We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel for the price in Makati.”
Review of The A.Venue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The A.Venue Hotel
Ranked #35 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“The best hotel for the price in Makati.”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed on and off in this hotel for the last 3 weeks between our trips around the country when we got back to Manila this is the hotel we stayed at.
When we had first arrived in the Philippines we had stayed at a different hotel for 2 days which didn't even come close to the standards of the Antel Best Western Hotel.

We reserved the 1 bedroom mini suite for $75 a night through Agoda which is a ridiculous price for this standard of hotel. Any other hotel at this standard they are asking for at least $140 and up.
The room was great. Very clean, has all the amenities of small kitchenette, slippers, robes, toiletries, mini bar and safe.

The living room has a flatscreen tv with many cable channels, a couch and coffee table. The bedroom has an extremely comfortable bed, another flatscreen tv. Each room has its own air-conditioning. The bathroom was modern and had hot water all the time. There's free wifi for each floor of the hotel. And the wifi worked very nicely in the rooms I must say.

The room was cleaned and tidied every day. We also used their laundry service which was excellent and everything came back to us perfect and on hangers and folded. When we took our trips around the Philippines we were gone for 3-5 days at a time and they stored our luggage for us for free! Was very pleasantly surprised by that.

We stayed in all 3 buildings of the Hotel. They are all OK but the Serenity Tower is the newest of the 3 buildings so I definitely recommend specifically asking for that building of the hotel when booking your room. The rooms are more modern in the Serenity.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Yoni6117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntelHotel, Manager at The A.Venue Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Best Western Plus Antel Hotel!
Looking forward to welcome you again in the near future...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    334
    184
    60
    44
See reviews for
112
135
86
129
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rancho Santa Mar
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Compared to many of the other places in the Philippines where we stayed this was a luxurious hotel in a nice safe location. The suite we stayed in was very nice with two rooms and bathrooms with a central room in the middle. It was amazing for the price we spent in US dollars. I wasn't as impressed with my in-laws single room in the other tower and that night they were spraying the hotel for pests. I don't know if that's good or bad - good they are dealing with the pest problem, after all it is a tropical country. Bad if they had a problem in the first place, but we never saw any bugs or had pest problem first day before they sprayed. The service was great, a little problem with internet for the family sharing the other side of the suite, but not on our side. Bathrooms were nice and pretty clean - hot showers, too! Good air conditioning.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kristy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntelHotel, Manager at The A.Venue Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for such a good review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us, with regards to the pest control, we do apologize for the inconvenience, it doesn't mean that we have pest problem; we do have a weekly pest treatment as a preventive maintenance.

Again thanks and we are hoping to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
98 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

At first, some of the positive things about the hotel

- Bell staff are very proactive and do take care of your luggage and always check taxi for left over belonging when you arrive at hotel at any time.

- Hotel also accepted advance arrival of my luggage which saved me a lots of hassle.

- Location is good.

Now there are some issues as well:

Checkin - the official check in time is 2 pm. We arrived at hotel with family at 1:35 pm. We were told that rooms are not ready and we should allow for "ample" time before we comeback. When quizzed on definition of "ample time", I was told to allow for at least 1 hour, well past 2 pm check in time.

Breakfast- Very limited spread. My wife actually chose not to eat 2 out of 4 days we were there. On the last day. I went for breakfast around 9 am and it was mayhem. Many trays were empty, no butter for bread, the toaster was not working, no milk for tea. When I asked one staff member, he said yes there is no milk.

Amenities: you can probably survive if you have limited needs.When I asked whether they can arrange for babysitter for y 6 year old son, I was told that it is not provided and they can not help me at all. They can not even give me contacts of any external agency. I requested to talk to the duty manager and I am still waiting for his callback.

Front desk: Once my wife tried to reach my room from her mobile via front desk number to talk to me in the room. She gave the name and the room number. It was transferred twice to someone else and then dropped. Later on, there was nobody picking up call at all.

Lifts: reaching breakfast floor is a game of lift manipulation. In general lifts are very busy and you may have to wait at times.

Tours: the company the hotel contracts for tours Grayline is amazingly costly for developing country like Philippines. In fact, I did the tours on 50% costs by organising myself.

My view is that this hotel may be good for a traveller with limited needs but probably not great one for families with young children.





Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lovetravel7519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntelHotel, Manager at The A.Venue Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
hi lovetravel7519,

Thank you for the commendation with regards to our Bell Service, with regards to some of your concerns, we do apologize for not meeting your expectations, we shall look into it and rest assured that proper actions will be done to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Makati hotels

Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Stayed there for a night and it was awesome. Wifi connection is stable, has complimentary drinks (coffee, tea, and bottled water), and free breakfast.

Location is pretty good since a supermarket and several restaurants are available within the vicinity.

Available facilities in the room are:
-electric water heater (thermos)
-personal ref
-a pair of dining sets
-Flat screen TV
-Person stereo speaker with alarm and dock for iPhones/Ipods
-Hair dryer

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sole_iAn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntelHotel, Manager at The A.Venue Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
We are very glad to know that you are satisfied with your stay, looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

very good hotel, high standards
good location, very clean and new, rooms are not big but really good, feels like a very high end hotel.
lots of restaurants and a very good and big supermarket.
very recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stavsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntelHotel, Manager at The A.Venue Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you so much Stavsh,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Hotel has 3towers; was shifted to A-Venue tower by them; had a 1bedroom suite. Nice and clean; Good Wifi connections; but water in shower has very Luke-warm and not good for rejuvenating after a Aircon rest for the night. Surrounding is Hooters and night pubs. Thumping music till late in the night and couldn't sleep much. Reception Staff is good and can provide good advice when requested.

Room Tip: Choose a room- on higher floor to stay away from noisy background in the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank king-kp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntelHotel, Manager at The A.Venue Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you for the commendation with our reception staff, apology for the inconvenience with regards to the shower and to the noise coming from outside the Hotel, we shall look into it and do the necessary actions to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

I stayed for one night in the hotel in Oct 2013. The hotel is located centrally and with easy connection to the airport. There are numerous options for food near the hotel. Guest services can be far better. I reached around 11am but the hotel refused to check me in saying it has to be after 2pm.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogi_tiwari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AntelHotel, Manager at The A.Venue Hotel, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Thank you so much for the review, we do apologize for not accommodating you earlier than the standard time, we do allow early check-ins but it will all be based on the actual occupancy and if the room is available, you may also coordinate with the reservations department next time to take note of your actual arrival, again we do apologize for the inconvenience and we are looking forward to offer a much better experience next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.1 mi away
St Giles Makati Hotel
St Giles Makati Hotel
#31 of 82 in Makati
443 reviews
0.1 mi away
Y2 Residence Hotel
Y2 Residence Hotel
#21 of 82 in Makati
366 reviews
0.2 mi away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#27 of 82 in Makati
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines
1.1 mi away
Guijo Suites Makati
Guijo Suites Makati
#24 of 82 in Makati
363 reviews
0.8 mi away
One Pacific Place Serviced Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The A.Venue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The A.Venue Hotel

Property: The A.Venue Hotel
Address: 7829 Makati Ave, Makati, Luzon 1210, Philippines (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Antel Hotel)
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The A.Venue Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon, Travel Book Philippines, Inc. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The A.Venue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The A.Venue Hotel Makati, Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing