We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Downhill since last time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Inn at the Finger Lakes
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Reviewed 7 August 2011

Have reviewed this property before and generally was okay so thought we would try again.

First thing we noted was that the side door from parking lot into hotel would not close without great effort. Thinking this was a security manner we stopped at front desk and expressed our concern. I was told that the card reader was not working so they left it open as guests complained about coming around to door by front desk. When I again expressed concern I was told that she shuts the door when she leaves for the night (not very convincingly...no mention about fixing card reader). Security is our number 1 issue while traveling so on that basis alone would not stay here again!!!!!

Room small and a/c either ice cold or not at all. Did have included cold buffet for breakfast that was okay but coffee was

If someone stays here ask about the side door security and request a room away form main road (arterial road)

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Funcruzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 223 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2011

This hotel is what you expect one to be. Its clean and nice. The rooms are small and there were minor imperfections in the bathroom but overall I liked it. Friendly staff and good continental breakfast added to the experience!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidwander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed 4 nights at this conveniently located hotel. My Aunt and I were on a self guided wine tour of Cayuga Lake and Seneca Lake. We were able to get the weekday saver rate. Initially I only booked the In for two nigts and called the week before to see if I could add 2 more nights. I tried to add the dates online but there were no rooms available. I called and after just a few minutes on hold, management approved the additional 2 nights. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful. The staff at the front desk was friendly and helpful in suggesting local restaurants. The continental breakfast was the same each morning as expected and the attendant was always available to replenish the items as needed. The complimentary Happy Hour was a really nice addition. The hotel was listed as a two star hotel but I really think it is good bit better than that. The towels were nice and much better than what I expected. The staff was consistent throughout our stay and seemed willing to help in any way possible. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an affordable, clean and friendly place to stay while visiting the Finger Lakes.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luvs2travel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

We took a few days to have some R & R and found this hotel very pleasant, very clean ( a must) and a great location for what we did. It's located in the center of Auburn with the Seward House Museum (0.5 mile away), Harriet Tubman home (2 miles away), plenty of restaurants and theaters a short distance away (0.5 - 2 miles).

The room with one queen bed was small by comparison to other hotels we've stayed in and the bed was made up with 3 down pillows. We used them the first night and found they were not to our liking when our heads sank in and made you feel like there was nothing supporting you. We did note that there were 2 "regular" pillows inside the closet and we had a much better sleep the 2nd night.

Since we don't have a laptop computer, it was very convenient to be able to check our e-mail 3 times on the hotel's lobby computer and we never had to wait for another guest to get off the computer when we did.

The breakfast is pretty basic (3 cereals, instant oatmeal, danish, eng. muffins, toast, 2 juices, milk, coffee, tea, hard boiled eggs, yogurts) but the girl attendant made sure that everything was well stocked and we didn't have to wait or ask for something.

We initially used our Mastercard when checking in but when we wished to change it to our Visa the 2nd day, the staff were very accommodating.

We'd stay here again if we went.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Quinnfuzzymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We booked this hotel based on it's TripAdvisor rating.
The room was pretty clean but definitely small. Our room was on the highway side of the hotel (I suggest requesting the opposite side) and we could definitely here some road noise. The front desk staff wasn't as friendly as all of the other reviews said. They were just ok. Maybe we just caught them on an off day (or two or three).
We got back late on Fri night and arrived at their complimentary wine/beer tasting (from 5-7pm M-F) at 6:58pm. The woman shut the door right on our face and when we went to find her to ask if we could just taste one drink, she said no - it's closed now. From other TripAdvisor reviews, I expected the staff to go above and beyond and be overly friendly and accommodating - especially since we were staying there for 4 nights - but this was not really the case. I think I'd try elsewhere next time I come visit this area. There is a Holiday Inn down the street that has a pool (I believe) and is a very similar price range. I'm not sure how it rates otherwise though since I've never been there.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank summersalt9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2011

My wife and adult son stayed here July 13 & 14 2011. Saw reviews for the property at other sites and it sounded good. We took a chance on this hotel. WOW...what a great surprise for the three of us. VERY clean and well kept. The hotel staff were ALL very personable and accomodating to our needs! The hotel manager Jacquline Lewis helped us make reservation changes without quibble. Terrific place for family travel!!
B Bochenski
Dryden, NY

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BERNIE2361584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2011

We loved our stay at the Inn. The staff was friendly, and our room was comfortable, and the price was much cheaper than most of the places in town. The rate for the room was cheaper than any of the chains in town. It's in walking distance to a couple of good restaurants.

There is a free wine and beer tasting every night with wine from the Finger Lakes, and imported beers. The woman who was running the wine tasting sat with us for over an hour telling us about all the sights to see in Auburn, and giving us great advice for our trip.

I would definitely stay there again, and recommend it to anyone- no complaints!

Room Tip: Ask for the best price at the front desk. We got $25 knocked off from the price they quoted us on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mhworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
4.8 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
733 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
#1 of 4 in Seneca Falls
683 reviews
21.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
14.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Waterloo-Seneca Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Finger Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Finger Lakes

Address: 12 Seminary Ave, Auburn, NY 13021-2749
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range: £50 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at the Finger Lakes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at the Finger Lakes Hotel in Auburn offers lodging and accommodations for vacations and getaways in the Finger Lakes wine region of New York. The Finger Lakes region is known for its distinctive wineries and the Inn at the Finger Lakes is located near many - all found along the Cayuga and Seneca Wine Trails. We are near historical, cultural and recreational points of interest including Skaneateles Lake, Owasco Lake, Harriet Tubman House and William Seward House. Visitors can shop til they drop at Bass Pro Shop, MacKenzie-Child's Pottery, Waterloo Premium Outlets, Carousel Mall, Macys and Marshalls as well as a variety of local antique shops and farmers markets that offer a unique and varied shopping experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at the Finger Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Finger Lakes Hotel Auburn
Finger Lakes Hotel
Hotel At The Finger Lakes
Inn At The Finger Lakes Auburn, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing