We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was good, but the rooms were horrible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Booked this hotel during our trip to the finger lakes region on Memorial Day weekend.
The room was old, the bed was uncomfortable and shower was clogged. Had to call the service desk to get the shower fixed. Got a room near the Pool and there were people around the pool even at 1AM in night. requested a room change, was told all the rooms were booked as there was a wedding. The room doesn't match the price that was charged for it.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms around the pool
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SrajK83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonny k, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2013

Dear SrajK83.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and to share your feedback regarding your most recent visit with us. We are truly saddened that your stay was anything less than satisfactory. Our guest's comfort and security is extremely important to us and we always look for ways to ensure all of our valued guests have a fantastic stay. Your feedback is extremely important to us as it is our goal to be constantly improving our services and products to meet and exceed our guest’s expectations.
Thank you again for your review and we certainly hope that you would allow us the opportunity to be of service again on your future visits.
Sonny K
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed for a couple nights with a group wedding guest discount. The room was fine, clean but a bit outdated. The biggest disappointment for me was the fitness room, which consisted of two old treadmills (one was out of order), a step machine, an old bench, and some rusty weights. For me, that was the deal breaker. Otherwise, I'd stay again if it was convenient, but would never pick to go back there either.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paigeonsaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonny k, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Guest,
We sincerely appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We do apologize that our workout facility was lacking the level of equipment that you have come to expect from us. I am happy to report that we are starting a renovation project soon, and will be able to exceed our valued guest’s expectations in all areas going forward. I certainly hope that you would give us the opportunity to show you first-hand how seriously we take our guests feedback. I look forward to meeting you next time you are in our neck of the woods.
Thank you again for your review.
Sonny Karimi General Manager Holiday Inn Auburn Finger Lake

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I cannot understand how anyone can rate this hotel anything short of a dump. Checked in on Thursday, October 3 for a wedding. I left the hotel an hour later after seeing 2 rooms. 1st room was DIRTY as in there were wet towels on the floor of the room and someone had never cleaned it. Room was run down and in need of renovation. Was moved to another room. Unacceptable. Stains all over the carpeting and it smelled. Mildew in bathroom. I looked at the bedspread and my skin crawled. We returned to the front desk and left the hotel at 1am and went out into Auburn on our own and found a much better hotel. This is NOT Holiday Inn standards. The common areas of the hotel are old and run down. I felt uncomfortable just walking the halls. In need of TOTAL TOP TO BOTTOM RENOVATION.

Room Tip: Book at the Hilton Garden Inn two blocks away.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bnldavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonny k, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us. We are saddened by the fact that your experience was not up to your standards. Although we strive to ensure the satisfaction of all our valued guests, it seems that we perhaps fell short of your expectations this time. For that we sincerely apologize and hope that you would give us the opportunity to be of service again. We are confident that your future stays with us will be pleasantly memorable as we are in the process of upgrading our guest rooms and well as multiple other areas of the hotel. Though as I am sure you can imagine it may take a little time for all the upgrades to be completed. We appreciate our guest’s feedback as we consider them the most important tool for us to continuously improve on our services and products. See you on your next visit.
Sincerely,
Sonny Karimi General Manager Holiday Inn Auburn Finger Lakes Region.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Celia C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
sonny k, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 16 September 2013

The whole facility needs a complete makeover. It's basically a clean hotel but when I checked in yesterday, 9-15-13 at 5:30 PM the hallway on the third floor needed a major vacuuming.

The rooms are clean but old fashioned. Water tastes like there's a lot of chlorine in it.

The breakfast was good. Since it's not an HIE, there is a restaurant which serves breakfast which was good.

Coffee comes out of a Nescafé machine so across the street is a DD.

Convenient to highways but I would look around first.

They're is an indoor pool in the center of the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BusdriverPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonny k, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Auburn. We apologize about the fact that your experience with us was not completely satisfactory. We do hold our guest’s feedback at high value. I am confident that your next visit with us will be utterly pleasant as we are starting the plans for upcoming upgrades to our guest rooms in the near future. We appreciate our guest’s comments as they are the most important tool for us to gage our products and services. We appreciate your time and your feedback, and hope to see you soon.

Sonny Karimi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The hotel itself is really nice. the lobby the surroundings, but the rooms are not as nice. My room would have been 100x better had the shower curtain not smelled. the shower curtains have smell of mildew. It is disgusting. The whole room smelled. It is the first thing i noticed when i walked in the room. The bathroom ceiling needs to be painted as it is moldy. The beds are extremely comfy. Since i am not paying for the room i am letting it go and did not complain to mgmt, plus i was extremely exhausted having worked 12+ hours. i'm a bit disappointed as i felt that holiday inns would be a better hotel than most. the other thing i don't like is there is no free breakfast! i like my free breakfast especially when you are working so you don't have to go out and find breakfast. there is a restaraunt on site but i'm not paying what they charge for a piece of toast and fruit.

Room Tip: a room that doesn't have smelly curtain.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonny k, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Auburn.
I assure you that our guest’s comfort is our first priority. It seems that we may have fallen short of what you have come to expect from our brand. For that we are truly saddened, and we apologize. We have addressed the challenges that you have mentioned and are happy to report that this issue will be a nonexistent matter going forward. I certainly hope that you would give us the opportunity to have you experience the true level of service that we strive for. We also have rates that include our breakfast and are very cost effective. Please feel welcome to take advantage of our packages on your next visit.
Thank you again for your feedback.

Sonny K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This was one of the nicer Holiday Inns we have stayed at. Our room very big and overlooked the pool but it did not have a chlorine smell which was nice. We had a king size bed that was extremely uncomfortable. My wife and I were hoping for a good nights sleep but awoke to very sore backs. I did mention this at the front desk as we checked out but who knows if anything will be done to correct it.
This hotel is also pet friendly, has a large parking lot and a restaurant. We had breakfast in the morning but were a little disappointed with the portion of the meal. They did offer a buffet but we chose to get a plated meal instead.
Overall, if I was in the area again, I may look at other options due to the poor nights sleep. We are IHG rewards members but I would rather pay money for a good bed than a redeem a free night and wake up sore.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rodman4e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonny k, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
We always look forward to hearing from our guests. We believe that our guest’s feedback is extremely important and will allow us to emphasize on opportunities. I am sorry that your night’s sleep was not as pleasant as it should have been. We are indeed in the process of planning a renovation which would include the updated to our guest room beds. I certainly hope, and look forward to having you stay with us again to be able to provide a memorable experience for you.
Thank you again for taking the time to five us your feedback.
Sonny K

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
0.2 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
5.0 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
13.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Waterloo-Seneca Falls
7.0 mi away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region

Address: 75 North St, Auburn, NY 13021-2503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Auburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range: £80 - £171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Auburn, NY is located in the heart of the spectacular Finger Lakes Region of Central New York. Come take a swim in our indoor-heated pool or relax with dinner and cocktails in McMurphy's Authentic Irish Pub. When you stay with us, you can enjoy shopping at Waterloo Premium Outlets and Bass Pro Shops, tour the wineries on the Cayuga Wine Trail and Seneca Wine Trail, visit our local historic sites, or enjoy a show at the new Merry-Go-Round Playhouse Finger Lakes Musical Theatre Festival. We are in the center of it all. Stay at the Auburn/Finger Lakes Holiday Inn and visit the scenic village of Skaneateles. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region Hotel Auburn
Auburn Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing