We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breautiful rooms, dated guest areas”
Review of Springside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auburn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Springside Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Auburn B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 August 2008

My husband and I stayed at Springside Inn last month. At first I was nervous, when we arrived, the building was pretty but appeared to need updating. The entrance foyer was extremely old fashioned and a bit musty smelling, and the common areas (wher we checked in, where breakfast was served) was just downright dingy. But, all of the rooms have been restored, and our room was absolutely spectacular. We had a king room, with a clawfoot tub. It was one of the niucest rooms we have stayued in, particularly for the price. We peeked in some of the other guest rooms and all were just as nice.

The owner was not present at all, so if you are looking for personalized attention, then you might be put off. There wa a nice album of local attractions in our room which was helpful.

There is so much to see and do in the area, this is a great location for swine tasting, antiquiing, etc. My only advice is that the town of Auburn is a bit nicer in their marketing materials than it is in real life, so yhou might not want to plan too much time in Auburn proper if you visit.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank HeatherAnne1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Springside Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 98 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2008

My grandmother and I stayed at this Inn on my first trip to Auburn, New York. We reserved for a King room, but were upgraded to a King Suite. I've stayed in lots of hotels before -- years of travelling for business and pleasure -- and this inn carries the prize for the most charming. Our suite had a beautifully appointed sitting room, a bedroom with heavy wood panelling and an enormous four-poster bed with a comfortable mattress. The pull out couch in the sitting room came in very handy. The bathroom, specifically the very deep private whirlpool bath, was fantastic. We were given a bottle of wine in a basket in our room; a good quality local Riesling-Chardonnay mix.

Breakfast: in the little mini-fridge, boxes of cereal, bagels, fruit and pastries, orange juice, milk.

Area: It's not in downtown Auburn, but on the lake. It's a little far for first-time visitors, but once you know the routes, it's quite easy to access.

Cons: They were renovating, so mornings with the builders were slightly inconvenient. They don't serve dinner on weekdays in the winter.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ibsensgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2007

Great hospitality in a great area. I recently had a business meeting in Auburn, NY and most hotels in the area were full due to some convention in the area. A friend told me about the Springside which was close to my business meeting. The owner, Sean Lattimore, couldn't have been nicer. Sean and his staff made us feel right at home. It was such a change from the normal corporate hustle and bustle. Even though it's not quite designed for the business traveler, they had everything you could ask for including free wireless. I think I'll come back with my wife sometime for a nice romantic getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank capecodkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2007

We stayed there recently for 2 nights based on the comments on this website. The place was easy to find and in a beautiful neighbourhood. We were pleased to find a very well decorated room with all the necessities. The complimentary Finger Lakes wine basket was also a very nice added touch.

However, the service at the Inn was a bit missing that weekend. Our television was not working in the room and after making a comment at the reception we were told that they would come to look at it. The television was never repaired and they did not get back to us. We were also a bit dissapointed with the "continental breakfast". The fresh danish were packaged and we did have some trouble with the toaster...

If you are planning to stay on a weekend, ask to get the Sunday brunch when you check in. We asked too late and while they made efforts to accomodate us by offering to add a table in one of the dining rooms, we declined the offer.

All in all our stay was ok.

Stayed: April 2007
1  Thank crottes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2006

SpringsideInn was all I needed to read to decide this was the place...and what a dream come true! The Inn was luxurious, yet very comfortable and felt like home! The Owners Beth and Sean Lattimore were like long lost brother and sister to us the second we checked in...and the room. The room 31 is awesome!!! Jacuzzi, kitchenette, beautiful and just moments from the Lake and fronted by a Spring/fountain and a beautiful view...this place is wonderful...and don't forget about the Sunday Brunch! YUMMERS...the lobster newberg and cheese souflet were to die for!

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank TheBiggestKahuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 29,183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
2.6 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
5.2 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.6 mi away
The Gould Hotel
The Gould Hotel
#2 of 4 in Seneca Falls
351 reviews
7.0 mi away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
7.2 mi away
34 State Historic Luxury Suites Skaneateles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springside Inn

Address: 6141 W Lake Rd, Auburn, NY 13021-5640
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Auburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Auburn
Price Range: £74 - £185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit a place full of history set in the heart of the Finger Lakes. Built in 1854, the beautifilly restored Springside Inn offers 7 spacious, uniqually designed guest rooms. Think four poster beds, claw foot tubs, exposed brick walls and orginial fireplaces. Start your day enjoying our continental breakfast on the varenda or in front of the fireplace. Spend your time here, relaxing by the pond, kayaking on the lake or visiting the local wine trails. For dinner, you won't have to go far for a fantastic meal. Oak & Vine, our modern gastro pub, is located right here on property; offering locally grown, organic foods and a bevy of micro brews. This family owned property is focused on catering to each of our guests needs. We strive to ensure that your stay here at this wonderful, historic Inn is flawless. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Springside Hotel Auburn
Springside Inn Auburn, Finger Lakes, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing