We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible front desk staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
St Giles Makati Hotel
Ranked #29 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I was greeted with disgust by a front desk staff, with very bad attitude. I've stayed at many hotels around the world. But have never had such a treatment. The room desk was stained by something really disgusting, the room had this rotten smell. The safe battery was dead. The Wifi signal was too weak and didn't work. There were many other bad thing that I could keep going on and on. I will NEVER stay at this hotel again. And I advice to everyone NOT to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerrickTan, General Manager at St Giles Makati Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience you had to bear during your stay with us. Our front desk staff who checked you in did not intend to cause you any inconvenience when she was requesting for your passport for your registration. Guest from a foreign country would be required to give us their passport details as required by law.

We admit there was a small stain between the glass top and the table in which we have removed. The WiFi connection was rather weak in the room and we have replaced the access point and I believe our maintenance staff quickly brought a LAN cable in order for you to surf the web immediately. We have changed also the battery of the safety deposit box.

I hope these will not deter you from coming back to stay with us and should you have plans to visit Manila in the near future, please allow me to know as I would like the opportunity to meet you and make it up to you.

Warm regards,
Derrick Tan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (473)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 473 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

I went to St Giles because it was near my dentist's office, and I was looking for a decent place to have breakfast. From the doorman (the bald guy in the dark blue barong) to the coffee shop GRO, to Jeffrey (one of the waiters), all were very hospitable. Filipinos are such naturals at customer service and that was certainly evident at St Giles. Special mention goes to Jeffrey who was uber-attentive to my requests, complete with updates! I can't speak for the accommodations but the warm customer service would make me recommend them.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jphizon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerrickTan, General Manager at St Giles Makati Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at St Giles Makati - St Giles Classic Hotel, particularly your dining experience. I have commended the staff who attended to you especially Jeffrey. Your praise and recommendation is truly appreciated.

Looking forward to having you here again. You must definitely try our accommodation as well.

Best regards,
Derrick Tan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

this hotel is ok for people on business trip but not for a staycation especially with kids.

food is so-so. but service and room accommodation are all good.

i first stayed with my husband. we stayed here because he had a meeting in his office which is nearby. i had my own schedule. lots of taxis but hard to get early in the morning since its rush hour (weekday). we stayed in a de luxe room which is spacious enough for the two of us.

after a few days, we went back together with our kids. we just got a standard room (our secretary made a mistake in the room size). we couldn't change room because the hotel is fully booked at that time. thats ok. all four of us fit just right. maybe because our kids are just small (ages 6 & 3). no bath tub. but in the de luxe room there is a bath tub.

gym & pool are really great. great view too

basically, its a good hotel to stay. not too pricey and yet we were comfortable enough. easy to go within AND outside makati area. courteous and accommodating staff.

since i am with my kids, i am kind of worried about the area which is surrounded by bars. so its a bit busy, noisy and lots of girls in their skimpy outfit.

Room Tip: request for a room on higher floors. much quieter there. ok for people on business trip or for coupl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RicaMae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerrickTan, General Manager at St Giles Makati Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,

I appreciate the time you took to review our hotel. Thank you for choosing St Giles Makati - St Giles Classic Hotel. My apologies if the food was not up to your standards and my gratitude for the compliments you mentioned that it's a good hotel stay, not too pricey, comfortable, easy to go within the city, courteous & accommodating staff, good service and the great view at the pool and gym.

Thank you for understanding the difficulty in getting a taxi during rush hour. We can arrange this prior to your schedule if you advise us earlier.

Looking forward to serving you again on your future stay with us.

Kind regards,
Derrick Tan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The room, cleanliness, location, security are okay. The only problem with this hotel is the front desk check-in & check-out service which is very slow.... if you compare it to other hotels. And now they require a P260 deposit for the room key? Come on! The deposit is making the process even slower. I hope they can improve the service of the front desk people since that's the very first thing we notice in a hotel. Other than that, this hotel is very good.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Izabelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerrickTan, General Manager at St Giles Makati Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear Izabelle M,

Thank you for complimenting our location, the cleanliness of the room and the security here at St Giles Makati-St Giles Classic Hotel.

Please accept my sincere apology for the inconvenience you had to bear with when checking-in. Collecting a form of deposit is a usual practice of every hotel and the Php 260 deposit collected for the keycard is refundable upon check out once the keycard is returned.

We look forward to serving you better in your future stays with us.

Kind regards,
Derrick Tan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

I checked in at 10 pm. My stay was paid by my company. Upon check in they asked me to pay for my room plus deposit. I showed them my confirmation and LOA and the credit card that paid for the room. They said they can not honor it and had to pay for the room. I dragged my Manager at 12 midnight at the hotel to say that the company will pay for all my expenses at the hotel.
At check out same scenario. They asked again for payment. I had to call again my company. All they said was sorry.
No coordination. No endorsements. Lousy Front office and Reservations operations. Never ever going back to this hotel. Ever.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cpanelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerrickTan, General Manager at St Giles Makati Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2013

Dear Ms. Panelo,

I sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during your recent stay. It was our mistake that to conclude that the Letter of Authorization for signed off by your Manager was for the guarantee of your room reservation but overlooked the fact that your hotel charges will also be picked up by him as well. I will be in contact with you soon to explain the lap on our end. I hope this incident will not deter you from staying with us again and as I look forward to an opportunity to make it up to you.

Best regards,

Derrick Tan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Overall I liked the central location and on the surface St Giles looks like a good quality hotel. I think most of the people who work there care and I had some really good experiences with the staff. One thing, however, really gave me a bad impression and that happened at check-in. The staff member in question was just very abrupt and made me feel like I was an interruption. After I got over that the stay was very pleasant. Clean hotel, the gym was good (has a GREAT view) and it's close to the nightlife and good restaurants.

Room Tip: Not sure about the rooms, mine was great, but check out the gym. It seriously is a fantastic view du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerrickTan, General Manager at St Giles Makati Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Please accept my profound apologies for the inconvenience you encountered during check in. Thank you for the other compliments you have given St Giles Makati.

Kindly let me know if you have travel plans back to Manila so I can make it up to you. My email address is gm@StGilesManila.com.

Looking forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,
Derrick Tan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

I stayed in St Giles for a week, left and they came back to finish my trip in the philippines. The staff were very friendly and helpful. One example, I had a slight problem with my hot water, and the staff sent a repairman immediately. Even got a cake on my birthday.

The location is excellent. It is within walking distant of several restaurants, clubs, and local grocery store. I had my laundry done in a local shop right next to the hotel. Saved myself a few pesos. The hotel is also a short taxi ride from the Makati's high end shopping and dining. Ate too many meals at Shakeys right across the street, but I missed my hometown pizza. Hotel restaurant is also good with an excellent buffet breakfast. Did wish the hotel had a late night lounge or bar.

The hotel is right smack in the middle of the redlight district. So if you are traveling with your family or this sort of thing bother you, this might not be the place for you. Although, I never saw anything going on inside the hotel. The hotel seems to cater to business travelers and asian tour groups.

The hotel has a serviceable gym and outdoor pool on the 35th floor. The view of Manila is excellent. The security ladies Zhel and Suzette who also manage the pool area made me feel welcome. I enjoyed talking with them.

Overall, I would definitely come back. Especially like my room overseeing a building contraction site, was fun to watch the men work and how they do things.

Room Tip: The higher the floor the better. Less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DerrickTan, General Manager at St Giles Makati Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to write this review. I am delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our location central. I have shared your reviews with Zhel and Suzette and they are happy to know that you have singled them out for commendation.

I look forward to welcoming you back to St Giles Hotel Makati and would appreciate if you could allow me to know when you have plans made for your next visit as I would like the opportunity to meet you.
.

Warm regards,
Derrick Tan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.0 mi away
City Garden Hotel Makati
0.1 mi away
The A.Venue Hotel
The A.Venue Hotel
#40 of 86 in Makati
736 reviews
0.0 mi away
City Garden Grand Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Berjaya Makati Hotel - Philippines
0.3 mi away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#28 of 86 in Makati
322 reviews
1.1 mi away
Astoria Greenbelt
Astoria Greenbelt
#19 of 86 in Makati
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St Giles Makati Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Giles Makati Hotel

Address: Makati Avenue | Corner Kalayaan Avenue, Makati, Luzon 1210, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Price Range: £40 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St Giles Makati Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 512
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Strategically located in the central district of Makati City, along Makati Avenue corner Kalayaan Avenue, close to Rockwell Shopping Centre, 12 km or 30 minutes by car from Ninoy Aquino International Airport. 512 contemporary designed guestrooms with broadband internet access, private bath with shower, electronic safe, LCD TV with over 60 cable channels, hair dryer, coffee/tea making facilities, iron and ironing board. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your St Giles Makati Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Giles Makati Hotel Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing