We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Like dining in Tokyo but at a fraction of the price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seryna Japanese Restaurant

Seryna Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #25 of 1,339 Restaurants in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Like dining in Tokyo but at a fraction of the price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I write this review with some hesitation, because if I tell you how excellent the food is at Seryna I risk making it harder to book a table for myself in the future. Anyway, here goes. Seryna simply has the best sushi and sashimi I have had anywhere outside Japan. They have fish flown in from Japan in addition to getting fish from good local sources so, for most items, you have a choice of excellent and (for a bit more money) "the best". In spite of the amazing quality, the prices are reasonable compared with other good local restaurants and unbelievable by comparison with what you would pay for exactly the same thing in Tokyo or New York. The restaurant is comfortable but not fancy and the other diners are a mixture of Japanese visitors/residents, Filipinos, and people from other countries. Overall, a wonderful experience every time I go.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tubulosity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    74
    10
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Authentic Japanese Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I am no foodie but I love dining out. Being raised in a fastfood atmosphere, dining out is a staple family affair and a week never passes without trying a new restaurant or simply having a good conversation over good food in a familiar ambience.

My family is not a Japanese Food fan and a Japanese restaurant always comes a second choice over other Asian Cuisine; Thai food is always the first option. But our choice made a great twist when we tried Seryna Japanese Restaurant in Makati City.


Nestled in Little Toky in Chino Roces Ave. Legazpi Village, Makati Metro, Seryna offers a distinct Japanese atmosphere. The architecture defines the simplicity of Japan. The structure, mostly wood, brought me back to my Japan trips.

It was raining hard when we chanced upon this quaint restaurant in Little Tokyo near the Makati Square. Reservation is the key for you to savor their dishes. Unfortunately, we didn't make one but thankful enough because they let us in. The Ilonnga staff made us feel welcomed.

First we tried their Sukiyaki. Commonly prepared in front of the guests (you have an option if you are particular with the smoke), this nabe dish is prepared with thinly sliced meat, vegetables, mushrooms, tofu and shirataki (konyaku noodles) simmered in a sweet soy sauce broth. The pieces of food are dipped into raw beaten egg before being eaten.

We also tried the Yakitori, reminiscent of our street food. Yakitori are skewered grilled chicken pieces seasoned with salt or sauce. Almost every part of the chicken is used for yakitori including the white and dark meat, gizzards, skin, and other organs.

My mom ordered for Yakiniku. I was informed that the price is steep but I felt they were all prepared for it. Yakiniku literally means "grilled meat" and refers to grilling bite-size pieces of meat - mostly beef and pork - on a grill at the table. Specialized yakiniku restaurants are among the most popular restaurant types in Japan and usually serve a wide variety of meat parts at multiple quality (and cost) levels.

The food was better and it became "best" when we were informed that all the raw ingredients come from Japan and is delivered on a daily basis. Even the bottled water comes from Japan. The prices may be a bit high but the thought of having all these fresh from Japan is worth an experience.

To experience this, you need to call for reservation because the place gets full all the time. The number is (02) 894-3855.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ShortsTrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
180 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good ambiance, authentic food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014

I've lived a stone's throw away from this restaurant for nearly half a year and regret not trying it until now. Sashimi is fresh, cold soba is good. And the waitresses are friendly and very helpful. Great dining experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LennaD18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frankfurt, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb Bento”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

We came to this restaurant with my co workers for lunch because we heard such good reviews. Alas, the reviews were right! the place is packed and we needed to wait for a private room. When we finally got the room to have lunch we ordered thier Bento Lunch Box.

The tempura set has 2 huge shrimps that comes with 3 thick slices of tuna. The portion sizes are big for the price you pay...not to mention the food tasted great too.

TIP: Book in advance and come early to avoid the lunch crowd

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ken o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perhaps the best Japanese resto in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

I always make it a point to dine here every time there is a craving for authentic Japanese food. One great test to know if a place is truly authentic, is to see how many Japanese diners actually patronize the place. You can never go wrong here. Very tasty food, efficient service and friendly prices.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Octoberians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seryna Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 
Makati, Metro Manila
 

Been to Seryna Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing