We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Service and Coctails”
Review of Sala Restaurant

Sala Restaurant
Ranked #20 of 1,389 Restaurants in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$100
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Top Notch Service and Coctails”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

I loved this restaurant so much that I returned on my last night in Manila. The wait staff are attentive; the bartender is magic; and the chefs truly know what they're doing. I particularly enjoyed the mushroom raviolis and seafood risotto.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JennyH420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    78
    21
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Deserving one or two Michelin stars”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Undoubtedly one of the best restaurants in the Philippines. Owner Colin Mackay has repeatedly proven to be perfect, and above all, for a consistency in quality and service, not only in Sala, his flagship, but also in his other restaurants, Sala Bistro and People's Palace. With Colin you can't go wrong. In this mega city of Metro Manila with over 95 % culinary low flyers, this is an oasis.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marc_martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not really one for expensive dishes, but it was worth it!”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Definitely do your research first before coming here as to not shock your wallets. It's a great thing it was my boss's treat the last week I was here. Main dishes go for around 1.1k - 1.8k. Some of the dishes such as the Sea Bass, Roast Salmon Fillet and Beef Tenderloin are good for sharing. If you're on a budget, share one of these dishes and just order rice for each.
The food was definitely excellent with very nice presentations. Each dish made me say wow. Make sure you order the Roast Salmon fillet and the Risotto for appetizer - both CANNOT BE MISSED. We were also served complimentary appetizers, pictured below.

The only thing I could think of that they can improve on is that the staff should smile and be more accommodating. They are however, very informative when it comes to the food, giving out suggestions here and there. Food is also served pretty quickly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ayra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“good food. great place. ”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

truly enjoyed my time here when I dropped by for a taste of their degustation menu. been meaning to write a review after a second visit however that didn't exactly pan out.

in any case you can't really go wrong with this restaurant. degustation menu had some hits and misses but as I recall even the misses were tolerable and the hits were very satisfying to great tasting

Helpful?
Thank edtien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Good not Great”
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

We opted for the tasting menu with wine pairing. It was good that we were greated with our pre-ordered drinks upon arrival as this can easily be forgotten. The dishes on the menu itself were fine but lacked any wow factor and were quite standard fayre for a restaurant with this reputation. The exception was the panna cotta which formed part of the dessert enemble. That was stunning. What disappointed was the service. Whilst the service was good on delivery there was a lack of attentiveness, warmth and sincerity which is the expectation from top restaurants and generally everywhere in the Philippines. It appeared the staff were all going through the motions, no explaination of dishes or wines, no personable interaction and no one barely raised a smile throughout the whole meal. It's a shame to have this as a lasting impression. Given the basic setting and service I would describe Sala as a good bistro rather than a fine dining or great restaurant.

Helpful?
Thank Boothtel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sala Restaurant also viewed

Makati, Metro Manila
Makati, Metro Manila
 

Been to Sala Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing