We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ma maa, omakase”
Review of Omakase

Omakase
Ranked #910 of 1,386 Restaurants in Makati
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Ma maa, omakase”
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Salmon skin sushi is tops, dynamite roll looks hot
Whatever you do, order katsu curry not.

It really isn't curry at all. It looks and tastes more like mild tomato sauce.
The pork cutlet though is good, but too thin.
But then again, the prices are affordable so I can't complain much.
Service is good, waiters are attentive.
This Omakase branch in Ayala Triangle has better view than the one in Alabang.
Lastly, order the sushi tray, it has good combination.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaxManila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    19
    10
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“my friend already told that omakase's food is not so good, but i still try and i just confirmed that my friend is right.”
Reviewed 2 April 2013

yakisoba is very salty, i cant really eat it.
the pork shoguyaki? it is no taste. i am very dissapointed! i talked to the waiter and he just ignored my comment in their food. actually i took the picture of what ive ordered in your restaurant to send it in your hotline. i just want to advise that you must change your chef and improve your costumer service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sanditot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,644 reviews
962 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,302 helpful votes
“Lovely Japanese Food at Ayala Triangle Complex!”
Reviewed 16 February 2013

We were actually going to dine in at Kanin Club but as they were closed we walked around and thought the menu at Omakase looked great. Very extensive menu. The place was so busy the night we attended that they extended the closing time.As such service could have improved.

Only disappointment was that several of our first choice dishes were not available. However in the end we chose dishes such as Miso Soup, Grilled Salmon, Yakatori and Chicken Roll.

All the dishes were good and we would certainly recommend dining at this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tommomelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“food is ok but wait staff is undermanned”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Good location after watching the light show at the Ayala Triangle Gardens. We were a party of 11 and I know from experience that it's hard to get a table for that many people so I tried making reservations earlier but I was informed that there were no reservations and it was a first come, first served basis. Consequently, there was a bit of a wait to get a table. The food was OK, not spectacular. The sushi boat had a good selection but lacked enough wasabi and kalamansi. We had to ask for these items repeatedly. Sukiyaki, asparagus beef roll and yakisoba were good. The chicken teriyaki and stir-fried bean sprouts were very bland. Shrimp tempura was excellent with the batter nice, fluffy and light. The wait staff were friendly but looked harassed and overwhelmed. They looked understaffed and could not quite keep up with our requests. Overall, an OK place to eat but would not recommend it for a group of more than 6. If they accepted reservations, it would have been a more pleasant experience.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Why is it hard to find decent sushi and good service?”
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We dined here based on reviews from Tripadvisor. This place was terrible. The sushi seemed a couple days old and the service was lacking attention and hospitality. But then again, this was the second Japanese Sushi Restaurant that we've tried while in Makati, and it was a similar experience to a much more expensive place in a near by hotel.

Seriously, most of the places we've dined in outside our hotel was pretty terrible. I guess I am using my standards that I have become accustomed to in the US...

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeJoeInSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Omakase also viewed

Muntinlupa, Metro Manila
Makati, Metro Manila
 
Makati, Metro Manila
 

Been to Omakase? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing