We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh oh....Cockroaches!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ascott Makati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ascott Makati
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Oh oh....Cockroaches!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

A few years ago, we stayed at this place when it was still called the Oakwood. We were very impressed at that time with the facilities, the service, the food during breakfast, and the extremely convenient location. We knew we would definitely return during our next visit to Manila.

Fastforward a few years and the place is now called the Ascott. The location can't be faulted. Still great. The people remain very polite and very helpful. Check! The food, unfortunately, has gone down and we were quite disappointed with the selection and the quality... but it's still food and passable. Granted that it has been a few years and the apartments are showing their age, but.... cockroaches in the bathroom and kitchen?! No!!! Totally freaky and unacceptable. It was not an isolated incident. First was a cockroach coming up the bathroom drain and we moved to a different unit. It smelled of cigarettes, so on to the next unit. This third unit showed its age in the curtains, the walls and the upholstery. The whole unit needed some sprucing up and updating. It was clean overall, but then we found cockroaches again on several occasions... on the kitchen wall, the kitchen drawer, the kitchen table. Awful. Can they get an exterminator?

On another note, we were staying in a two bedroom and two bathroom executive unit. The particular bedroom we were staying at had an extremely high door hook for hanging towels. You would have to be a six footer to reach it or jump up to try and hang something. The bathtub/shower was also quite difficult to access (thank goodness for the bathroom mat), and for getting in and out of the tub you had to be very careful. It was also very difficult to reach the towel rack because 1. It was very high and 2. There was an empty space/ledge connecting one end of the bathtub to the wall that had the rack (the other wall held the shower). You would have to climb onto that ledge/space to reach the rack or use something with a long handle to try and make the towel fall down for use. Really inconvenient and I say dangerous if we climbed it.

If there weren't any cockroaches, I would recommend this place because of its extremely good location and the very helpful staff. Despite the need for some updating, it is still relatively clean. Right now I am on the fence. On my next visit to Manila, I think I will be looking for someplace else to stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscottMakati, Manager at Ascott Makati, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We regret that this incident left you with a negative impression about our property. We however wish to reassure that this concern has been addressed since and we continue to work and liaised with our third party pest control specialist to ensure upkeep and maintenance of our property.

We hope this isolated incident has not placed our property in your permanent disfavor and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back so that we can impart a better resident experience.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

832 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    291
    85
    35
    27
See reviews for
340
78
33
225
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

we stayed here a couple of times for a company thing. the location is really great. its literally connected to the mall (Glorietta) and a few blocks away from MRT and everything else. The bed and the pillows were comfortable and the rooms were spacious. The staff were also friendly and they also have free breakfast. The breakfast selection is great but what I really liked was bacon! There's a feeling of the building to be a little old but it won't bother you. We got the room with the view of the city. The building is quite tall so better get the room on a higher floor so there will be less if no noise. Although I haven't tried the rooms at the lower floor so I'm not sure. Would definitely choose this again because of the location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithLacap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscottMakati, Manager at Ascott Makati, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Thank you for uploading your very kind words about your overall stay here at Ascott Makati. We are indeed very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay overall.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014

My wife and I are regular visitors to Manila and whether for business or pleasure, the first on the list of hotels for us is the "The Ascott".
Right in the middle of Makati, beside the Glorietta shopping complex, it is extremely easy to get to by airport taxi and has the added bonus of a covered entry so you can escape from the rain!
The entrance is very small, and protected by at least two of Manila's finest security guards, who will escort you to the elevators. Once up the first level the reception area is enormous, and never fails to impress me.
Staff are always immaculately presented and the suites have everything you need. We are huge fans and cannot say enough good about the place. All topped off with an awesome breakfast buffet!
We always look forward to staying there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that faces out onto the Makati Square. Great views from miles up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WFProductions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscottMakati, Manager at Ascott Makati, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write and post this review in Tripadvisor. We appreciate your support and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back here in Ascott Makati on your future visits.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

I stayed here for a work trip ,and really loved the place .. the large apartment gave me room to spread out .. I was there for 2 weeks and the staff were very helpful , they did a daily clean of my room ..I could of cooked if I wanted , but why would you when you can have room service .. I ordered the salmon and mashed potatoes 3 times because I loved the first one I had .. the next two salmon meals I had, did not compare , so I was very disappointed .. I also had a lot of trouble connecting to wi fi I think it was a slow connection at the hotel ,, I must say that the service was great , could not complain .. this hotel was also close to the Greenbelt area where I ate most nights .. and so close the shopping malls and supermarkets , I also used spa at the Ascot for a massage and facial .. and also had a massage in my room ... the ladies were wonderful ..The breakfast was great it had everything that I, needed to have for breakfast
I would recommend this hotel , especially for the location

Room Tip: my room overlooked the front entrance where they had a lovely park with a pond and horse statues...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jewel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscottMakati, Manager at Ascott Makati, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It is great to have you stay with us. We appreciate your review and the compliments about our service and facilities.
We hope to welcome you once again here in Ascott Makati.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

The location is the best, so close to everything. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment with my 2 sisters, my husband and my 3yr old daughter. It was so accessible especially if you have a toddler with you. The service was excellent. The hotel is starting to get a bit old, needs some touch up, new paint in the room, and probably new furniture too. Shopping is so good, its just a few meters away, do not need to hire a car. Lastly, so close to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Skyrock2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscottMakati, Manager at Ascott Makati, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Thank you for choosing Ascott Makati as your accommodation during your holiday in Manila. It is always encouraging for us to learn that our valuable residents are satisfied with our
service and we are glad to know that the location of our property was to your advantage.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

Stayed here again with a couple of friends for a getaway trip to asia. We found the stay really good, we could shop at the nearby supermarket and cook our own meals in the full kitchen. Rooms are nice, a little bit dated, but to be honest we were there to enjoy ourselves and party so we didn't really mind!

Room Tip: Wifi cuts out continuously, especially on the higher floors- get a prepaid sim card with mobile inte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anthonyp-aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscottMakati, Manager at Ascott Makati, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Thank you for your excellent rating highlighting the strategic location of our property and the size of our apartments.
We are glad to know that the full kitchen in our serviced residence was to your advantage given that you’re able to prepare and cook your own meals.

Thank you very much for your support and we hope to welcome you back on your future visit to Manila.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We (my parents, my sister and her husband, my mother in law and my wife and two kids, 10 and 3 years old) stayed at the Ascott for 8 nights in a three bedroom apartment. We were very satisfied. Although some things need a little bit of a touch up overall our experience was great. We got really good service, the location is sensational and the apartment is huge. I highly recommend the Ascott specially for large families and long stays. It's very convenient. My only complaint being a balikbayan was not enough Filipino style breakfast over our stay. But that's just being picky. By the way my kids Lola, the mother in law stayed in the maid quarters. :-) no mother in law jokes please...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ECJ1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscottMakati, Manager at Ascott Makati, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Thank you for sharing and uploading you experience at Trip advisor. We are delighted to hear that you and your family are very happy with regards to your overall experience.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your family back here in Ascott Makati.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.3 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.2 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#15 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#4 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,974 reviews
0.4 mi away
Makati Diamond Residences
0.2 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascott Makati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Makati

Property: Ascott Makati
Address: Glorietta 4, Ayala Centre, Makati, Luzon 1224, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Makati
#8 Business Hotel in Makati
#9 Spa Hotel in Makati
#9 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ascott Makati 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in one of cosmopolitan Manila's most luxurious serviced apartments - Ascott Makati, which is designed exclusively for international business executives and their families. Ascott Makati recently unveiled its new Suites that are even grander and more opulent featuring a contemporary look that exudes warmth and sophistication. The property meets your every need from world-class services to lavish facilities that are well-appointed, extensive and personalised, complementing the elegance and refinement of the spacious residences in an exclusive city sanctuary, so that you may enjoy your overseas assignment, leisure vacation or relocation. Strategically located within Ascott Makati's prime business district and surrounded by restaurants, entertainment and shopping complexes, you can relish the renowned Ascott lifestyle amidst the pulsating energy of this dynamic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Ascott Makati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Makati Hotel Makati
Ascott Makati Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing