We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not as good as ratings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1 River Central Hostel
Ranked #22 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Makati
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I feel strange that the ratings were so nice there. I stayed for 1 night. So noisy in the room and a 4-bed room only supplied one plug. How the guys charge their electronic products???On the other hand, the air condition was controlled by the staff, it was so cold at night but I cannot change the temperture.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garrie, Manager at 1 River Central Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2015

Thanks for the feedback. It is unfortunate that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. probably due to language barriers. As for the aircon you could have at least advise us cause we would certainly lower the temperature for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

27 - 33 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2013

I'm staying here till a few days, very nice hostel , friendly staff, good room with fresh air con and comfortable bed! Good to meet people from everywhere and filipinos, share cultures, and have fun ! Not far from Rockwell center, and the shopping market, and traditionnal places of Makati.

Good little experience after one year in Australia and before going back to France! Also cheap flights to come to Manila, dont avoid this beautiful country!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camile C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garrie, Manager at 1 River Central Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2015

Thank you for the wonderful feedback looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I stayed there for 4 days and it was awesome, from the airport you take the shuttle bus and drop off to the Taff station at the back of Mcdonald and walk up straight to take MRT for 12 pesos only, drop off at guadalupe station, and exit to the right side going to Guadalupe, at the back of Jollibee you see the jeepney there sign board "AYALA ILALIM or ROCKWEL, take this jeepneey and drop off at JP RIZAL Caltex it is the only one Caltex in JP. RIZAL drop by there and you can see the 1river central infront of it. Jeepney cost PHP8.00 pesos only......10 minutes away going to ayala center and makati business center and even 10 minutes away going to shangrila shaw blrd.

If you arer first time in Manila, the staff of this hostel will accompany you to the sight seeing free of charge but of course you need to pay your own expenses.

This hotel is very clean and Aircon PHP450 pesos only as in WOW NA WOW.
with free breakfast, and the owner of this backpacker hostel is amazing because he took us to QC Friday night to hang out and testing the the local food which is very awesome.

Bas and Pub if you like is that 10 minutes away.

BAD? is no towel how i wish there is a free towel to use because i forget mine. but all in all it was a brilliant experience.

Room Tip: everything are perfect. Just bring your own towel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cebugadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garrie, Manager at 1 River Central Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2015

Thank you for the wonderful feedback looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Cool Place,good service and facilities.All staff friendly and have service mind.Good for value of money.Next time at Manila i will stay here.
Location close to MRT Guadalope. can walk to Makati area in 10 minute.

Room Tip: all rooms have A/C with private curtain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T2Ubangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garrie, Manager at 1 River Central Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2015

Thank you for the wonderful feedback looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Good place, close to the city center, good service and complete facilities :)
When i stayed here i met some new friends from other country that was very happy and fun!
This place near to the mall and also to MRT station, so if you guys will be going to Philippines and confused to find some inn or hostel, 1 River Central Hostel is a good choice!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChiniJuanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garrie, Manager at 1 River Central Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2015

Thank you for the wonderful feedback looking forward to seeing you in the future. Im glad you met some new friends in our hostel that is one of the nice thing in staying in a hostel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I stayed at the hostel for 5 days and it was like home away from home and even better, seriously. They entertain/accommodate their guests very well, especially the sweet and friendly ate Lourdes, the fun and bubbly Juan and most of all the fierce yet charming ate Hilda. :)

The rooms where clean and it has a private curtain for you which will help you get your privacy even when there are other people around, if you move it aside though - it gives you the opportunity to mingle with other people from different cultures who are staying in the hostel or in the room as well :) they even offer to tour you during the day or show you the night life whenever you like.

you wouldn't have to worry about going outside the moment you wake up since they offer free breakfast for you. it's simple, convenient, and it tastes even better because they serve it to you with a smile on their faces ;) the location is also easily accessible and near rockwell powerplant mall, makati avenue and the mrt station. Wifi connection isn't spotty, it was actually really good and you wouldn't have to get upset if you're skyping with loved ones abroad. I can testify to that. hahaha...

In terms of the price, this one is the best hostel you can find in makati that's affordable or even in manila for that matter. It made me feel like i didn't wanna go home, but i'll be back here pretty soon that's for sure! :) keep up the good work 1 river central hostel and more power :)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ohmissyoung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garrie, Manager at 1 River Central Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2015

Thank you for the wonderful feedback looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

We stayed their with my colleague for 18 days since it's just nearby our training venue which was at the University of Makati... They have friendly receptionists and very accommodating...You can also cook your own food and you can have video sessions at night if you like... and the laundry shop is just nearby.. The hostel is also clean but a bit noisy since it's near the streets... But all in all, the experience was satisfactory... :)

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiCiMi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garrie, Manager at 1 River Central Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2015

Thank you for the wonderful feedback looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.6 mi away
The Jeepney House
The Jeepney House
#13 of 61 in Makati
29 reviews
0.7 mi away
Urban Hostel Makati
Urban Hostel Makati
#25 of 61 in Makati
16 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilik Boutique Hostel
Hilik Boutique Hostel
#12 of 61 in Makati
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Our Melting Pot
Our Melting Pot
#3 of 61 in Makati
322 reviews
0.7 mi away
Our Awesome Hostel
Our Awesome Hostel
#8 of 61 in Makati
100 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lokal Hostel
Lokal Hostel
#10 of 61 in Makati
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1 River Central Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1 River Central Hostel

Address: 1109 J.P. Rizal | Guadalupe Viejo, Makati, Luzon 1121, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Makati
Price Range: £8 - £10 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 River Central is a new 22 bed backpacker hostel in between the lively city life of Makati and the mighty water of the Pasig River. Highly accessible from the Ninoy Aquino International Airport, 1River Central is just a 20 minute taxi ride away. This 4-story hostel has 5 cozy shared-bedrooms for 4-6 guests in each room. Bathrooms are shared in each floor. Rooms generally split men from women but special arrangements may be allowed if booking the entire room. Each bed has its own safety deposit box and a cabinet that can fit a backpack. 1 River Central offers free WI-FI and free breakfast to all its guests. From 1River Central one can explore the city in so many ways as taxis, jeepneys, buses and the Metro Railway Station are just a few minutes away from your doorstep.• 5 minutes walk from Rockwell’s Power Plant mall one can find a mix of specialty brands, both international and local, a supermarket, lifestyle retailers, specialty boutiques, themed restaurants and state-of-the-art cinemas. • 5 minute taxi ride will bring you to Greenbelt, a three-hectare park punctuated by cascading landscapes and carefully-chosen water features re-imagines the typical mall with a roster of prominent and world-class retailers, restaurateurs and entertainment operators.• 15 minute drive is Greenhills Shopping Centre, a mecca for discerning shoppers. Bargain hunters can have a shopping galore experience from clothes, shoes, electronics, accessories, home wares and many more.• 5 minute taxi ride is Makati Avenue where night life never stops until the wee hours of the morning. • 5 minutes by jeep is the depot for the Pasig River ferry that can bring guests to Old Manila/Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your 1 River Central Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 River Central Hostel Makati, Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing