We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seen better Days”
Review of Charter House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Charter House
Ranked #45 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The charter House has been a staple in Makati for a long time. My first stay there was in 1985. It still has a classy location, but unfortunately the "renovated rooms" were renovated in 1990. The room service is very good and cheap. The Aircon units in all the rooms are old, noisy, and don't work so well. Also the Hot water won't last long, so take quick showers. The staff is very helpful and friendly. One BIG problem I had the last time I stayed was BEDBUGS in the room I had. I asked for an immediate room change and was given one, without Bedbugs, but too late because I had been bitten all over by those pests at that point, and, I noticed that after I moved to the new room, same floor, that housekeeping just went into the room I had vacated, changed the sheets, and then I saw a new guest going into the room which had Bedbugs!! But since this is not the first Hotel in Manila I have run into B-bugs I'm not surprised. The rooms are the cheapest in Makati with a 5 star location, but they are living off the past reputation. Also, last time I stayed the Rooftop Pool, which was very nice was it seemed, permanently closed. There are seriously a lot worse places you could end up in, but just don't let the Bedbugs Bite!!

Room Tip: If you do stay here, I recommend against a room with a View of Greenbelt/Legaspi Street, they are th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

Excellent Location, bang opposite to Greenbelt 5, location is very quiet and posh.

The hotel is old but still comfortable, I stayed in a superior deluxe room, which had a very big window with blinds, in fact one side of the room was just window.

Following are the Highlights:-

1. Hotel building- Old, must have seen much better days.

2. Room- Comfortable bed, Cheap Minibar, Spacious (I took the expensive one), lacks an LCD has old style CTV. I would say I can not ask more for that price. Very basic bathroom with no toiletries except 2 bars of soap.

3. Breakfast-Very Limited choice but delicious and filling.

4. Hotel Lobby- Very Old.

5. Location- I think one of the best location in entire Manila.

6. Staff- It seemed to me an old age home everyone right from doorman to porter was old :) no offense, but they were reasonably good.

Choose this hotel if you are a shopaholic and want to save some money for that extra shopping, choose for its excellent location.

Room Tip: Choose the expensive one you will be happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank p1136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the first time in 2005 and then again in 2008.
Comfortable, clean and tidy.
Staff friendly.
Good for staying if you have children.
Food OK.
Not far from British Embassy and close to all you need.
I've stayed in a couple of hotels around Manila and one thing I like about this hotel was you do not see any street or bar girls in there. Not nice to see when you have children with you.
Next visit to Manila will stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pisces1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located right next to big city malls where you can find everything: meals, shopping, bars, even church. Good for rest if you spend more time outside. Small, but comfortable and tidy rooms. Old fashioned, but though more attractive.
Aircon in the room a bit noisy.
Free breakfast for the guests.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NDYRUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night only. Rate was 3000 pesos per night.

Hotel is directly opposite Greenbelt, which is linked with Landmark, Glorietta and SM. Easy access to shopping and food.

Turn left as you exit the hotel main door and there is a 7-Eleven and another 24hr convenience store just 20m walk!

The hotel itself is rather old but extremely well maintained and clean (which is most important for us!).

Being in the middle of Makati, there is no driveway, so all pickup and dropoff were by the street in front of the hotel entrance. You need to be quick!

Breakfast was basic but sufficient.

Staff was friendly and helpful.

Only problem is that I could not find any website for this hotel. So, I asked my friend in Manila to book the room for me.

Overall it was a good stay at Charterhouse.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BudakKepong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2012

I stayed in charter from nov 29-dec 2,2012 at the rate of p3.000.00 matrimonial bed.it comes with free breakfast which i must say is heavy enough to see you through till the next mral.i love rhe place bec the specialty shops-omega,paul smith,zara,tori burch,michael kors,escada to name a few are just right in front of charter house.if you need to hear mass the chapel is a walking distance only.you could jog every morning within the vicinity. If you're hungry restaurants abound. Even mercury and 7 11 are present in that area of charter house.walk a little further and you'll see yourself in landmark,rustans or sm.truly at a price of 3,000.00 it's a bargain

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank EllaR0787
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We used to stay here as a family since the early 1990s. Great place to stay especially when you're with family for shopping trips since Greenbelt is literally, just across the street. It has the basic amenities in a room; mini bar, TV, basic toletries and comes with breakfast. It's been quite a while since my last stay here, I hope the pillows have gotten more comfy. The room needs a make-over since it looks outdated. Service is good though, prompt and very accommodating. I recommend Charter House especially for those who are looking for a budget place to stay in a first class and safe area in Makati. You can make use of your extra taxi fare for shopping money.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MyPride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.2 mi away
BSA Suites - Makati
BSA Suites - Makati
#63 of 86 in Makati
129 reviews
0.2 mi away
Astoria Greenbelt
Astoria Greenbelt
#18 of 86 in Makati
356 reviews
0.2 mi away
AIM Conference Center Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Jinjiang Inn Makati
Jinjiang Inn Makati
#31 of 86 in Makati
39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Copa Businessman's Hotel
Copa Businessman's Hotel
#66 of 86 in Makati
63 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asian Mansion II
Asian Mansion II
#70 of 86 in Makati
87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charter House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charter House

Address: 114 Legaspi St. | Legaspi Village, Makati, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Price Range: £42 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charter House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Ebookers, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Book Philippines, Inc. so you can book your Charter House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charter House Hotel Makati
Charter House Makati, Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing