We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Inquiry”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Makati Shangri-La Manila
Ranked #10 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wedding Inquiry”
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

I visited the hotel to make a wedding inquiry. Expecting that I would just be assisted just the same as how other hotels did was a mistake. The events receptionist was so pleasant and accommodating. You will never feel that she assisted a bunch of guests already as three couples came ahead of me. With her enthusiasm, the inquiry which lasted for an hour just felt like wonderful few minutes. It was just a dismay that I did not get her name. But thank you for the superb service.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventurousZac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain B, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La Manila, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear AdventurousZac,

Thank you for sharing your experience at the hotel’s Events Information Center with us. I have sent your compliments to the team. We hope to be able to assist you with your wedding requirements.

Sincerely,

Alain Borgers
Area Manager / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,769
    621
    124
    52
    59
See reviews for
389
374
204
1,391
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Indiana, USA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I stayed at the Makati Shangri-la for business. The staff was amazing. Very friendly, helpful, and responded immediately to request.The buffet breakfast was awesome. One staff member suggested a croissant with chocolate. Wished I would have found this the first day rather than the last.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank whitewolf126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain B, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La Manila, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear WhiteWolf126,

Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on Makati Shangri-La. I am happy to know that you were delighted with your stay. We look forward to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Alain Borgers
Area Manager / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

When you arrive at the Makati Shangri-La you're immediately subject to security checks - the car is searched and armed guards with sniffer dogs check you over before you go in. Once you're in, you'll find spacious and very nicely appointed public areas with excellent service - this is a very comfortable hotel with all the amenities.

The room was also spacious and very nicely appointed and, unlike so many other premium hotels, the wi-fi was complimentary and worked well.

There were only two things that stopped me giving it a five blob rating. The first, was the bathroom. It was kitted out with old fashioned US style sanitary ware that looked like it had been around the block a few times; indeed the lavatory bowl was cracked in several places - definitely not in keeping! The second was the service. On the face of it, the service was faultless as you'd expect in an Asian five star hotel. But I couldn't escape the feeling that it was all just formulaic responses that had been drummed into the staff - there was very little warmth coming through.

Apart from those minor points, it's an excellent hotel and I shall certainly stay there again when I next visit Manila.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SixNineOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain B, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La Manila, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear SixNineOne,

Thank you for your detailed review of Makati Shangri-La. I have taken note of the points you have included, in particular the maintenance work that needs to be done for us to keep our quality. Your points really hit the spot, and I thank you for showing us what we need to remember every time in our work – that our core values guide us to treat each and everyone with hospitality from the heart.

We hope that you can give us another opportunity to show you that we do care for our guests.

Sincerely,


Alain Borgers
Area Manager / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at every big hotel in Manila over the last ten years, and finally settled on the Shangri-La about five years ago. It's perfectly located for Metro Manila in Makati City, with plenty of different types of restaurants and bars, and fine room service. Every possible type of hotel service is available. The hotel just stands above its worldwide competitors in this location.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank George817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain B, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La Manila, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear George817,

Thank you for letting us know about your pleasant experience at Makati Shangri-La, Manila. We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel for your future travels.

Sincerely,

Alain Borgers
Area Manager / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

I had stayed here last year but that was for only one night, so could not explore the hotel. This time I must say, it is now in my list of favorites hotels. The staff is very friendly, rooms are too good and so well organised- you would find everything ready for your use just when you enter, the location is very good. Breakfast was very elaborate and the gym very well equipped. The best gym till date i have seen in any five star hotel. Really enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shach25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

In December 2013, my wife and I visited the Philippines for one month and stayed at Makati Shangri-La for 9 days, and at New World Makati Hotel for 18 days. I am rating the hotels and using five stars to indicate the highest rating and one star to indicate the lowest rating on the categories listed below. After assigning the appropriate star for each category, I totaled the number of stars and divided the total by the number of categories I reviewed ( ) in order to come up with the final star to represent the average rating for each hotel.

FINAL RATING:

Makati Shangri-La: 3 stars

New World Makati: 4 stars

INDIVIDUAL CATEGORIES:

Value:
Makati Shangri-La Hotel: 2 stars. Very expensive at over $400 per day.
New World Hotel: 4 stars. New World provided better value at about $130 per day for the same room.

Room:
Makati Shangri-La: 3 stars
Shangri-La's room had a musty smell. The carpets looked old and worn, and badly needs to be shampooed.

New World: 2 stars
New World had remodeled rooms, BUT I was in room 2017 (20th floor) and the floor below me was being remodeled. Therefore you will be annoyed with all the jack hammer noise and constant pounding from 10a.m. until 6p.m. Thus, I give the New World 2 stars in this category. When traveling, one expects a peaceful and relaxing experience in a hotel room.

Service:
Makati Shangri-La: 4 stars
Shangri-La had good service. But if you make a request such as giving extra mangoes instead of bananas, the staff becomes easily confused and consequently fails to deliver what you requested. On New Year's Eve 2013, my wife and I had dinner and they were serving an Italian dinner. I ordered pasta and requested garlic be added to my sauce. I was informed they did NOT have garlic! Not that they ran out of garlic, they just failed to include it in their preparation.

New World Makati: 4 stars
New World Makati had good service. When I had a problem with my room or need some assistance, the staff had consistently been courteous and helpful.

Fitness Center:
Makati Shangri-La: 4 stars
The fitness center floor plan is well thought out in that the equipments are in one room. The staff is very helpful and does a great job keeping the fitness center clean.

New World Makat: 3 stars
The fitness center was newly remodeled, but there is an offensive odor that emanates from the rubber floor of the weight room. I constantly have to open the two doors in order to air out the room and minimize the rubber fumes. The lay out of the fitness center is awkward in that there are three rooms: one for weights, one for boxing, and one for the stationary bikes/treadmill.

Food:
Makati Shangri-La: 3 stars
Shangri-La may serve eye appealing dishes, but the quality and taste of the food it serves fail to live up to world standards. For example, a simple dish, such as rice, was either overcooked or under cooked. For heavens sake we are in a rice eating country and this hotel serves low quality and incorrectly cooked rice! As for the other dishes, as well as pastries, it gets a solid 3 stars only. The chefs at Shangri-La, based on the unmemorable dishes they serve, appear to be complacent and fail to CONSISTENTLY taste the food prepared by their cooks.

New World: 5 stars
After staying and eating at their restaurant for four days (breakfast, lunch, dinner), I finally complimented the Executive Chef of New World Makati, Mr. Ivan Chieregatti, for serving fresh and tasty food on a CONSISTENT basis. The Filipino and Western dishes were cooked the way it should be. An extra treat for me was that the soups they served were hot and flavorful. The New World Makati may have less food selection when compared to

Other Helpful Information:
1. The foreign currency exchange rates (from dollars to pesos) at Shangri-La are lower by about 4 Philippine Pesos for each dollar you exchange. Thus, you are getting less pesos for your dollars. Since Shangri-La gives you lower rates for your dollars, do NOT let them charge your credit card in pesos when it comes time to pay your hotel bill. Direct them to pay your hotel bill in U.S. Dollars when charging your credit card.

On the other hand, the New World Makati gives you better exchange rates for your dollars. For example, when the dollar got 45 pesos in international currency markets, New World gave me 44 pesos for each of my dollars.

2. The location of New World Makati is literally walking distance (within 50 to 100 steps) to the nearest shops, restaurants, coffee shops, movie houses, and shopping center. There are plenty of security officers (both in the hotel and Greenbelt Shopping Mall) who are very helpful in giving you directions or basic information about the Makati area.

Special personal thanks to New World Makati Hotel staff:

1. Ms. Baby Lyn, Cafe 1228 Restaurant, for her helpfulness and effectively supervising her staff in providing attentive service to hotel guests.

2. Ms. Barreda, Assistant Resident Manager, for helping us deal with the construction noise of the hotel.

3. Ms. Joan, Hotel Manager, for assisting with the hotel's business center.

4. Ms. Rai, Concierge Services, for diligently helping us look for local dance places to help celebrate our 30th anniversary.

5. Security Officers of New World Makati Hotel for their alertness, for being helpful, and for always logging the taxi driver information when we take local taxis.

6. Chef Robert, Cafe 1228 Restaurant, for his attentiveness and consistently directing food staff to ensure there proper amounts of food in the buffet lines.

7. Executive Chef, New World Makati Hotel, Chef Ivan Chieregatti, for always being visible, as well as training and effectively overseeing the chefs who make the fresh and tasty foods we enjoyed during our 18 day stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the less traffic noise. Pick a room that has a view of Ayala and Makati Avenu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank DancerCommander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Right from when I step into the hotel, I was permanently greeted with a smile. Every staffs takes initiative to step up to offer help if I look just a tad bit lost. Excellent breakfast spread and excellent in room dining experience. Fantastic food. Very well equipped health club and nice pool condition, always attended by at least 1 lifeguard. Right in the middle of metro Manila with plenty to shop all over if so require.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Pui_Saan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.3 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#4 of 82 in Makati
2,116 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#16 of 82 in Makati
1,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 82 in Makati
1,620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Makati Diamond Residences
0.1 mi away
Discovery Primea
Discovery Primea
#2 of 82 in Makati
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makati Shangri-La Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makati Shangri-La Manila

Property: Makati Shangri-La Manila
Address: Ayala Avenue Corner Makati Avenue | Makati City, Metro Manila, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Makati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#3 Family Hotel in Makati
#8 Luxury Hotel in Makati
#8 Spa Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Makati Shangri-La Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 696
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makati Shangri-La, Manila is located at the center of Manila's most prestigious business, shopping and entertainment district. Just 20 minutes away from the international airport, this award-winning hotel offers exquisite comfort and world class luxury. From its exceptionally spacious and beautifully appointed rooms to its lavish restaurants and exciting bars, its high-speed internet access to its full-service Spa and Fitness Center, Makati Shangri-La lives up to its reputation as Manilas leading hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Makati Shangri-La Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makati Shangri-La Manila Hotel Makati
Shangri La Manila Makati
Shangri La Makati
Shangrila Makati
Makati Shangri La Hotel
Makati Shangri-La Manila Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing