 50 in Baguio
3.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Supreme Convention Plaza
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor at Camp John Hay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor at Camp John Hay

Property: The Manor at Camp John Hay
Address: Loakan Road, Baguio, Luzon 2600, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Cordillera Region > Benguet Province > Baguio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Baguio
#3 Business Hotel in Baguio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor at Camp John Hay 4*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Manor is not only distinguished by its impressive architecture and cozy interiors, but also blessed with an environment that truly sets it apart from other hotels in Baguio City. This four-story structure, designed to blend neatly with towering pine trees, provides a magnificent view of the Cordillera mountain range. Here, one can literally open windows to cool, fresh air. For a distinct touch, a Baguio stone exterior finish, shingled roofing and tinted glass windows add warm accents to Camp John Hay Manor's cozy, relaxed and luxurious ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Manor at Camp John Hay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camp John Hay Baguio
Manor Hotel Baguio
Camp John Hay Manor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing