We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GORGEOUS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Peninsula Manila
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
san carlos,
Level Contributor
170 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“GORGEOUS”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This is my second time staying at The Pen and it was completely decorated for Christmas - when you walk into the lobby it is breathtaking. Again, the service is top notch and the staff is so polite. Safety is key in this hotel which always makes me happy.
Our room was well appointed, great view of the city and very clean.
It is relaxing and an oasis in a very fun, but busy city.

Room Tip: The tower on the right side of the reception area has newer rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lindadrew13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,235
    565
    140
    42
    27
See reviews for
325
466
158
848
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sentosa Island, Singapore
Level Contributor
242 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

5 star ++...!! Even though the rooms are dated but still according to the given 5 stars...!! Maintenance is good, as you may expect from such a hotel chain.
Have to write, don't know why.., but I always find the Peninsula wherever in the world, slightly more classy, in a way stylish better or whatever positive word as for example the concurrent and in this case opposite located Shangrila-La...
Anyway loved my stay with them.. Location wise also top.. Bussiness wise had to be in the area but also for leassure guests..: some uptown malls like: Greenbelt and Glorieta's within walking distance..

Room Tip: Every room will be good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DACHALADACHA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Split,Croatia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

In chaotic Manila, The Peninsula stands out as classy island of tranquility, style and excellent service. I think this is the Filipino's hospitality at it's best.
The hotel provides all one would need. Variety of dining options, huge, yet intimate lobby, nice swimming pool and fitness area, entertainment spot, small but handy stores and efficient transportation services. Of course, rooms are meticulously clean, spacious and quiet. I stayed in the club room on the 4th floor overlooking swimming pool. I wouldn't call anything about the room outdated. There is modest dining area offering breakfast and light meal during the lunch and dinner time. Wireless service is free and fast enough. Hotel personnel is very friendly but decent.
I genuinely enjoyed performance by the hotel orchestra in the lobby while sipping a night drink.
If I ever return to Manila I'd stay in Peninsula and I would recommend it to everyone visiting this place.

Room Tip: I presume that rooms with garden/pool view are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank openseas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

my friend and i stayed here for a couple of days and was extremely pleased as the location was excellent. we were able to walk to the park, shopping centers, and surrounding area. the hotel was secure and as you would expect out of a peninsula, very grand. the pool and bar was small but plenty of lounge chairs/towels to relax. the spa and gym were also small (didn't have a place to really sit and relax with your tea) but did have wet/dry saunas, showers, robes and the spa services was good. the breakfast buffet had fresh fruit juices that you can customize and all the stations of both western and asian foods to indulge in - even a gelato bar! the rooms were comfortable and didn't expect single beds (as we're accustomed to double) but the rooms were a good size and never felt claustrophobic. and finally the staff was warm, professional and friendly. they even sent over a beautiful and yummy birthday cake to the room for my friend! overall, we had a great stay.

the buffet was great in the restaurant but they also offered it in the lobby. the offering wasn't the same and you couldn't go to both so people who didn't know, would go to the lobby and was disappointed that they missed out on the yummier spread.

Room Tip: the garden side was quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petitejetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

After staying at the Shangri-La on our first trip in May then coming back for three weeks our travel agent booked us for the last six days of our trip at this amazing hotel from the time they opened the front doors for us to our final goodbyes this hotel had it all for us...The food was amazing but we found that the best value was the smorgasbord available every night with food from various countries...we both loved to wonder out to the atrium to not only listen to the beautiful orchestra playing but to enjoy the atmosphere and the amazing architecture of this beautiful hotel..the only disappointing thing for me was that the orchestra was one floor above and we could not see who was creating the beautiful music that was a joy to listen to...if you get the chance enjoy their amazing High Tea i have never had one like it and we have had many over the years in various places...the rooms are slightly dated and need a revamp we where offered an upgrade to a suite on arrival but thought that the prices where a bit high.....one thing that stood out for me was the staff in the other hotels the staff kind of hung around after they had done something for you waiting for a tip and although good sometimes especially at the Shangri-La they were to much in your face from the moment the doors opened...this hotel has cornered the market in Makati at staff that respect your personal space...and i for one really appreciated that

Room Tip: we found the rooms a bit dated and had a room on the sixth floor facing the road...could not hear th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
157 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The Makati Peninsula is incredible value compared to 5 star hotels in any other capital city and compared to any other Peninsula hotels worldwide.

+ overall good hotel, slightly dated rooms but high standard
+ nice bar downstairs
+ quick check in
+ Friendly staff
+ good room service
+ good location

- Took a while to check out

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelCQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallbrook, California
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2013

The last night of every trip we take is of special importance, as I want it to be a memorable event that caps each trip.

I wanted to stay at a hotel in Manila that was newer with a contemporary image, but my wife finds special meaning in the Peninsula due to her memories of it while growing up in the Philippines. She remembers the hotel being the focus of those with money - something she definitely never had as a child. I was skeptical and did not have high expectations for our visit due to the age of the hotel and its more 'traditional' imagery.

We stayed in a suite on the top floor. It was absolutely one of the more comfortable, better decorated (contemporary) hotel spaces in which we have ever stayed. The lobby was as my wife wanted it to be. Live music from groups in tuxedos playing above those seated and eating below in an elegant setting. The service was as much as could ever be expected. Every employee seemed genuinely interested in exceeding our needs. I was advised that all entry level waiter positions in the hotel require a Bachelor degree just to be considered. The food wasn't spectacular, but was, in fact, very good. It was indeed a very relaxing visit and we would definitely consider going back to the Peninsula if we were to visit Manila once again.

Dr. David McKinney, President
Westcliff University, Irvine, CA

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidCMcK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.4 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.1 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#2 of 82 in Makati
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#15 of 82 in Makati
1,902 reviews
0.1 mi away
Discovery Primea
Discovery Primea
#3 of 82 in Makati
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Makati Diamond Residences
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Manila

Property: The Peninsula Manila
Address: Corner of Ayala and Makati Avenues, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Makati
#4 Family Hotel in Makati
#4 Business Hotel in Makati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#4 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 469
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Peninsula Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Manila Hotel Makati
Peninsula Hotel Makati
Peninsula Makati
Manila Peninsula
The Peninsula Manila Makati, Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing