We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to standard!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Peninsula Manila
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Not up to standard!”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

My wife and I have been regular visitors and occasional guests at the Peninsula and at our recent stay I have to say that there has been a deterioration of standards. Generally the rooms and restaurants etc., are only average for this type of hotel. We tried the fine dining restaurant and were very disappointed. The food quality, portion size, price and standard of cooking was very poor. The restaurant was totally without any ambience, noisy and the service was sleepy and intermittent. Service makes a great hotel but for now the Peninsula is struggling to make three star standard.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InquisitorX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peninsula_MN, Manager at The Peninsula Manila, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear InquisitorX,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Manila. The dining experience you highlighted is truly regrettable and certainly not up to The Peninsula's normal high standards. Please accept our apology for the disappointment you have been caused and rest assured that remedial steps have been taken to prevent occurrence of the same incidents in the future. Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback and please contact me at oliverdudler@peninsula.com if I could be of further assistance.

Thank you,
Oliver Dudler
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,330
    596
    148
    42
    30
See reviews for
342
495
168
903
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed here for two nights in a Club room. Smooth checkin process in separate area for club guests. Offered Snacks and Drinks in the club Lounge is nice but just average compared to other Lounges in Asia.
Room was okay, everything clean but not more... The room looks not very fresh and new... Also the smell was not very nice. Nothing to cpomplaint because it is probably throughout the Hotel the Same.Only attraction is lobby and Pool area.
Breakfast was good but mostly to crowded. Dinner in the Asian Restaurant was good but overpriced. Spa location is average and Treatments, too.
If you expect to have the peninsula experincea like in Bangkok oder Hongkong, you will be disappointed, next time we will try a newer Hotel in makati....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roemsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billingshurst
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The Peninsular was a great way to start a holiday to the Philippines. From being met at the airport to being coaxed exhausted through Friday night Manila's nightmare traffic, the hotel did not out a foot wrong. The rooms are comfortable, the foyer unforgettable. The restaurants were reasonable value for a top hotel and surrounding areas were easy to get to without major effort. A stalwart amongst leading international hotels.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The Peninsula Manila has been an iconic hotel to my family. Relatives from elsewhere would stay here whenever they have the chance to visit home (Manila), I had my wedding reception here, played music in couple other weddings, candidly spent weekends, enjoyed penpal ice cream with friends, had meetings, or simply hanged out at the lobby for coffee or anything.

The Peninsula never cease to impress me and my family with their ambiance but most of all by their sincere and courteous service.

I am excited to learn that they are turning the old but iconic train station here in Yangon into another Peninsula hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimbo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Beautiful hotel located dead smack in the heart of Makati City. I have stayed in this hotel a few times and it is probably one of the best hotels in Manila I have stayed in! Great staff, contemporary furnishings, great location, great spa. Only downside it the mattress is as hard as sleeping on the ground. Nice time I am there, I would like to attend the afternoon tea, I attempted to have afternoon tea on Easter Sunday, but the wait was ridiculously long!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The rooms are wonderful, the breakfast buffet is amazing, the service is top notch. While walking through the lobby, the staff greeted us and remembered our names! We enjoyed listening to the live music being played in the lobby at night!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tess923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Probably one of my favorite hotels in Manila. OK. I love this hotel. The main reason is the lobby of the hotel. It's beautiful and screams luxury, but not over the top. I also like the fact that the lobby resto is open 24 hours for socializing and business deals. If you get lucky, you can be having tea or coffee next to Imelda Marcos or other Filipino celebrities that frequent there.

I like the hotel's sedate sophistication. The rooms are what you might find in a luxury hotel, quiet, comfortable with quality bedding and furniture. The staff is professional, knowledgeable, and polite.

It's walking distance to the Philippine financial district and excellent shopping. I stay here whenever I can.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jetters888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.4 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.1 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#18 of 83 in Makati
2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 83 in Makati
1,648 reviews
0.3 mi away
Makati Diamond Residences
0.1 mi away
Discovery Primea
Discovery Primea
#2 of 83 in Makati
461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Manila

Property: The Peninsula Manila
Address: Corner of Ayala and Makati Avenues, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Makati
#4 Business Hotel in Makati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#4 Luxury Hotel in Makati
#4 Family Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 469
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Peninsula Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Manila Hotel Makati
Peninsula Hotel Makati
Peninsula Makati
Manila Peninsula
The Peninsula Manila Makati, Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing