We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel”
Review of Our Melting Pot

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Our Melting Pot
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Great hostel”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Good hostel, very clean and staff very friendly. It is about the same price as a cheap hotel, but you get the communal vibe here. Breakfast is great. You are also in the best location in Manila, on Makati avenue.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank DNV0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    196
    84
    30
    6
    5
See reviews for
5
38
156
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Real, Quezon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I just discovered this place last September and I've been in this place for 7 times already! My purpose of staying here is to try out the local hosteling scene and I am NOT disappointed. It's like my second home already and since I discovered the place - I've been ditching a lot of invitations from family and friends to stay on their homes and the hotel managers that I know in Manila have just declared me a persona-non-grata for totally ignoring them lately. LOL.

Pros:

1. Customer Service & staff - working in customer service sector for so long, this is one thing that I really appreciate when doing business. Kudos to Chateau and her team: Grace, Elvie, Onin, Jhie, Rolly and to others whom I can't recall right now. These people are really professional when dealing with people and situations. No matter what your race or status is, they always treat you equally and serve you with passion and energy that you seldom get from generic hotels. To sum it up, they are the exact people I would like to hire if ever I'd put up a hostel business.

2. Cleanliness - I live in a house where dust and dirt do not have a place and with the same standard as my mom with cleanliness, I can say that this place is really well-maintained. From the rooms, to the toilet and bath to kitchen to the communal area, you can tell that the place is really well run.

3. Location & Safety - you are literally in the middle of everything. As we call it in Filipino, isang tambling lang from everything. A-venue Mall is just across the road, it is close to the bars, banks and good restos, Ayala Center, Rockwell, Makati Business District etc. I know many tourists who prefer Intramuros area because - well of Intramuros. But from Makati, Intramuros is just around 20-30 mins depending on traffic and after seeing it once, I can't think of a reason why stay in Manila area longer. Makati is less chaotic and way safer than Manila. Manila has always been the 'shady' and crowded part of the metro while Makati is the hip and fancy area.

4. Value - it maybe not as cheap as the hostels in Thailand and other countries, but this is so far is the best hostel I've been. I have tried some of the 'best hostels' in Singapore, Thailand and Malaysia based on reviews and no one comes close to this hostel so far if we're talking about what you get on a price. And if I will compare it to price that I used to spend in hotels, I'm just paying 5-20% of that price. So it's really a steal for me ;)

5. Melting Pot - I know some hostels that claim to be a melting pot of some sort but I have just truly understand the meaning of the word when I first came here. When I first booked a mixed room, I was really hesitant but it turned out to be one of the best decisions in my life. I won't be able to meet great friends from different races and backgrounds if I didn't do it. It is a norm that the guy/ girl that you're talking could be a social worker from Japan or a high ranking military official from Israel or a businessman from Australia, a German teacher from China, a banker from New York, a hippie from Holland, a lawyer from Malaysia or a student from UK. Tons of interesting characters there for sure. The hostel is also set up with the words social and interaction on the designer's mind. It's really hard not to talk to your fellow guests when you're in communal area and with jolly Filipino staff, you're in for a crazy conversation! And if you're a culture vulture like me, you'll appreciate it!

6. Activities and Fun - the hostel provide FREE tours! You only get to spend for fares, your food, and other stuff that you might need but you can split it with other guests as well. Always check out the activity board for some of these scheduled tours. If there's a TRUE Manila tour, just join and don't be afraid of trying something out of your comfort zone.

7. Privacy - when we're talking about hostel, privacy has become the less concern. I am a very private person and I'm not used of sharing a room with anyone even when I was studying in college and this was my main issue when I first tried a hostel 3 months ago. But with dorm beds equipped with curtains, sharing a room with strangers isn't that bad.

Cons:

I would only provide some cons to give an honest review but I really find it trivial. It is something that I wish the hostel can improve but for me personally, it is not really a big deal.

1. Personal light and electrical sockets - so it would be easier to charge personal devices and no need to turn on the main light to avoid disturbing your room mates (its not a problem for me but I noticed that some people are really light sleeper)

2. Variation on breakfast - they only provide a continental breakfast and its enough for a light eater like me. However, if you stay more than 3 days and have tried everything in their table, this can cause a problem to a person with a choosy stomach like me :). I've been in the place for 7 times already and tried all their selections. How I wish they can provide some pancakes, butter, a different type of bread and fruits haha. (Elvie, banana na naman???! haha)

Okay, time to pack my backpack to go back to the hostel :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trigger_elf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

The service was good, food was okay, not outstanding.
Recommended to couples.
The service was good, food was okay, not outstanding.
Recommended to couples.
The service was good, food was okay, not outstanding.
Recommended to couples.


Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank viviange2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 9 October 2013

when we first arrived to manila we looked for a place which will help us plan our trip the way we want. we wanted to meet people and maybe share information and their good company. we found it!!! lots of thanks to omp... we will definitely come again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yuval t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

First of all, we came to this place after the recommendation here. After there were no rooms, the great staff assisted us in calling and escorting us to a different hostel in the area.
We also took the Manila tour to the old city from 1400-2000 (it's free!). It's a good way to pass half a day if you are waiting for your flight. The tour was very organized and very informative for anyone who wanted to know more details on the Philippines and how to get along in the city of Manila in terms of weather, traffic etc.
The tour was great and we enjoyed it alot! The crew was also very assisting and kind. We havn't slept there, but we certainly will next time.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Alon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 5 October 2013

After staying in several places in the PI's, I'd definately have to say that this is by far one of the best places I've seen. Very community oriented and friendly people located in the heart of Makati business district. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gtrockefellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
1 review
Reviewed 2 October 2013

I have been staying at OMP for three weeks now and it 100% feels like home. From the moment you walk in the staff could not be friendlier or more attentive. They treat you like you are staying at a five-star hotel. Breakfast is fantastic and the rooms and bathrooms are kept immaculate all of the time by the hard-working staff. The wifi works great as well as the air-con in the rooms. It is a great place to meet fun people but at the same time it is never too loud in the hostel, simply fun and welcoming. OMP is in a great location in Makati, near restaurants and nightlife, and the free tours that OMP offers are a great way to see the city!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Durban
Hotel Durban
#20 of 82 in Makati
402 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Garden Grand Hotel
0.1 mi away
Red Planet Makati, Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#27 of 82 in Makati
314 reviews
0.2 mi away
Z Hostel
Z Hostel
#1 of 57 in Makati
343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Junction Hostel Makati
Junction Hostel Makati
#2 of 57 in Makati
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Our Melting Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Our Melting Pot

Property: Our Melting Pot
Address: 7844 Makati Avenue corner Guerrero Street | 4/F Mavenue Building, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience traveling to the Philippines on a budget in an area where everything seems upscale and expensive as you stay in Our Melting Pot. Our place consists of several private rooms and dorm-type accommodation to suit your budget and need. It is new, modern, peaceful and well-managed and is a relatively manageable distance from the major city attractions and the important places to visit in the greater Manila area. We are at the heart of Makati, the entertainment and financial capital of the Philippines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Our Melting Pot reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Our Melting Pot Hotel Makati
Our Melting Pot Makati, Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing