We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wicher Garden is Wonderful!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auburn
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
A Wicher Garden Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 5 Auburn B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 November 2008

This place is everything a B & B should be. Comfortable rooms with interesting decoration themes. The whole house is a collector's dream come true with all the interesting knick-knacks and art deco. Breakfast is top notch and Gail & Gary (the hosts) are wonderful, down-to-earth people. Plenty of brochures of things to do and menus of local restaurants available in the living room. The surrounding area is quite beautiful (even though it was November when we were there). There are numerous wineries nearby to visit and sample. I highly recommend staying there.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M-C-Hogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2008

I took my husband to Auburn for his birthday because we are considering retiring to the area. We booked the Garden Room at Wicher Garden Bed and Breakfast based on the website and the availability of wireless internet (a must-have for my husband!). Everything about it exceeded our wildest dreams! The room was comfortable, the tub was to die for, the breakfasts lived up to every good thing written about them -- particularly recommend the blueberry/cream cheese/french toast strata. My vegetarianism was accommodated with no problem, my daughter called ahead and arranged a gift certificate for dinner at a local restaurant Gail recommended (and it, too, was outstanding!). We loved the appearances of the resident pets and the help and knowledge of the hosts on area routes and sites. The best thing, however, was the terrific conversation and company of Gail, Gary, and the other guests who were there at the time. Altogether an outstanding experience, and we definitely hope (no, make that plan) to return!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Bookwoman090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed. We loved the Rose Room and it felt like home and an oasis for us as we celebrated our anniversary. The food was excellent, the room was great, and we enjoyed all the amenities. Gail and Gary are great hosts concerned for our comfort and our needs as well as the other guests. A Wicher Garden is truly a garden setting.-Gary and Charlotte

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Citycousins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2008

"A Wicher Garden B&B" was a true home away from home. The owners Gary and Gail made sure our stay was worth the money.
The breakfast was not just cereal but a fabulous meal.
The bed was more than comfortable and the entire place was clean and appealing.
I would book again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ducksds2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2008

This is a great B&B only minutes from the center of Auburn. We were there to visit our son working at the Merry-go-round Theater. We stayed in the Pine Lodge room and it looked just like the picture (though I swear the fish on the wall was in a different spot :-)) It is one of the smaller rooms but plenty big for two people. They had the Softest bathrobes I've even felt. Unfortunately the day we planned to spend with our son hiking it poured rain, so after visiting a few wineries we came back to the inn and enjoyed the huge porch to visit. We had bought snacks and Gail was kind enough to supply us with the utensils/plates we needed to enjoy. Gail thinks of everything you could need to have a great time and is willing to offer advice on what to do. Breakfasts were wonderful!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spny84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2008

Wicher Garden is a small, charming, romantic little B&B located in the Finger Lakes wine region of New York State. The host/owner is a charming young couple (compared with my companion and me).

All the rooms are lovely - we peeked in the other rooms, too. English bed linens, soft fluffy bath towels with substance, antiques and clever use of space and decoration.

Gail and her hubby cook and serve a "mean" breakfast that varies from day to day. All fresh, all just cooked, including home made muffins. Good stuff!!!

I wanted this weekend to be just right for my girlfriend. It was her birthday.

I probably was a pain to Gail - asking her to have fresh lilacs in our room - which of the 20 or 30 or 40 or more wineries should we visit over the weekend? - which are the good historic places to visit? - to recommend and make reservations at good/great restaurants...I rent the room for two nights and want a tour director, too. Well guess what, they did it - not one but two bouquets of lilacs, two superb restaurants, three good vineyards, one great old Mansion with an interesting history lesson thrown in (William Seward's home in Auburn) and some local color.

By the way, taking an early morning (we did it at sunrise) walk around the inn and local farms is great, too. Sunrise was special, the walk not too strenuous and we saw quite a few birds. Surprisingly, not one driver tried to hit us as we walked along the road - Being an old NY City native I don't understand this kind of driver behavior. (:-)>

Overall a super winner. Thanks Mr. & Mrs Wicher!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SilverFox40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2007

This was our very first stay at a B&B and Gail and Gary immediately put us at ease. They greeted my partner and I all smiles at the front door and from that moment on we were treated to the most lovely stay we've ever had on a vacation. The multi-course breakfasts were absolutely to die for!! Our room was immaculate and gorgeous. It truly felt like we were staying with good friends. If and when we travel to the Finger Lakes again, there's no question as to where we will be staying. The Wichers are gems who know how to meet then surpass the needs of their customers.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank FilmGrrl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
2.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
6.5 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
733 reviews
1.8 mi away
10 Fitch Luxurious Romantic Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Whispering Winds Motel
2.6 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
2.3 mi away
Super 8 Auburn
Super 8 Auburn
#6 of 7 in Auburn
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Wicher Garden Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Wicher Garden Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5831 Dunning Ave, Auburn, NY 13021-9836
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Auburn
Price Range: £105 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relaxing porches, nature walks and outdoor Hot Tub Spa. Artist designed rooms are all private with pillowtop beds, luxury linens, Heat and AC, free wireless internet, TV/DVD, CD player and en-suite baths. Whirlpool baths in King Rooms. Fingerlakes Information Center and Restaurant Menu Guide Book in house. Full breakfast served, all rooms non-smoking. A short drive to Wine Trails, Auburn Historic Sites, scenic Skaneateles Village, Seneca Falls, Ithaca gorges and three Finger Lakes within 15 minute drive or less. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A Wicher Garden Bed & Breakfast Auburn, Finger Lakes, NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing