We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Makati Shangri-La Manila
Ranked #11 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Visited Manila in early Dec 13, staying in Shangri-la Makati for 4 nights. the hotel is located only 30mins from the manila airport and it is right at the heart of the city, nearby shopping is great, with all the Green belt shopping village and other up market malls around. The area is very safe too. right in front of the hotel there is a Starbucks store which is my favorite store to visit.

The hotel room is clean and huge bed too, the docor is a bit out dated but still in good function and well maintained. The hotel facilities are great, gym, swimming pool and conference facilities is good. There are 3 restaurants in the hotel and the chinese restaurant is excellent which i rated this restaurant highest amount other restaurant that I visited before in other countries. The Japanese restaurant is also very good, the varity of dish offering in the menu is great and all taste great. Althought the price is a bit higher than usual in this city, I still think it is worth to try.
Overall this is a good place to stay for business and for family would like to explore Manlia.

Room Tip: The hotel is at the city center and higher is the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eskchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,739)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,639 - 1,645 of 2,739 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

When travelling on business we tend to go to 'cookie cutter' hotels and these are totally acceptable. Every now and then you use a hotel that steps out of that mould. The Makati Shangri La is that. The rooms are superb, comfortable, spacious and well appointed. The cleaners even note what fruit you eat and replace with extra of that, in my case mangoes. I was fortunate enough to be using the Horizon Club because of meetings and the 2hrs free use each day. Now to the extra effort, in the evening they have cocktails and snacks in the club, I like a specific drink so on the first night I asked if they had a can of the mixer I needed, there was none in the hotel, the manager in the club(Miss Jade)asked if I minded waiting a few minutes as she would send someone out to the store to buy some in. That is what real customer service is! As it happened I demurred and had a different drink that evening, however the next night as I sat down, my mixer was bought to my table. What service, I know it is a minor point and trivial but getting those points right tends to lead to getting the big things right as well.

In my list of hotels that I will always use in a particular town, the Makati Shangri La is constant winner. When they get the new 'Conways' up and running it will be back to it's old self.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Gulag2448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Restaurants are pricey but food is excellent. Hotel food is pricey but excellent. Ambience is outstanding. Service is outstand – service provider’s politeness appears authentic. Great to stay. Highly recommend this hotel. The only disappointment is the internet. Internet service was off and on – sometimes it worked, and sometimes it didn’t. A bit frustrating.

Room Tip: Rooms are large and very accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank 808PKF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I am a regular customer at Shangri-La Hotels and I can say that Shangri-La stands out in terms of service and quality. The buffet breakfast at the Shangri-La's are second to none and the Makati Shangri-La exceeds expectations. While the price of the room is at the upper range, there are benefits that justify the cost.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank mathoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Positive.
-All staff are polite and corteous. From the reservation officer I talked over the phone, the guards at entrance doors, lobby officers who checked us in, staff who answered and brought my request for new pillow, restaurant staff and pool lifeguard.

-I love how big our bed was!

-Elegant room design
. I appreciated the tables and other furnitures have rounded edges. I dont have to worry about my toddler running around the room to get hurt on the corners of the tables.

-Superb breakfast buffet. I would have made myself more hungry as I didn't get to enjoy each dish.

NEGATIVE
-First thing I checked when we got inside the room was the bathroom. There was no toilet bidet. :( For a 5 star hotel, I was not expecting this basic hygiene necessity to be missing. Frontdesk said, some rooms in the Suite have bidets in their bathroom. Why would you choose rooms for bidet availability? Everyone, regardless of money or stature has to wash up their 'you know what' after doing their toilet business.

-Incomplete toiletries. The other non 5star hotels give more complete set. Ours didn't even have cotton balls and disposable shaver.

-Generic or unbranded toiletries. Again, this was just my expectation for a 5 star hotel. Dusit Thani uses L'Ocittane. I'm not sure if it's dependent again on the room type you availed.


-The extra blanket and pillow in the closet smells like it has already been used. I'm guessing the previous user of the room neatly folded the blanket and pillows again and stashed it back in the closet. Housekeeping assumed it was never used so never bothered changing them to fresh linens.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ava_garde06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This is one of the finest hotels I have stayed in during all my years of business travel. I cannot say enough about the quality of the room, the food and the service I experienced during this trip.
The room has all the amenities required for a business traveler. Plenty of power outlets, fast internet wireless access, quiet, large and very clean.
The staff were exceptional. I stayed on the Horizon Club floor and made full use of the club amenities including high tea and a happy hour reception. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they made the long trip from the USA very worth while.

Room Tip: Request a room on the Horizon club floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2013

5 star service, amazingly efficient at arranging anything - you just can't be disappointed!
Large well appointed room.
Great location in Makati, with the great Greenbelt bar/restaurant area 5 minutes walk away.

We were actually visiting as tourists not on business (2 nights only between the beaches of El Nido and Boracay) but found this location with its good nightlife suited us.... Although during the day went to the old quarter of Intramuros, and a food tour of Chinatown.

And we loved the Christmas decorations in the lobby!.... A moving reindeer and sleigh!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mollyjetset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.1 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#5 of 86 in Makati
2,224 reviews
0.3 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#21 of 86 in Makati
2,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 86 in Makati
1,787 reviews
0.2 mi away
Raffles Makati
Raffles Makati
#1 of 86 in Makati
453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn & Suites Makati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makati Shangri-La Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makati Shangri-La Manila

Address: Ayala Avenue Corner Makati Avenue | Makati City, Metro Manila, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Makati
#3 Family Hotel in Makati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#9 Spa Hotel in Makati
#10 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range: £123 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Makati Shangri-La Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 696
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makati Shangri-La, Manila is located at the center of Manila's most prestigious business, shopping and entertainment district. Just 20 minutes away from the international airport, this award-winning hotel offers exquisite comfort and world class luxury. From its exceptionally spacious and beautifully appointed rooms to its lavish restaurants and exciting bars, its high-speed internet access to its full-service Spa and Fitness Center, Makati Shangri-La lives up to its reputation as Manilas leading hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Makati Shangri-La Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makati Shangri-La Manila Hotel Makati
Shangri La Manila Makati
Shangri La Makati
Shangrila Makati
Makati Shangri La Hotel
Makati Shangri-La Manila Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing