We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful, relaxing spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Wicher Garden Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auburn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Wicher Garden Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Auburn B&B and Inns
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful, relaxing spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Kudos to A Wicher Garden B&B for making our stay so wonderful! Every detail was carefully considered and attended to, the breakfasts were absolutely perfect -- healthy and delicious, and our hosts generous and friendly.
A very relaxing setting that we all enjoyed, including our little dog.

Room Tip: The Lodge Room feels like you're in the Adirondacks - delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeWeisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    8
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
13
114
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Thank you Gail & Gary for a very pleasant stay, you really made us feel at home and the breakfasts were amazing! We have recommended you to our friends who could be visiting the area in the future. Hope the pets are doing fine and that Bella is not missing Neil too much. Best wishes for the future.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GailandGary, Owner at A Wicher Garden Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
Thank you so much Neil and Eileen, we certainly enjoyed your pleasant company. I am so happy you enjoyed our breakfasts here, we have heard that food in the UK is a bit different from the states, we have never traveled there ourselves, but we do try to be as accommodating as we can. Thank you for your recommendations to your friends, we so appreciate it! If they are as lovely as you both we are sure to enjoy having them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

The Inn is in pleasant surroundings, the room was ok, as Gail mentioned the bed end was low and very hard.
Very off putting when the first thing you notice are 'DONT NOTICES'
I made it very clear to Gail I don't like sweet food, breakfast was Fruit ok followed by a very sweet soggy small muffin with a lump of chocolate in the middle. 2nd breakfast was similar failed muffin but in a ramekin followed by an egg dish small and tasteless. I was asked if I wanted more but couldn't face the thought of it.
Don't like animals jumping on chairs while I'm eating.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GailandGary, Owner at A Wicher Garden Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 June 2013
While we are happy this guest found the surroundings and room pleasant, it is very sad to see that unbeknownst to us, their overall experience was apparently not up to their expectations. We we advised that they didn't like "sweet" food in advance. Because of this we made every effort to tell them each morning what was on the regular menu for that morning and offer them options, as we do for all of our guests, that they could have eggs any style, or oatmeal, or toast instead of the main course. No one is forced to eat any food that they don't want. All of our guests are advised in advance that there are cats in residence here, and yes, sometimes they come into the dining room to visit. If a guest has a problem with that all they have to do is let us know and the pet will be immediately removed of course. We want all our guests to be comfortable. With regards to the "Don't" notices we admit to being thoroughly confused as there is not a single notice with that word on it in this entire house. Either we are being confused with another property or they may be referring to a small note we put by the doors recommending that for energy savings we do ask that air conditioner units not be left on all day when the guest is leaving for the entire day. I have since removed that note lest anyone else be offended by that. And we certainly do not understand why this guest gave a less than satisfactory rating on cleanliness and service since no mention at all was made of this in their review, nor any complaint in this area. We have impeccably clean rooms and are on-site owners. We check in every guest and try to provide for all their needs for dining and sightseeing etc. right at that time. As a matter of fact every guest who stays here is told we can be reached 24 hours a day for any questions, directions, or needs at all, we have an innkeeper bell right in the main dining room and we leave our number to be reached if we are out. We certainly hope our friends from the UK found the rest of their travels in the US pleasant, as did Neil and Eileen (UK) who stayed with us a just a couple days later!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

We stayed at Wicher Garden B&B for my 30th birthday while doing the Cayuga Wine Trail! We had such a great time. The property was beautiful and well taken care of! We enjoyed the outdoor cat! Breakfasts were amazing! They were unforgettable! Gail had a wonderful coffee/tea set up for 24/7 use. I especially enjoyed the Vanilla Chai! She also had homemade cookies out! Mmmm! We truly were feeling as if this was our home away from home. We stayed in the Rose Room. Everything about it was fantastic! I loved that every time we walked in we smelled roses. I am hoping that one day we will make it back there again! I highly recommend this B&B. :)

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristin430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

My fiancee and I needed a place to stay that had a relaxing atmosphere! This was very relaxing for us! Gail and Gary were so accomadating and friendly; GAIL cooks such delicious food! We were treated as if we were FAMILY! I cant say enough about this bed and breakfast! We are already planning a future vacation getaway for the end of summer or early fall.

Room Tip: The garden room has a great view and was very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GailandGary, Owner at A Wicher Garden Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 March 2013
This was Marilee's first stay at a B&B, she even told me that when her fiancee suggested it she did not know what it was! So we are very happy your getaway was relaxing and enjoyable. We hope we have turned you from a "hotel" person to a B&B convert in the future now that you know what a great experience it can be!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horseheads, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2013

A Wicher Garden Inn was chosen very carefully, from among many Finger Lakes B&B's, for our Honeymoon. My wife and I truly enjoyed every second together of our trip to this beautiful, well cared for Inn. When we arrived Gail warmly greeeted us at the door and guided us through a painless check-in process. She gave an informative room tour and then left us to begin exploring our cosy room that we would be spending our first weekend together as husband and wife. Every amenity that we could think of was already included in the room, and we actually were very pleasently suprised to find so much at our disposal. The bed was very comfortable and romantic in its dressing. The private bath included our favorite feature, an over-sized two-person whirlpool tub,and a compact freezer/refrigerator.

The following morning we had a very delicious brekfast (both mornings we were there actually), served in an intimate cozy dining area. Every consideration was taken to make sure our expectations were met for our meals. We were so pleased with there very nice service throughout the entire breakfast.

The rustic/romantic country setting was perfect for the busy pre-marriage life we were excited to escape, and A Wicher Garden Inn exceed everything we were hoping for. We will be very happy to support Gary and Gail again in the future with another, hopefully longer, stay!

Room Tip: Rose Room highly recommended for couples, for it's privacy, sweet atmosphere, and abundant ameni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GailandGary, Owner at A Wicher Garden Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
What a cute couple! We love honeymooners as they truly represent our goal of "Happy Memories are made Here". Best wishes for a beautiful new life together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2013

Gail and Gary were excellent hosts while we stayed with them on New Years Eve. Our room was cozy and breakfast in the morning was great. We were served a yummy breakfast in the small dining room on New Years Day. We had a great visit and look forward to staying with Gaily and Gary again.

Room Tip: The Garden Room is the only one that allows dogs to stay with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen_S470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GailandGary, Owner at A Wicher Garden Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 25 February 2013
Isn't New Year's Eve great, the perfect time for a special holiday getaway to a B&B. So glad you enjoyed and hope some very special memories were made here!!
Gail and Gary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
2.6 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
12.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
#1 of 4 in Seneca Falls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
5.0 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
2.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region
1.8 mi away
10 Fitch Luxurious Romantic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Wicher Garden Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Wicher Garden Bed & Breakfast

Property: A Wicher Garden Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5831 Dunning Ave, Auburn, NY 13021-9836
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxing porches, nature walks and outdoor Hot Tub Spa. Artist designed rooms are all private with pillowtop beds, luxury linens, Heat and AC, free wireless internet, TV/DVD, CD player and en-suite baths. Whirlpool baths in King Rooms. Fingerlakes Information Center and Restaurant Menu Guide Book in house. Full breakfast served, all rooms non-smoking. A short drive to Wine Trails, Auburn Historic Sites, scenic Skaneateles Village, Seneca Falls, Ithaca gorges and three Finger Lakes within 15 minute drive or less. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A Wicher Garden Bed & Breakfast Auburn, Finger Lakes, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing