We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deteriorating service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Makati Shangri-La Manila
Ranked #10 of 83 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Deteriorating service”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Service has deteriorated in Makati Shangrila. They always make mistakes with group bookings and charging for company events. Shang Palace restaurant service is so poor consistently--service is extraordinarily slow and staff are not attentive. This is not a hotel for corporate events especially with foreign guests. Not a good example of service excellence.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
8 Thank R N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain B, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La Manila, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear R N,

I’m very sorry to hear that service fell short of your expectations. May I know of specific details that service was not good, especially for foreign guests? I will personally see to it to discuss this with my team and take action to correct shortcomings you may have experienced. Please feel free to e-mail me with more details at alain.borgers@shangri-la.com. Poor service is unacceptable especially for us, as we take hospitality and delighting guests to heart.

Yours truly,

Alain Borgers
Area Manager / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,790
    626
    125
    55
    59
See reviews for
398
375
208
1,405
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I always stay in Makati Shangri La during my business trips and the last time I was there was during the typhoon in July 2014. Given the force majeure event of the day, the service was unusually slow. However, this is still the best located hotel in town and close to the Greenbelt area where you can wine and dine with the number of options available. I like the unlimited pressings and laundry service that the hotel offer at a premium room rate, and this makes life easy for business travellers. The F&B outlets are great with the best buffet in town and the Japanese and Chinese restaurants are pretty good as well and it's always nice to hold meetings at the lobby bar though I notice that there were a lot of flies during the last trip.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yodissen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain B, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La Manila, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Yodissen,

Thank you for your observations. It is unfortunate that you were in town at a time when a major typhoon hit, but I’m glad to know you stayed safe and dry in the hotel throughout this ordeal. Your positive feedback and observations on the restaurants are well noted and appreciated. I hope to welcome you again in the hotel when business takes you back to Manila.


Sincerely,

Alain Borgers
Area Manager / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 395 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

This is my first visit to the Philippines, so my review is based on the standard of hotels I have experienced across the globe as opposed to a pure comparison within Manila.

I used the hotels airport limo service, which whilst pricey at almost PHP2,900 one-way, it was a great service and felt much safer than risking a local airport taxi.

Location: this hotel is ideally placed in the business district, very close to a number of shopping malls and restaurants, including the Hard Rock Cafe. The hotel has armed guards at the entrance and the business district does feel very safe, with a very visible police presence. However, I would recommend checking with the hotel if you plan to travel further afield as public transport is not great and safety can be a concern in some areas.

Hotel: check-in was very efficient and as I have no loyalty status with this group, I had a standard twin room. This was a good size, with a fruit bowl, tea/coffee and complimentary water. It also had an in-room safe, and bathrobes/slippers. The bathroom had a separate bath tub and shower, with additional toothbrush, cotton buds and hair grip! I did use the gym and this was well equipped with both cardio and free weights. The hotel also had a good size pool and tennis courts.

I had breakfast in the Sage restaurant both mornings during my stay. The continental breakfast bar had a good selection of fresh fruits and pastries, but not much else - it was sadly lacking a cold meats and cheese selection from my perspective. I was also overcharged on the first morning, so I would recommend carefully checking your bill.

I tried the Inagiku Japanese restaurant on the first night. The menu offered good choice, but there was a long wait between courses and the salmon teriyaki was very dry! The staff did apologise for the delay in serving the food.

The staff were very friendly and willing to help. Given this is my first stay at this chain, I do hope for a better overall experience on future visits.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank KentHonestTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain B, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La Manila, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear KentHonestTraveler,

Thank you for taking time to write about your stay, and for detailing your observations about the hotel. I’m glad to know that you were able to try the hotel’s facilities. As for breakfast, we also offer buffet at our all-day dining restaurant, Circles Event Cafe, which offers food from cuisines all over the world. I hope you get to try this the next time you are in the city.


Sincerely,

Alain Borgers
Area Manager / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The Shang is located right in the middle of Makati so is great for shopping and dining. The hotel is very opulent with an amazing lobby and beautiful ladies to greet you as you enter. They even have string quartets playing in the lobby area during afternoon tea. The rooms are beautifully furnished and quite modern. But the hotel, not surprisingly, is not cheap and I would probably find somewhere less opulent and half the price when I next go to Manila.

Room Tip: Request an upgrade at no extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain B, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La Manila, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Paul M,

Thank you for the positive feedback. Location is a big asset for us, what with business and leisure spots merely steps away from the hotel. I’m glad you enjoyed the little details that make the hotel especially unique, such as the 14-string quartet that plays every afternoon in the Lobby Lounge. I do hope that despite the rates, you found value for your money, which we always strive to bring to each and every guest. We always ensure that service and delighting guests in every way is second to none – something that we take pride in at Shangri-La.


Sincerely,

Alain Borgers
Area Manager / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I've stayed in this location at least 10 times, more than 30 nights, over the past 3 years. I really feel the service in this location has gotten drastically worse every time I stay here. While the staff seem to try hard, there seems to be basic lack of understanding when it comes to providing excellent service. Shang Palace, the signature Cantonese restaurant, was a classic example of the poor service. I literally sat there for 15 minutes without one single server providing a menu or asking for a drink order. I believe I could have stayed there for 2 hours and no one would have minded me, if not for me flagging them down.

Additionally, the hotel is getting a bit dated. I really do hope the hotels improves as this is one of the better locations for a hotel in Makati. It provides convenient access to a lot of places within the busy business district without having to deal with the atrocious traffic in the city.

I really do hope that management works on the service level because the hotel has one of the better locations in Makati.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kerwin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain B, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La Manila, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Kerwin G,

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience, and I’m sorry to hear you had less than satisfactory stay with us. We do take guest comments very seriously, and I have thoroughly discussed the points you have noted with my team. We always welcome improvement, thanks to our guests like you who point out shortcomings and oversights.

I hope despite these setbacks, you give us another opportunity to prove why the Shangri-La hospitality is hailed as one of the best in the world. You and your family will always be welcome to Makati Shangri-La.


Sincerely,

Alain Borgers
Area Manager / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yelm, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is an awesome hotel centrally located to many malls and restaurants. The staff are exceptionally friendly and personable. I was originally scheduled to change hotels after the first 7 days of my month long trip, this hotel was so good I canceled the other hotel and remained at this one.

Room Tip: If your have any issues, you only have to ask the staff and they will be attended to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank tactinstr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain B, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La Manila, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Dear tactinstr,

Location does play a huge role for the hotel, being in the center of all the city action in Manila. I’m glad that you were able to explore around the area during your stay. It’s good to hear that you decided to prolong your stay with us, I will be sure to pass on your kind words to my team for a job well done. Looking forward to welcome you back in the hotel again soon.


Sincerely,
Alain Borgers
Area Manager / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Ms Stephanie Santos, Horizon Club Manager is an exceptional professional She leads a staff of dedicated professionals that are unmatched in the industry. Ms. Santos and her exceptional staff at the Horizon Club are the reason guests return to the Shangri-La Makati repeatedly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alain B, General Manager at Makati Shangri-La Manila, responded to this review, 10 August 2014
Dear Paul L,

Thank you for taking the time to single our colleague, Stephanie, out for her hard work and heartfelt service to guests such as you. I will be sure to pass on your kind words to her, who is truly an asset to the company. We look forward to welcoming you back again when you find yourself in Manila once more.


Yours truly,

Alain Borgers
Area Manager / General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.3 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Peninsula Manila
The Peninsula Manila
#5 of 83 in Makati
2,145 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 83 in Makati
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#18 of 83 in Makati
2,037 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raffles Makati
Raffles Makati
#1 of 83 in Makati
415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Discovery Primea
Discovery Primea
#2 of 83 in Makati
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Makati Shangri-La Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Makati Shangri-La Manila

Property: Makati Shangri-La Manila
Address: Ayala Avenue Corner Makati Avenue | Makati City, Metro Manila, Makati, Luzon 1200, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Makati
#3 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#3 Family Hotel in Makati
#8 Spa Hotel in Makati
#8 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Makati Shangri-La Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 696
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Makati Shangri-La, Manila is located at the center of Manila's most prestigious business, shopping and entertainment district. Just 20 minutes away from the international airport, this award-winning hotel offers exquisite comfort and world class luxury. From its exceptionally spacious and beautifully appointed rooms to its lavish restaurants and exciting bars, its high-speed internet access to its full-service Spa and Fitness Center, Makati Shangri-La lives up to its reputation as Manilas leading hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Makati Shangri-La Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Makati Shangri-La Manila Hotel Makati
Shangri La Manila Makati
Shangri La Makati
Shangrila Makati
Makati Shangri La Hotel
Makati Shangri-La Manila Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing