We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not as nice as the other Peninsula hotels”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Peninsula Manila
Ranked #6 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights in a Club room. Smooth checkin process in separate area for club guests. Offered Snacks and Drinks in the club Lounge is nice but just average compared to other Lounges in Asia.
Room was okay, everything clean but not more... The room looks not very fresh and new... Also the smell was not very nice. Nothing to cpomplaint because it is probably throughout the Hotel the Same.Only attraction is lobby and Pool area.
Breakfast was good but mostly to crowded. Dinner in the Asian Restaurant was good but overpriced. Spa location is average and Treatments, too.
If you expect to have the peninsula experincea like in Bangkok oder Hongkong, you will be disappointed, next time we will try a newer Hotel in makati....

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roemsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,253)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,182 - 1,188 of 2,253 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

The Peninsular was a great way to start a holiday to the Philippines. From being met at the airport to being coaxed exhausted through Friday night Manila's nightmare traffic, the hotel did not out a foot wrong. The rooms are comfortable, the foyer unforgettable. The restaurants were reasonable value for a top hotel and surrounding areas were easy to get to without major effort. A stalwart amongst leading international hotels.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Peninsula Manila has been an iconic hotel to my family. Relatives from elsewhere would stay here whenever they have the chance to visit home (Manila), I had my wedding reception here, played music in couple other weddings, candidly spent weekends, enjoyed penpal ice cream with friends, had meetings, or simply hanged out at the lobby for coffee or anything.

The Peninsula never cease to impress me and my family with their ambiance but most of all by their sincere and courteous service.

I am excited to learn that they are turning the old but iconic train station here in Yangon into another Peninsula hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jimbo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Beautiful hotel located dead smack in the heart of Makati City. I have stayed in this hotel a few times and it is probably one of the best hotels in Manila I have stayed in! Great staff, contemporary furnishings, great location, great spa. Only downside it the mattress is as hard as sleeping on the ground. Nice time I am there, I would like to attend the afternoon tea, I attempted to have afternoon tea on Easter Sunday, but the wait was ridiculously long!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The rooms are wonderful, the breakfast buffet is amazing, the service is top notch. While walking through the lobby, the staff greeted us and remembered our names! We enjoyed listening to the live music being played in the lobby at night!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tess923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Probably one of my favorite hotels in Manila. OK. I love this hotel. The main reason is the lobby of the hotel. It's beautiful and screams luxury, but not over the top. I also like the fact that the lobby resto is open 24 hours for socializing and business deals. If you get lucky, you can be having tea or coffee next to Imelda Marcos or other Filipino celebrities that frequent there.

I like the hotel's sedate sophistication. The rooms are what you might find in a luxury hotel, quiet, comfortable with quality bedding and furniture. The staff is professional, knowledgeable, and polite.

It's walking distance to the Philippine financial district and excellent shopping. I stay here whenever I can.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jetters888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

My Husband & I stayed here for 2 nights at the end of a 2 week trip before flying back to UK.
Check in was ok but we had to request a map and weren't shown the services of the hotel or offered any tour? For 5 star I would expect this as standard?
Room was average. Everything was just average. I suppose I'm comparing this to all the 5 stars we have stayed in but we are in the Philippines and as we learnt they are behind when it comes to this.
The entrance area where you can have cocktails in the evening is grand and feels really relaxing to sit at night where we had a lovely cocktail and nibbles.
The Thai restaurant was very average but supposed to be 5 star as well? We have eaten at better beach cafés in Thailand! The service was non existent we waited over 30 mins for our wine to come and then they didn't have the one we ordered! The poor girl working was virtually on her own running around all the tables under a lot of pressure from all the guests? Note to management - employ more staff?!!
Breakfast was a complete disorganised mess... Terrible service. None of the staff seemed to know where plates, bowls were when there were none to use? Very unhelpful staff too and chaotic atmosphere.
Would I stay there again... Probably not as in all honesty Manila wasn't a highlight for us and I would only rate this 4 star at most.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank stephy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.4 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.1 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 86 in Makati
1,825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#20 of 86 in Makati
2,193 reviews
0.7 mi away
City Garden Grand Hotel
0.3 mi away
Raffles Makati
Raffles Makati
#1 of 86 in Makati
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Manila

Address: | Corner of Ayala and Makati Avenues, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Makati
#4 Spa Hotel in Makati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#4 Family Hotel in Makati
#5 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range: £98 - £183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 469
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Peninsula Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Manila Hotel Makati
Peninsula Hotel Makati
Peninsula Makati
Manila Peninsula
The Peninsula Manila Makati, Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing