We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We arrived around 11 pm and the service was fast and they got us a ground floor room to store our mountain bikes in! The pool was very large too! I didn't like the ice machine on the second floor...Odd but I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 422 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

We stayed here on a Saturday night, while attending a wedding in the area. Unfortunately, we didn't preview amenities since this was the hotel reserved by the wedding couple. Since the Holiday Inn has a fairly good reputation, we thought everything would be fine. The hotel was beautiful and very clean and the staff was friendly. However, several "little" things added up to a big disappointment for us.

Their check-in time was very late -- 3:00 -- and the wedding started at 3:00. Along with many other guests, we arrived early in order to change into our wedding attire after traveling. We had hoped for an early check-in, but the staff said "No" and they wouldn't budge. They said they had to "get their housekeeping staff together," whatever that means. Consequently, we had to change our clothes in the public restrooms -- not an easy feat. We were off to a bad start because they couldn't grant us this small courtesy.

When we booked the room, we were told we were getting the "wedding rate." On our return trip, we stopped at a rest area and got a copy of "Hotel Coupons.com" and discovered that we actually paid MORE than the usual Friday/Saturday rate, which is $159.00! We didn't get a wedding rate after all, and we feel that all the guests were duped. They wouldn't have known this unless they saw a copy of this booklet.

Check-out time was at 11:00 a.m.; however, at 10:00 a.m. the housekeepers were knocking on our door. We were not ready to leave yet!

Last, but not least, we were also disappointed to find out that breakfast wasn't included at such a big, pricey hotel. We, like most travelers, look forward to and expect this amenity; it's a big plus.

All of these things may not seem so bad, but put them all together and they make for a big letdown. We stayed at the Holiday Inn for the convenience of getting a shuttle to the wedding site and to be with the other guests. In retrospect, we would have been better off if we'd looked around the area to find another hotel or motel. In the past, we thought highly of the Holiday Inn, but our feelings have changed. Yes, little things do mean a lot.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marion D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Dear Marion D,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We visit Auburn a couple of times a year and were unable to get into the hotel we wanted to so thought we would take a chance on this Hotel we used to use all the time. We stayed for 4 days and had booked though a booking service and prepaid. When we arrived the reservation was there but in a room with 2 double beds.. We asked to be changed to a king bed and were told there would be a charge of 10. to 20. dollars per night. We agreed to the charge and then were told a new story that the only way to do this was to cancel the previous reservation and apply for a refund which could take up to 2 plus weeks.We would then have to pay again for the new room. We said we would use what we had in the reservation. I was a little suspicious of the story and subsequently wrote the booking company who advised there was nothing in their rules that would preclude the hotel from changing us to a different room, they indicated a charge might may be applied.As we had agreed to the charge all we can think is the Manager did not want to bothered with the effort and dreamed up the story.
The next morning I looked for the complimentary paper which is normally delivered. It was not there. I went down to the front desk and was advised they do not deliver papers to the rooms. I suggested that the desk clerk go up to our floor and look at the papers in front of the doors of most of the rooms. He suggested I pick a paper up from the desk around the corner. There were none there. I went back to the front desk and said as the papers were not delivered to rooms I would just get mine on our floor. I have no idea why this story would be fabricated. Dreaming up stories seems to be their policy
The room itself was clean except the carpet needed a good cleaning as could the rest of the rugs on our floor. The windows in our room had a blown seal and water was running between the panes which obscured our view. We did notice that many other windows in the hotel had blown seals and were difficult to see out.
The smell of chlorine from the indoor pool was very strong in the hallways.
Maid service was almost non-existent, We were out all day and evening on 3 of the days but on our 3rd day we stopped at the hotel in the afternoon and saw the maid and asked her to freshen towels,soap and bed linens.
In general we would not recommend this hotel and certainly not for anything over one night taken in desperation. They appear disorganized, ill informed and not interested in good customer service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank RACEFAN4888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonny k, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Guest.
Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay with us. Our goal is to ensure that all of our guests have the best experience during their visit. It is also very important to us to cater to our guest’s needs and address their concerns, should they have any during their stay. It is evident that we did not meet your expectations. For that we truly apologize. we hope to have the opportunity to be of service again and to win you over with our enhanced services.
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

The staff at check in were lovely and very professional. Our room was nice. The bathroom was desperately in need of repair. There was a hole in the back of the door from the door stop. The door barely shut tight and when it did, you couldn't open it. There were cracks in the countertop and in the tile floor. Our fire alarm went off three times when we showered because the steam from showering. The fan did not work in the bathroom. The entrance doors to the rooms from outside did not lock for security when they said they would. This caused me concern as we were on the ground floor. On the plus side, the beds and pillows were comfy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NFONjella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonny k, Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the restaurant.
I am sorry to hear the shortcomings you have encountered in your room. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience and dissatisfaction this has caused you. I assure you that this is not the standard in our hotel as we always strive to provide comfortable accommodations. With this is mind, your comments will be used to target opportunity areas.
The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The Auburn Holiday Inn is once again consistent in providing good food and a pleasant atmosphere for our organization's luncheon. The staff is adept at providing what we need, both the food and the room requirements. Their willingness to meet us more than halfway in providing things like a microphone, dais, and other items needed for the least possible cost make our yearly event a pleasure. We were able to enjoy a robust deli luncheon that included low sodium items as we had requested. When we arrived, staff was on hand to ensure we had what was needed, and take care of any last minute details. As always, a very pleasant and worry free experience!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank sgcruise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sonny k, General Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.
It is extremely heart warming to hear from our guests and to see that we have made a pleasant and memorable impact during your stay. Traveling on vacation or for business, it is our goal for all of our guests to love our hotel. We look forward to being of service again and hope to see you soon. We certainly appreciate your feedback and your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The staff was friendly and the facility was nice. The restaurant (we only had breakfast) was fine, and they had nice fruit-infused water in the lobby. However, our room really smelled bad. It was not apparent when we checked in, as they apparently masked it with a healthy dose of room freshener. However, later, as we re-entered the room, we began to recognize an undeniable odor. By late night, after we were settled in and unwilling to re-pack, we realized the place smelled like someone's dirty gym clothes. It just got worse from there. By the time we returned from breakfast in the morning, it was unbearable. Fortunately, we only stayed for one day!

Room Tip: Give it a good whiff before you unpack!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank cocobch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear cocobch,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your recent stay. I appreciate the compliments on the staff and the level of service provided. It encourages our team members to work even harder and consistently delight our guests. I would also like to apologize for the dissatisfaction you had experienced due to the undesirable smell in the room. Rest assured that the issues you have raised have been documented and will be forwarded to the appropriate departments for necessary actions.

Once again, thank you for staying and we all hope to have an opportunity to serve you again on your next future visit.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This place was a joke.--told no animals allowed-then just 1 floor. then they were all over the place -dogs barking in am-dogs barking pm.. Won't do this again. All we want is a clean room in which no flea carrying animals have stayed.If you have an animal-keep it home. Let it do it's animal things there.Really-really dissappointed

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank frank m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear frank m,

Thank you for posting a review of our property. I am sorry to learn that you were disappointed with your stay due to the accommodations and noise levels, as we always strive to provide a unique experience to all our guests. Nevertheless, I sincerely hope that you will afford us another opportunity to showcase our usual levels of service. Once again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auburn
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Auburn
0.2 mi away
Inn at the Finger Lakes
5.0 mi away
Skaneateles Suites
Skaneateles Suites
#1 of 7 in Skaneateles
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Waterloo-Seneca Falls
21.4 mi away
Ramada Plaza Geneva Lakefront Resort
13.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
Hampton Inn Seneca Falls
#1 of 4 in Seneca Falls
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region

Address: 75 North St, Auburn, NY 13021-2503
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > Finger Lakes > Auburn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Auburn
Price Range: £81 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Auburn, NY is located in the heart of the spectacular Finger Lakes Region of Central New York. Come take a swim in our indoor-heated pool or relax with dinner and cocktails in McMurphy's Authentic Irish Pub. When you stay with us, you can enjoy shopping at Waterloo Premium Outlets and Bass Pro Shops, tour the wineries on the Cayuga Wine Trail and Seneca Wine Trail, visit our local historic sites, or enjoy a show at the new Merry-Go-Round Playhouse Finger Lakes Musical Theatre Festival. We are in the center of it all. Stay at the Auburn/Finger Lakes Holiday Inn and visit the scenic village of Skaneateles. We look forward to seeing you soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region Hotel Auburn
Auburn Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Auburn - Finger Lakes Region NY

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing