We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical business hotel”
Review of Ascott Makati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Ascott Makati
Ranked #11 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Typical business hotel”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Good service, and the one bedroom apartment was not bad. But once you go in the details, left to be desired.
Mould in the shower, not very nicely cleaned, and extremely sterile environment.
Excellent service from the housekeeping.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steftrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscottMakati, Manager at Ascott Makati, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. It’s always encouraging to know that our residents are satisfied with our service. Your constructive feedback with regards to cleanliness has been shared with our Executive Housekeeper so that corrective actions can be taken.

We also shared your commendation to our housekeeping team for the excellent service they have provided for their motivation and inspiration.

We hope that will have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the future.

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

924 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    461
    307
    91
    36
    29
See reviews for
388
87
40
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manila Philippines
Level Contributor
710 reviews
190 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 313 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

This place is quite strategically located within the huge Glorietta mall . It has its own driveway entry fronting the Intercontinental going to the basement. It can be noted however that there were no staff to volunteer bringing the luggage for you. Even upon checking in, there was no bell staff to offer assistance, just even a gesture. The front desk staff seem friendly , was even proud to claim offering me the complimentary wi-fi , but the fact is , it was already included in my package. When we arrived in our one bedroom suite, the arrangement was not suited for 3 occupants( it was a guaranteed reservation ), so we have to call housekeeping for help. The free wireless internet was really slow, only good for opening mails and searching for google topics.Although the room amenities such as the flat screen tv and aircon remain the same, please take note that they have a channel dedicated for cctv coverage at the lobby for arriving guests. We did not try breakfast at this hotel , and didn't have the opportunity to try their F and B service. Suites look quite old, facilities seem tired and in need of some upgrade. Maybe the new hotel opening at the Global city in Taguig would be much better.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doctorfoxtrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscottMakati, Manager at Ascott Makati, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
We are glad that our location and the size of our apartment is suitable to your needs we also appreciate your constructive observation regarding our service however we would like to apologize if we have not met your expectation on this occasion. Rest assured that I have shared this with our respective Managers to review as required so that corrective actions can be taken.

We hope that we will have another opportunity to make your stay experience a better one in the future.

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

I stayed in the Ascott for two days, while visiting a friend. Wouldn't stay again, as the price per night was close to 300 But the rooms are really old. Walls are scuff markets, my toilet completely blocked, and the shower leaked and flooded the bathroom, despite putting the shower curtain inside the bath.

There is so much competition in Makati for hotels, around the same price, with better rooms!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscottMakati, Manager at Ascott Makati, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
At the onset, we would like to extend our deepest apologies for the noted inconveniences during your stay. We have noted your comments and in reference to the general conditions, we would like to take this opportunity to share that the property will undergo refurbishment towards the latter part of the year in our efforts to provide spacious and stylish living facilities.

It really is through the insight of our residents that we are able to explore on ways to improve and we thank you for your candor. We do hope that we will have to opportunity to welcome you back as we move towards a new phase of Ascott Makati.

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cebu
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I just checked in and asked for a username and password. I got one for a USD 10 a day charge and switched to my firefox browser since CHROME DOES NOT WORK IN THIS HOTEL and it worked, FOR ABOUT 10 MINUTES! After google search failed to load, I gave up.

After that I got my Ipad and went on line via my mobile connection. As usual.

Other than that, this place is spacious, low key, with a good location and a very reasonable price. I stay here often, because it has space, and a nice gym. Just dont expect the internet to work. Mobile internet in the Philippines does not work very well either, but, you can buy prepaid sim cards at least.

Its amazing that a branded hotel can operate like this in 2014, in the heart of the CBD.

Room Tip: 2 bedrooms suites are better value and in better shape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakbayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscottMakati, Manager at Ascott Makati, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Thank your for you comments and please accept our apologies for the inconveniences caused by the issues on online connection. We have aligned with our service provider and continue to explore ways to address these connectivity issues. We are undergoing a series of augmentations however we seek your understanding as it is with endeavors of the said nature, completion will be noted over a period of time.

We have noted the challenges experienced via the specific browser used and rest assured this will be highlighted with our IT division in order to address and execute the necessary action.

We thank you for your patronage and we do hope to welcome you back at Ascott Makati.

Sincerely,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Spacious, comfortable and well-equipped. Stayed for a total of 5 nights in 2 different 2-bedroom suites, Executive and Deluxe. The Executive actually has an extra bedroom and bathroom for a maid, which is really useful if you need more space. The beds are very comfortable, the rooms are quiet, AC works well, nicely furnished. They put water in the fridge when you arrive and bring fresh fruit. Both rooms had washing machines and dryers, safes, iron & ironing board, fully equipped kitchen. The master bedrooms have robes & slippers and a hairdryer. Overall, the rooms are in good condition, though the bathrooms looked slightly tired. The location is great as it is near several malls, restaurants, ATMs, the airport. The Makati area is a very comfortable area to be in for Westerners as it has a lot of international chains such as Starbucks, Pizza Hut, Debenhams, Marks & Spencer etc, etc. If this puts you off, I would recommend staying in another part of Manila. The breakfast buffet is very good, but pricey if not included with the room.

Room Tip: Our rooms on floor 21 and 22 were very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscottMakati, Manager at Ascott Makati, responded to this review, 22 October 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience and reviewing our facilities and services. We are glad that it was a comfortable stay for you overall and that you find the strategic location of our property great.

We hope to welcome you back soon here in Ascott Makati.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

A few years ago, we stayed at this place when it was still called the Oakwood. We were very impressed at that time with the facilities, the service, the food during breakfast, and the extremely convenient location. We knew we would definitely return during our next visit to Manila.

Fastforward a few years and the place is now called the Ascott. The location can't be faulted. Still great. The people remain very polite and very helpful. Check! The food, unfortunately, has gone down and we were quite disappointed with the selection and the quality... but it's still food and passable. Granted that it has been a few years and the apartments are showing their age, but.... cockroaches in the bathroom and kitchen?! No!!! Totally freaky and unacceptable. It was not an isolated incident. First was a cockroach coming up the bathroom drain and we moved to a different unit. It smelled of cigarettes, so on to the next unit. This third unit showed its age in the curtains, the walls and the upholstery. The whole unit needed some sprucing up and updating. It was clean overall, but then we found cockroaches again on several occasions... on the kitchen wall, the kitchen drawer, the kitchen table. Awful. Can they get an exterminator?

On another note, we were staying in a two bedroom and two bathroom executive unit. The particular bedroom we were staying at had an extremely high door hook for hanging towels. You would have to be a six footer to reach it or jump up to try and hang something. The bathtub/shower was also quite difficult to access (thank goodness for the bathroom mat), and for getting in and out of the tub you had to be very careful. It was also very difficult to reach the towel rack because 1. It was very high and 2. There was an empty space/ledge connecting one end of the bathtub to the wall that had the rack (the other wall held the shower). You would have to climb onto that ledge/space to reach the rack or use something with a long handle to try and make the towel fall down for use. Really inconvenient and I say dangerous if we climbed it.

If there weren't any cockroaches, I would recommend this place because of its extremely good location and the very helpful staff. Despite the need for some updating, it is still relatively clean. Right now I am on the fence. On my next visit to Manila, I think I will be looking for someplace else to stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Marie B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscottMakati, Manager at Ascott Makati, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We regret that this incident left you with a negative impression about our property. We however wish to reassure that this concern has been addressed since and we continue to work and liaised with our third party pest control specialist to ensure upkeep and maintenance of our property.

We hope this isolated incident has not placed our property in your permanent disfavor and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back so that we can impart a better resident experience.

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
123 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

we stayed here a couple of times for a company thing. the location is really great. its literally connected to the mall (Glorietta) and a few blocks away from MRT and everything else. The bed and the pillows were comfortable and the rooms were spacious. The staff were also friendly and they also have free breakfast. The breakfast selection is great but what I really liked was bacon! There's a feeling of the building to be a little old but it won't bother you. We got the room with the view of the city. The building is quite tall so better get the room on a higher floor so there will be less if no noise. Although I haven't tried the rooms at the lower floor so I'm not sure. Would definitely choose this again because of the location.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KeithLacap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AscottMakati, Manager at Ascott Makati, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Thank you for uploading your very kind words about your overall stay here at Ascott Makati. We are indeed very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable stay overall.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.3 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.2 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#18 of 82 in Makati
1,969 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#4 of 82 in Makati
2,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 82 in Makati
1,600 reviews
0.2 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
0.4 mi away
Makati Diamond Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascott Makati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascott Makati

Property: Ascott Makati
Address: Glorietta 4, Ayala Centre, Makati, Luzon 1224, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Makati
#8 Business Hotel in Makati
#9 Spa Hotel in Makati
#9 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Ascott Makati 5*
Number of rooms: 306
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Indulge in one of cosmopolitan Manila's most luxurious serviced apartments - Ascott Makati, which is designed exclusively for international business executives and their families. Ascott Makati recently unveiled its new Suites that are even grander and more opulent featuring a contemporary look that exudes warmth and sophistication. The property meets your every need from world-class services to lavish facilities that are well-appointed, extensive and personalised, complementing the elegance and refinement of the spacious residences in an exclusive city sanctuary, so that you may enjoy your overseas assignment, leisure vacation or relocation. Strategically located within Ascott Makati's prime business district and surrounded by restaurants, entertainment and shopping complexes, you can relish the renowned Ascott lifestyle amidst the pulsating energy of this dynamic city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Travel Book Philippines, Inc., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ascott Makati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascott Makati Hotel Makati
Ascott Makati Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing