We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Time here.......”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at the Finger Lakes
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Reviewed 4 December 2009

We had stayed at this motel before and had a good experience so decided to try it again. Since they were not that busy they had a special for a "suite" for two nights for the price of one night so we took it. The room was large with a sofa, small refrigerator and microwave, a queen size bed and a large ( 37 or 40 inch) flat screen TV on the wall. Room was clean but it offered no view but of a parking lot. Since it is December we needed to turn on the heat and it was one of those that ran all the time once turned on so we did not like that. Also there was no exhaust fan in the bathroom. The motel does offer a Continental breakfast which is included in the room price and we did try it one morning. They had some fruit, cereal, bagels, english muffin, some small blueberry muffin and coffee and juice. The room where it was nice clean and well lighted. Food was just ok but just what we needed to start the day. The other morning we made the short walk over to Hunter's Diner for breakfast which was very good. There is also a new restaurant close by (Bistro One) which just opened but we did not have a chance to try. Overall it was ok and good value but we might try another place on our next visit

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funcruzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (268)
There are newer reviews for Inn at the Finger Lakes
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

236 - 242 of 268 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2009

We picked this inn for its convenient location and enjoyed walking a block to Genesee Street, which has several restaurants and shops, as well as a Wegman's Supermarket. The hotel room was very small (basically a Microtel room), but had all the basics and was spotless. The staff was very friendly, even providing a complementary wine and cheese social at 5:00. Breakfast is not great, but if you just need milk & cereal or a bagel and toaster, then it's fine. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ctwinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2009

Expensive for the small room they offer. And it was not even the peak season. Staff was helpful. The hotel is on Route 20 so some noise.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2009

We had spent the day in Syracuse and Skaneateles, so all we wanted was a comfortable room for the night. This place was just right, offering great value, especially compared to the high prices in Skaneateles. Everything was clean and the staff couldn't have been more helpful.

My wife had a little trouble sleeping at first, until she realized there were two kinds of pillows available. Switching to a firmer pillow solved this little problem.

The continental breakfast was also a little more than we expected, with a good selection of light foods in a bright and cheerful room.

Some other reviewers have complained about the neighborhood, but we didn't encounter any problems getting in or out.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camerajim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

We decided to see if we could find a room in the area for a very last minute trip on the labor day weekend. We come to the area at least once a year for a few days getaway. We usually have stayed at the Arbor Inn in Skaneateles (a lovely place but pricey on the weekends!) but it was booked so took a chance on the Inn at the Fingerlakes. We got a good rate and were very pleased with the room ( room 203). Sue took our booking on the phone the day before and was very helpful.
We had booked a deluxe suite, well worth the bit of upgrade if you only need one bed. The fridge was handy for pop, etc. we didn't use the microwave. There are no king beds anywhere in the inn (which we were disappointed in initially) . The suite was exactly as the inn's website shows. We were surprized that it was so very new-looking, the carpets and furnature look like they were put there yesterday, the towels were fluffy, the bedding nice. The bed had a large "leather" headboard that matched the ottoman/coffee table in the living area. Lots of drawers and a closet for storage if you needed it.
There were lots of little extras that I didn't expect for a hotel room at this price. The bathroom had a "heat lamp" that you could turn on so it is warm when getting out of the shower, there is a automatic nightlight in the bathroom. The soap provided was a nice quality and a bigger bar than usually provided.
The TV was huge, the biggest I have seen in a hotel room. It was mounted on the wall and could easily be seen from the bed or sitting area. There were many channels and HBO movies.
The window in the room opened, we liked getting the fresh air in. The window seat was big and comfy enough to actually stretch out on with a book.... really!
We were not at the hotel during the "wine reception", held from 5-7 on weekdays, I believe.
There is a computer in the lobby that guests could use to check e-mails, etc.
The breakfast was a typical continental. Not great, but enough to get you going. We have had much better at Hampton inns or Holiday inn express. There was a toaster to cook bagels (only one kind) and only brown, pretty stale bread to toast. They had coffee, juice, cold boiled eggs, yogart and a few kinds of cerial. There were some muffins again that were pretty stale (had been frozen) and crumbled badly when I tried to cut into it. They had a few tables to sit outside but there were many bees that would join you so no one sat there although the weather was lovely.
As I said, we come to this area often. We enjoy the shopping at the outlet mall (about 20 minutes away), the Fingerlakes mall (I like Bath and Body works, my husband likes the Bass outdoor shop there) and Kohl's (about a 5 minute drive). Nearby Skaneateles (5-10 minute drive) is lovely, this time we did one of the book cruises that leave from the pier there (info is in the hotel lobby). It was great, it was fun to oogle the awazing homes you could see along the lakefront. The Sherwood inn or Bluewater grill by the water in Skateateles are both nice and inexpensive places to eat. We always take in a movie at the Fingerlakes mall cinemas.
The hotel does not have very much within walking distance (Auburn seems a bit of an industrial town..?) but is a good central location for driving to shopping, and visiting nearby Skaneateles. The hotel is attractive from the outside and has a very well lit parking lot.
We would highly recommend this Inn as a central point for exploring the area or for a shopping trip expecially if you are not wanting to spend the money for a higher priced Inn or B & B in the area. You will be pleasantly surprized!!
We are planning another visit in the spring and will likely choose this location again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamiltontraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

We went to the finger lakes last weekend (2009/08/22), stayed at this hotel for one night. Very nice hotel, well maintained, clean and beautiful room, friendly staff. They’ll do the little extra to meet your needs. Good continental buffet. Looked at Trip advisor before booking and was a little bit afraid about the older comments concerning the hotel, dating from 2006, 2007. I suppose that these comments we’re done before a major renovation because our stay was just perfect. Very nice place to stay if you want to visit the region. Many good restaurants near by, walking distance or at a very short drive. Overall very happy with the place and no problem recommending it.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MIPEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

What a great experience. We travel with our two dogs, and the staff could not have been nicer to the people or the dogs. Everything is extremely clean and well-maintained. The room was spacious, with a sitting area, a large TV, refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker. Complimentary Finger Lakes beer and wine in the evening; and the complimentary breakfast is very nice. Located in downtown Auburn. One of the nicest places I have stayed in a long time, and a good value. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cincinnatus58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
4.8 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
720 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.6 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
13.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
#1 of 4 in Seneca Falls
652 reviews
11.1 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Seneca Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Finger Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Finger Lakes

Address: 12 Seminary Ave, Auburn, NY 13021-2749
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range: £56 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at the Finger Lakes 2.5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at the Finger Lakes Hotel in Auburn offers lodging and accommodations for vacations and getaways in the Finger Lakes wine region of New York. The Finger Lakes region is known for its distinctive wineries and the Inn at the Finger Lakes is located near many - all found along the Cayuga and Seneca Wine Trails. We are near historical, cultural and recreational points of interest including Skaneateles Lake, Owasco Lake, Harriet Tubman House and William Seward House. Visitors can shop til they drop at Bass Pro Shop, MacKenzie-Child's Pottery, Waterloo Premium Outlets, Carousel Mall, Macys and Marshalls as well as a variety of local antique shops and farmers markets that offer a unique and varied shopping experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Odigeo so you can book your Inn at the Finger Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Finger Lakes Hotel Auburn
Finger Lakes Hotel
Hotel At The Finger Lakes
Inn At The Finger Lakes Auburn, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing