We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Having worked in a hotel and being responsible for reading our own reviews on Tripadvisor, I can say with certainty that not everything you read is true. However, this was my second, and last stay with the Holiday Inn Auburn.
My first trip was 2 years ago for a wedding, I had to move rooms several times due to mold in the shower. Finally, after seeing all possible options I had to choose the least moldy room to stay in. This time my experience was not any different, I didn't bother to change rooms because I knew others wouldn't be better. This time there were bugs on the bath room floor accompanied by someone else's left over hair. I asked for extra towels to stand on because I didn't want to walk barefoot on the floor.
Apart from cleanliness everything else was fine. No complaints from service stand points, with the exception that no one at the front desk welcomes you when you return or says goodbye when leaving. (I only expect it when you're not with someone else)
In addition, my fiancé is a hotel consultant who rates and passes or fails properties based on things like cleanliness and service. He said he would have failed this property over and over. Very disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonny k, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest. We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review regarding your stay with us. We are saddened that your experience was less than satisfactory. Our goal is to provide the service level that our guests have come to expect from us. Unfortunately it appears that we have fallen short of that goal during your stay. We are happy to report that the plans for renovation of our hotel is in place and we hope that we would have the opportunity to be able to have you stay with us again to show you first hand all the improvements that we will be making soon.
Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    120
    81
    50
    24
See reviews for
118
103
26
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I stayed at the Holiday Inn during a wedding weekend in the local Auburn, NY area. The check in process was very quick and we had no issues. The room is fairly basic and feels a little dated with the decor. Cleanliness was sub-par to other holiday inns I have stayed at before.

I was a bit surprised there wasn't even a continential breakfast offered and the breakfast they did offer was quite expensive for the food that you got in the end.

I stayed two nights with my wife and would probably recommend a different hotel if you don't mind paying for the Hilton down the street.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJ K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonny k, Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear CJ
Thank you for your comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millbury, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My husband and I were in Auburn New York to visit he Cayuga and Seneca Wine Trail. This particular Holiday Inn is older but very clean. The hotel rooms are spacious with a very comfortable bed. The hotel staff is very customer oriented, during our stay my husband had a dental emergency and they did everything they could to find us an available dentist. We ate at McMurphy's Irish Pub the first night we were there and we found that the waitstaff was not very attentive and the food was just okay. They definitely need to do something about the restaurant. But kudos to the hotel staff for making everyone feel welcome!

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor in a King Size room and it was very comfortable. Be prepared for a chlor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAC4861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonny k, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. We are thrilled that we were able to provide the level of service and experience that you have come to expect from us. We appreciate the time you have taken to encourage us with your kind feedback. We look forward to being of service the next time you are in our neck of the woods.
Sonny K
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
147 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were in Auburn NY for a wedding and thought this was a nice place to hang our hat. The staff at the front desk were super friendly, cordial and professional. It was what we had expected from the chain. They answered all of our questions about where to eat, sight see and do all of the touristy things in the area. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were bright and clean too. We did have some fuss with the remote control to the television, but I'm sure that was either wonky batteries in the remote or could've been remedied by a call down to the front desk- but when we're on a vacation, television is FAR down the list of importance of amenities.

Our only minor quibbles with the place was our proximity to the central pool area. Even though we were several floors up and a few doors away, we could still hear the guests in the pool area. Also coming to the room- the smell of chlorine permeated the place a little stronger than I would've preferred. I have no issues with places that have pools but I wish there was a way to segregate the noise and smell of those areas from the rest of the hotel.

The perks of this place beyond its great staff were the quick internet access, ample parking and central location to a lot of things in the area.

Room Tip: Get a room farther away from the central pool area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smogboy315
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonny k, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Smogboy315
we thank you for making us your hotel of choice during your recent stay. We trust our team was able to meet your travel needs. It's always encouraging to know that we were able to create a pleasant experience for you during your stay with us. Thank you again for your review.
Sonny K
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
255 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Good things were spacious room, comfortable bed, and digital TV. Beyond that this hotel is very seriously in need of renovation. The carpets are dark, dingy and dirty. The common spaces in the hotel are out of date and shabby including the very dark and dingy McMurphy's irish pub. They better do something quick because there is a new Hilton Garden very close and that will be our place to stay the next time in town. Be advised if you leave any personal items on the bed like a ipad, the maid will not make the bed. Must be some sort of paranoid policy. She also forgot to clean the room, dump the trash and refresh the coffee. We had breakfast on Sunday morning which was terrible. Example; the mushrooms that they used for the omelets were black and the broccoli many days gone bye. We shall not plan return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nolantho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonny k, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest. We appreciate the time you have taken to write a review regarding your stay with us. We are saddened that your experience was less than satisfactory. Our goal is to provide the service level that our guests have come to expect from us. Unfortunately it appears that we have fallen short of that goal during your stay. We are happy to report that the plans for renovation of our hotel is in place and we hope that we would have the opportunity to be able to have you stay with us again to show you first hand all the improvements that we will be making soon.
Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Auburn hotels

Montgomery County, NY
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

The best feature of this hotel was the staff... Front desk, mgmt, banquet staff and housekeeping... Everyone was friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and comfy, and pet friendly! The cooling system could have been better in our room, but it wasn't awful. Pub offers good food. I've stayed her more than once and would go back. Like refrigerator and microwave in room. Wegman's market nearby offer's good options.

Room Tip: Avoid a poolside room if you want to relax during the day in your room. There are 2 or 3 elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Izzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonny k, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this review, 27 May 2014
We are certainly glad that we had the opportunity to be of service during your visit. I appreciate the feedback as it allows us to improve on any small yet important challenges that we may have. Our goal is and always will be to provide the best level of service and products to our valued guests. With that, our guest's feedback is extremely important to us. We are glad that we were able to make up your delay at the desk by being able to treat you to our breakfast. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014

My experience at this hotel was excellent. The service from staff was excellent from the General Manager to the desk clerks to the dining experiences to the house keepers. The food was excellent. The bed was phenomenal. The pool was awesome. Just a great stay! Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keeping-It-Real-Dude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonny k, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,
We sincerely appreciate your review and the time you have dedicated in giving us your feedback. we are extremely happy that our team was able to create a relaxing and pleasant experience for you. We look forward to seeing you again soon.Thank you again for your encouraging review.
Sonny K
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
0.2 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
5.0 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Skaneateles Suites Boutique Hotel
6.2 mi away
Finger Lakes Lodging
Finger Lakes Lodging
#5 of 7 in Skaneateles
89 reviews
21.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region

Property: Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region
Address: 75 North St, Auburn, NY 13021-2503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Auburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Auburn, NY is located in the heart of the spectacular Finger Lakes Region of Central New York. Come take a swim in our indoor-heated pool or relax with dinner and cocktails in McMurphy's Authentic Irish Pub. When you stay with us, you can enjoy shopping at Waterloo Premium Outlets and Bass Pro Shops, tour the wineries on the Cayuga Wine Trail and Seneca Wine Trail, visit our local historic sites, or enjoy a show at the new Merry-Go-Round Playhouse Finger Lakes Musical Theatre Festival. We are in the center of it all. Stay at the Auburn/Finger Lakes Holiday Inn and visit the scenic village of Skaneateles. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region Hotel Auburn
Auburn Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing