We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room and food great, service not so much” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Springside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auburn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Springside Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Auburn B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland OH
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Room and food great, service not so much”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2009

My wife and I were recently visiting a couple nights in the Fingerlakes. The Inn's weekend fling package looked good from their website, we had never been to this area before and were booking at the last minute. We came all the way from Cleveland Ohio and were not able to arrive until right after 9:00 Friday. We found that the restaraunt was closed so we wouldn't be getting the dinner and desert included in the package for that night. There was however, a loud and roudy group event going on elsewhere at the Inn. A staff person there, Amy, who was great both days and nights and kept the stay from being a complete waste, did have a shrimp, cheese, and fruit plate brought up to our room with an additional wine bottle. Our room however, was on the third floor and accessible only by two narrow and steep stairways, no elevator. I understand the place is historic and is not bound by the normal public access rules, but they don't exactly warn you of this on their website. This place would be totally inappropriate to someone with disabilities, or elderly and poorly mobile, or even someone who might have just broken a leg! The room was lovely,the bathroom huge, the bed totally comfy,however closet space was minimal, and I had to plug in the TV and cable myself. , I needed to get some ice that night but nothing and no one was to be found.
The continental breakfast Sat was OK, but again the one woman on duty then was less than helpful, she was more concerned with setting up for a bridal shower. She was also unable to steer us to a good wine tasting tour, remember, we were new to this! We did find a great tasting tour that day whose service contrasted greatly with the Inn's. Springside is not real close to the best wineries so we had a bit of a drive to Ithaca. We did enjoy a super meal at the Inn that night.
Sunday departure left us with a real bad taste. We had never been advised that the Sunday brunch did not begin until 10:30, we were unable to stay for it since we had to get back on the road to Ohio. Unlike Friday night, no suitable substitute for the brunch was offered, except for the continental spread, the brunch was also part of our package. The lady on duty then told us basically tough luck, nothing was ready yet. Again, however, a large business group was in use of their restaurant, this was at 9:30. When we criticized the lady directly but in appropriate language for her poor attitude, she huffed that she had never been spoken to like that in 20 years. After we left we spoke by phone to the owner, Sean Lattimore (although they didn't want to give his # at first because he was "at a party"). We made what we considered a reasonable request, that he adjust our bill for the brunch we were unable to enjoy. The conversation went on for 15 minutes. He seemed put off that we hadn't made any complaints earlier about our stay, but sunday was the icing on the cake. It's the overall experience that counts! He defended the lady in question as someone so popular she had retired but had been requested back by guests. Maybe she had a bad day, everyone does.
A few days later we heard from Sean and he had taken $25 off our bill. He also promised to review procedures with the inn staff and the reservation takers in particlular to be more upfront about what to expect at Springside. He did express sorrow for the bad time.
We heard from a local worker at breakfast on the way out of the area that Springside was definitely known as better for special events than for overnight guests. That was very very obvious to us.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vince10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    20
    12
    0
    1
See reviews for
16
59
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2009

My wife and I recently stayed one night at this historic inn on the shores of the Finger Lakes. We did not know the area very well and were unimpressed with the other budget motels in the city of Auburn. We were almost headed to nearby Skineateles when we decided to check out this place. The owner, Sean Lattimore, was more than helpful in welcoming us and showed us several rooms, all of which I would categorize as unique and luxorious. We ended up staying in the suite on the third floor and had a fantastic sleep in the four poster king sized bed. We also enjoyed the jacuzzi and had a great drink in front of the massive front yard overlooking the lake. There are fascinating old photos of the Inn and several famous politicians (like Hillary Clinton) who visited either he inn itself or the Auborn area. Needless to say, this place is a real "find" and I won't hesitate to recommend it to people who love luxury but don't want to spend the same amount as Skineateles places (a similar inn there was about $100 more/night). The only quibble is there are very few restaurants within walking distance. However, we were visiting off season and the restaurant at the inn was closed. Had it been open, we would loved to have tried it as the menu looked fantastic...maybe upon our next visit.

John
Ottawa, Canada

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JohMee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Haven, Michigan
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2009

We had to travel to central New York for a funeral. We needed a place that would provide a comfortable, warm, caring environment for several family members coming from different parts of the country. We found that and more staying at the Holland House, which is part of the Springside Inn in Auburn,New York. We had stayed at Springside Inn last summer and were so impressed with the hospitality and beautiful atmosphere the Inn offered. We remembered that the innkeepers had recently purchased a home next door to the inn, which would provide our family with just the perfect place for us to reconnect with each other during this difficult time. The innkeepers, Sean and his wife, had stocked the kitchen with all the right touches to make our stay so nice. The Holland House easily accommodated 3 families. It is decorated with some lovely antiques, has a huge front porch, 5 bedrooms, 2 baths, and even has a piano. It is located near pretty Owasco Lake and in the summer there's no better place to be in all of central New York. The Holland House was the perfect match for our needs. It is a beautiful old home. The Springside Inn, which is right next door, has the best food in the area. The smells coming out of the kitchen are heavenly! We were treated so kindly by the owners and the staff. We've traveled all over the world and this place is right at the top of our list. If you are looking for a charming get away, the Springside Inn has what you're looking for. If you need a larger place to accommodate many guests, try the Holland House at the Springside Inn. You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed April 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flosue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington
Level Contributor
175 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2008

Springside Inn is a well kept secret in the Eastern Finger Lakes region of New York State.

It has a wonderful setting across the road from the lake and the grounds are peaceful and serene

The inn itself is well preserved and the rooms have been recently been renovated but retain their historical charm.

The restaurant on the main floor of the inn has wonderful food and service for a very reasonable price.

A nice added touch is the complimentary bottle of wine on check in complete with corskscrew and wine glasses.

Continental breakfast is included and while not extravangant it is sufficent to make it to lunch. Fresh fruit, juice, cereal, tea, coffee and pastries are included. A nice added touch would be to have fresh pastries rather than prepackaged.

Based on our stay in room 21 the beds are very comfortable and the inn is very peaceful at night. Even though we were on the second floor and there were two fairly large parties in progress in the main floor private banquet rooms we heard nothing inside or out.

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
Thank 243Furby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambler, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2008

My husband and I stayed at Springside Inn last month. At first I was nervous, when we arrived, the building was pretty but appeared to need updating. The entrance foyer was extremely old fashioned and a bit musty smelling, and the common areas (wher we checked in, where breakfast was served) was just downright dingy. But, all of the rooms have been restored, and our room was absolutely spectacular. We had a king room, with a clawfoot tub. It was one of the niucest rooms we have stayued in, particularly for the price. We peeked in some of the other guest rooms and all were just as nice.

The owner was not present at all, so if you are looking for personalized attention, then you might be put off. There wa a nice album of local attractions in our room which was helpful.

There is so much to see and do in the area, this is a great location for swine tasting, antiquiing, etc. My only advice is that the town of Auburn is a bit nicer in their marketing materials than it is in real life, so yhou might not want to plan too much time in Auburn proper if you visit.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HeatherAnne1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2008

My grandmother and I stayed at this Inn on my first trip to Auburn, New York. We reserved for a King room, but were upgraded to a King Suite. I've stayed in lots of hotels before -- years of travelling for business and pleasure -- and this inn carries the prize for the most charming. Our suite had a beautifully appointed sitting room, a bedroom with heavy wood panelling and an enormous four-poster bed with a comfortable mattress. The pull out couch in the sitting room came in very handy. The bathroom, specifically the very deep private whirlpool bath, was fantastic. We were given a bottle of wine in a basket in our room; a good quality local Riesling-Chardonnay mix.

Breakfast: in the little mini-fridge, boxes of cereal, bagels, fruit and pastries, orange juice, milk.

Area: It's not in downtown Auburn, but on the lake. It's a little far for first-time visitors, but once you know the routes, it's quite easy to access.

Cons: They were renovating, so mornings with the builders were slightly inconvenient. They don't serve dinner on weekdays in the winter.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ibsensgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2007

Great hospitality in a great area. I recently had a business meeting in Auburn, NY and most hotels in the area were full due to some convention in the area. A friend told me about the Springside which was close to my business meeting. The owner, Sean Lattimore, couldn't have been nicer. Sean and his staff made us feel right at home. It was such a change from the normal corporate hustle and bustle. Even though it's not quite designed for the business traveler, they had everything you could ask for including free wireless. I think I'll come back with my wife sometime for a nice romantic getaway.

  • Liked — hospitality of the owners
  • Disliked — Bar closed too early :)
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank capecodkid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
2.6 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
2.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
6.3 mi away
Finger Lakes Lodging
Finger Lakes Lodging
#5 of 7 in Skaneateles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
1.9 mi away
10 Fitch Luxurious Romantic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springside Inn

Property: Springside Inn
Address: 6141 W Lake Rd, Auburn, NY 13021-5640
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Auburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Visit a place full of history set in the heart of the Finger Lakes. Built in 1854, the beautifilly restored Springside Inn offers 7 spacious, uniqually designed guest rooms. Think four poster beds, claw foot tubs, exposed brick walls and orginial fireplaces. Start your day enjoying our continental breakfast on the varenda or in front of the fireplace. Spend your time here, relaxing by the pond, kayaking on the lake or visiting the local wine trails. For dinner, you won't have to go far for a fantastic meal. Oak & Vine, our modern gastro pub, is located right here on property; offering locally grown, organic foods and a bevy of micro brews. This family owned property is focused on catering to each of our guests needs. We strive to ensure that your stay here at this wonderful, historic Inn is flawless. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Springside Hotel Auburn
Springside Inn Auburn, Finger Lakes, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing