We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“budget homestyle accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
1 River Central Hostel
Ranked #22 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Makati
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Hostel is good for budget travellers. Rooms are ok, aircondition works well, bathrooms are clean. Hot water is available which is a bonus. Breakfast is included which is okey too. Staff are all helpful and quite friendly. If the owner of the hotel, spend more money in fixing the lounge area at the rooftop, then I think, the hostel is a good place to stay. Roof should be fix as when its raining, the place is flooded as all roofs are leaking.I ordered foods to share with my relatives but cant use the rooftop as you need umbrella to be able to sit there...alls wet even the karaoke machine..so to the owner of 1river central, spend more money on what is necessary for travellers like me, place you can sit and not get wet, cant really have relatives on the rooms so no choice but for all of us to have a shower in the rain in the leaking roofs. Cant really go anywhere when Manila is underwater, I guess better to get wet than drown.

Room Tip: not sure as I did not really see all the rooms, stayed in a room with 2 bunk bed, its good,aircon wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Divina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garrie, Manager at 1 River Central Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2015

Thank you for the wonderful feedback looking forward to seeing you in the future. The rooftop has already been fixed after your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

23 - 29 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

Its great home far away from home,i feel comfortable in this hostel,i always stay in this hostel whenever i go in manila,i think i stayed here 7 times and i really like this place.Friendly staffs ,last time i stay here with my little daughter, free breakfast and wifi..stay in this hostel and u will feel like home.. merci

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billois_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garrie, Manager at 1 River Central Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2015

Thank you for the wonderful feedback looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My original plan is to stay just for 4 days but I never felt so home that's why i keep extending my stay for a total of 9 days...I give excellent rating first on the location its very accessible and very near to places that I wanna visit.Second is the staff, they let me feel so at home, very friendly,warm people and gives every information you wanna know.Third are the facilities, i love my bed and the room is clean well ventilated,the comfort rooms also are clean..They also have cctv every floor which is very good for security purposes and wifi every floor and inside the room...My favorite part of the hostel is at the rooftop or the deck part where you can have your free breakfast and chill with the guest...and lastly is the value for money its very cheap so you'll surely gonna extend more of your stay like me and I even gained a lot of friends in different nationalities how good is that..1 river central is the best HOSTEL...I salute to the staffs namely Ate Hilda,Ate Elsa and Juanna..You guys are the best..keep it up..i'll surely come back again..see yah soon

Room Tip: rooms at 2nd and 3rd floor are nice and spacious..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Miz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garrie, Manager at 1 River Central Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2015

Thank you for the wonderful feedback looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

i stayed there at 3 days and it was awesome and very nice hostel, they has friendly staff, good room and you will having fun of being a guest because you will meet other people that you make a memory that you will miss it so much.....:) and if you are a first timer in Manila, the staff will accompany you to sight seeing free of charge but of course you need to pay your own expenses..then if you want to to sing along with the staff they are a good singer they will come with you in their roof,, because it has a videoke that is free of charge in their hostel...its a Good experience for traveling in Manila and also for staying in OneriverCentral hostel...im so happy because in this hostel i can stay...and dont avoid to travel this gorgeous and wonderful country.. and also in this hostel..!!!!from UK

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahadera Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garrie, Manager at 1 River Central Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2015

Thank you for the wonderful feedback looking forward to seeing you in the future. Looking forward to hearing your wonderful voice again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I feel strange that the ratings were so nice there. I stayed for 1 night. So noisy in the room and a 4-bed room only supplied one plug. How the guys charge their electronic products???On the other hand, the air condition was controlled by the staff, it was so cold at night but I cannot change the temperture.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Summer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garrie, Manager at 1 River Central Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2015

Thanks for the feedback. It is unfortunate that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. probably due to language barriers. As for the aircon you could have at least advise us cause we would certainly lower the temperature for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I'm staying here till a few days, very nice hostel , friendly staff, good room with fresh air con and comfortable bed! Good to meet people from everywhere and filipinos, share cultures, and have fun ! Not far from Rockwell center, and the shopping market, and traditionnal places of Makati.

Good little experience after one year in Australia and before going back to France! Also cheap flights to come to Manila, dont avoid this beautiful country!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camile C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garrie, Manager at 1 River Central Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2015

Thank you for the wonderful feedback looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I stayed there for 4 days and it was awesome, from the airport you take the shuttle bus and drop off to the Taff station at the back of Mcdonald and walk up straight to take MRT for 12 pesos only, drop off at guadalupe station, and exit to the right side going to Guadalupe, at the back of Jollibee you see the jeepney there sign board "AYALA ILALIM or ROCKWEL, take this jeepneey and drop off at JP RIZAL Caltex it is the only one Caltex in JP. RIZAL drop by there and you can see the 1river central infront of it. Jeepney cost PHP8.00 pesos only......10 minutes away going to ayala center and makati business center and even 10 minutes away going to shangrila shaw blrd.

If you arer first time in Manila, the staff of this hostel will accompany you to the sight seeing free of charge but of course you need to pay your own expenses.

This hotel is very clean and Aircon PHP450 pesos only as in WOW NA WOW.
with free breakfast, and the owner of this backpacker hostel is amazing because he took us to QC Friday night to hang out and testing the the local food which is very awesome.

Bas and Pub if you like is that 10 minutes away.

BAD? is no towel how i wish there is a free towel to use because i forget mine. but all in all it was a brilliant experience.

Room Tip: everything are perfect. Just bring your own towel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cebugadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garrie, Manager at 1 River Central Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2015

Thank you for the wonderful feedback looking forward to seeing you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.7 mi away
Urban Hostel Makati
Urban Hostel Makati
#25 of 61 in Makati
16 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilik Boutique Hostel
Hilik Boutique Hostel
#12 of 61 in Makati
92 reviews
0.8 mi away
Our Melting Pot
Our Melting Pot
#3 of 61 in Makati
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Our Awesome Hostel
Our Awesome Hostel
#8 of 61 in Makati
100 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lokal Hostel
Lokal Hostel
#10 of 61 in Makati
80 reviews
0.7 mi away
Junction Hostel Makati
Junction Hostel Makati
#2 of 61 in Makati
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1 River Central Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1 River Central Hostel

Address: 1109 J.P. Rizal | Guadalupe Viejo, Makati, Luzon 1121, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 61 Speciality Lodging in Makati
Price Range: £8 - £10 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1 River Central is a new 22 bed backpacker hostel in between the lively city life of Makati and the mighty water of the Pasig River. Highly accessible from the Ninoy Aquino International Airport, 1River Central is just a 20 minute taxi ride away. This 4-story hostel has 5 cozy shared-bedrooms for 4-6 guests in each room. Bathrooms are shared in each floor. Rooms generally split men from women but special arrangements may be allowed if booking the entire room. Each bed has its own safety deposit box and a cabinet that can fit a backpack. 1 River Central offers free WI-FI and free breakfast to all its guests. From 1River Central one can explore the city in so many ways as taxis, jeepneys, buses and the Metro Railway Station are just a few minutes away from your doorstep.• 5 minutes walk from Rockwell’s Power Plant mall one can find a mix of specialty brands, both international and local, a supermarket, lifestyle retailers, specialty boutiques, themed restaurants and state-of-the-art cinemas. • 5 minute taxi ride will bring you to Greenbelt, a three-hectare park punctuated by cascading landscapes and carefully-chosen water features re-imagines the typical mall with a roster of prominent and world-class retailers, restaurateurs and entertainment operators.• 15 minute drive is Greenhills Shopping Centre, a mecca for discerning shoppers. Bargain hunters can have a shopping galore experience from clothes, shoes, electronics, accessories, home wares and many more.• 5 minute taxi ride is Makati Avenue where night life never stops until the wee hours of the morning. • 5 minutes by jeep is the depot for the Pasig River ferry that can bring guests to Old Manila/Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your 1 River Central Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 River Central Hostel Makati, Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing