We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel Ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Days Inn Auburn/Finger Lakes Region
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Brooklyn, NY
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Worst Hotel Ever!”
Reviewed 14 November 2005

This was the first hotel my fiance' and I stayed at during our road trip to the Finger Lakes this pass summmer and it was by far the worst hotel I've ever stayed at in all categories.

They charge your credit card for the full amount of your stay upon check-in and for good reason - no one would otherwise pay the bill.

Our exciting evening began with the sight of peeling paint and dirty carpets and continued with a roach crawling between us as we were watching television on the bed. Further fun and games included a blacket that was too small for the queen mattress and had a cigarette hole (this was a non-smoking room). The highlight of was the pointy, rusty screw we found made into our bed (under the sheet)when we turned in to go to sleep for the night (hoping the night would pass as quickly as possible). Even the non-responsive staff front desk looked a little embarassed when we plunked the screw down on the front desk upon checking out the desk morning.

Do not even _think_ about staying at this hotel, no matter how cheap the room rate looks. It wouldn't be worth it, if it were free.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
75 Thank esqknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    79
    75
    57
    84
See reviews for
122
96
27
52
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 November 2005

My wife and I booked this hotel through Hotels and thought we would be getting a affordable stay at a Days Inn standard hotel. Boy, were we disappointed. Here is a list of hidden features of the hotel:

- an unflushed toilet upon entry to the bathroom
- mould on all walls of the bathroom
- pubic hair in the shower
- wall paper peeling off the bedroom walls
- a musty carpet
- stained sheets on the bed
- a joke contentental breakfast (coffee, milk and branflakes - thats it!!!!)
- a generally dark and dingy hotel


We had a two night reservation and stayed only one night in disgust. We asked to be moved to a cleaner room. The second room had most of the problems listed above plus a noisy ice machine outdide the door. A word of advice, do not stay here no matter how cheap they offer their rooms.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
65 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auburn hotels

Albany, NY
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2005

All of the basics for the value; on a quiet street. Could have used better directions. The room and bathroom were clean and the air conditioning worked great. Fine for a day or two. No restaurants within walking distance but several nearby. June 25, 2005

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank DZsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 19 September 2004

CAN I GIVE THIS LESS THAN ONE CIRCLE! This dump was terrible, and it was supposedly remodeled! We stayed here in early Sept. of 2004. The bathroom had mold growing on the ceiling and around the bathtub. The bathtub was all stained and filthy. The walls in the tub enclosure didn't line up....as if water got behind it and made it bevel. The counter in the bathroom was stained and flithy, at first I thought it was all stains....but then I washed it and some filth came off. The towels had hard crusty stuff on them and were also stained. The sheets were stained with what looked like blood on one. The towels and sheets had hair on them. The box spring on one bed was all ripped. We saw a few bugs and spiders as soon as we entered. My daughter came out of the shower and said she felt dirty and went in feeling clean. We were supposed to stay 3 nights...we cancelled our reservations and went to Microtel after one night of horrible sleep.

Helpful?
60 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
0.5 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
13.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Seneca Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region
5.1 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
713 reviews
21.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Auburn/Finger Lakes Region? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Auburn/Finger Lakes Region

Property: Days Inn Auburn/Finger Lakes Region
Address: 37 William St, Auburn, NY 13021-3728
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Auburn
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Auburn/Finger Lakes Region 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Days Inn Auburn/Finger Lakes Region reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Auburn/Finger Lakes Region Hotel Auburn
Days Inn Auburn/Finger Lakes Region NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing