We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel in Manila”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Peninsula Manila
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel in Manila”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

I'm often in Manila for business, but this is the first time to stay at the Peninsula. A wonderful atmospheric lobby, a small orchestra playing in the evening. Plenty of restaurants, very well appointed rooms, friendly, helpful staff. I could go on. My best hotel experience in Manila so far!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gringofarang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,093 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,292
    586
    145
    42
    28
See reviews for
335
482
163
885
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

I wanted to hug the whole hotel. The service, food, attention to detail... Everything was spectacular, and in fact, my only complaint was that the Pen was so nice that I had trouble leaving the comforts and elegance of its 5-star bubble to explore the rest of Manila.

The rooms themselves don't look that striking. However, linens are plush, the beds are phenomenally comfortable, and the bathroom was bigger than my Manhattan apartment.

The breakfast and pool/fitness area/spa were... just wow. Treat yourself.

Room Tip: Go for an upper floor for a better view. Also, pool side is probably nicer scenery than facing Ayala...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marybnashville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

As anyone has a right to expect from a Peninsula Hotel, the branch in Manila offers first-class accommodation in the heart of the city. Some may prefer the somewhat overstated opulence of the Shangri-la across the road; but the Peninsula has more class, in my view.
The pool is very pleasant, but sadly closes at 10pm, so really late night dips are out of the question. The gym has good cardio-vascular equipment, but is a bit crowded around the free-weights area - a tiny gripe.
The breakfast buffet is extensive and has something for all tastes. And, of course, the service is pretty much faultless. The only drawback is that after a few nights here, you get a little tired of having to answer the many people wishing you a nice day and asking how you are, even before you've reached the lifts!
Of course, ultimately, like any luxury hotel, it becomes a little bland after the initial experience; but for business, or a brief stay, it's terrific.

Room Tip: If you want a good night's sleep and prefer not to be disturbed by late(ish)-night revellers, as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BOwm23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
144 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

large, well equipped, and modern rooms, with free and perfectly working wifi
large pool, and pool garden/area
excellent breakfast buffet, plenty of choice and good quality
good location in makati
large, clean and up to date gym
good service

my only complain is with the traffic noise in the rooms facing the main road. the rooms don't seem to be properly insulated.
but if your room faces the entrance/garden side, it is fine.
i had to change rooms for that reason.

except for that, a very good hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CPC1PCP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
249 reviews
232 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014 via mobile

Really liked this hotel. Public areas, lobby, bar etc are lovely, very grand. Orchestra playing on the balcony in the lobby is a marvellous experience. The Asian fusion restaurant is fantastic. Breakfast/buffet restaurant also very good.

Fast wifi everywhere.

Staff very friendly and efficient.

The only thing I would say is that, while I have no complaints about the room I had (bathroom was fine, very good walk-in shower) it was a little drab; perfectly clean etc, nice bed, but not up to the decor standards of the rest of the hotel.

All in all, a very grand place that I would highly recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gobbledyspook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Peninsula Hotel in Makati is my home away from home not until I discovered the most abominable discovery I found in the last 2 year of my stay.

- oct 2013, stayed there and everytime am awake in the middle of the night due to some awful smell,thought it is due to high humidity....and did not complaint at all but address my issues to some of the staff I am conversing with while dining or having breakfast....during my last 2 days of stay ,got really sick and a nurse came to my room ( as per my requests ) and while we are talking ,I happen to get up and took of all the lineen in my bed as I woudl to change it, and what I discoverd!
the pillows am using for the entire week if really really dirty! color is already deep brown and have some spots ( do nto what) and so the nurse called the housekker rightaway ( or maybe me), to get evrything change to white and clean pillows....did not get any smell after that!
Aside from this, encounter a very suspicious pot of tea( as am sick,thought tea is a good remedy), aside from this on my arrival,room after I checked in is very dusty and did the clean up myself as needed to retire after an 18 hr flightsmfor much needed rest.
Wrote an e-maila nd address this issue to GM, Mr Dudley, was given 1 free night to try again and consider coming back to Manila Pen.

I accept his generosity, and stayed there for 1 night this last April 2014, and whata wonder!
Same old story, pillows are very dirty, carpet appeared not vacuum and in the middle of the night,
housekkeper, manager on duty is helping me to change the beddings ( linens, pillow sheets,etc).
Before during the day, was charged PHP 750.00 by their resident doctor, as I called them to consult some issues in my skin....even though he did not even examine me or recommended anything!

i am writing this review to warn off the guest checking -in at Peninsula hotel in Makati ,Philippines to check their pillows , as the price you and I are paying for a night in this hotel desreves a clean and nice pillows as this is your companion for the 8 hr sleep you and I deserve after a long trip!

It will not cost anything if upon checkin-in you check your pillows and the cleanliness of thr room..it for your benefit as well.

I am now staying at Fairmont and there's nothing i could complaint about the cleanliness of the room and the linens,pillows and other beddings they are providing........

Pls doa dn complaint ,so the Peninusula Hotel -Makati management take action at least to buy a new pillows for the deserving guests of theris!

Best,
Leonor

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
6 Thank Leonor d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

This review was based on personal experience in three hotels - traveling on business:
3 days in The Penninsula, Makati
3 days in Mandarin Oriental, Makati
6 days in Edsa Shangrila, Mandaluyong City

The best:
-Nothing beats the grand orchestra of the Penninsula and the bedroom's pillow, bed, and sheet. Sleeping experience is best in Penninsula, more than Edsa Shangrila or Mandarin Oriental Club room. If you're jet-lagged, or light sleepers, I think you'll have no problem sleeping in the Penninsula. The Orchestra... it can personalize your music to your taste, such as English, Indonesian, Chinese melodies... simply splendid.
-Nothing beats service in Mandarin Oriental. If Edsa Shangrila and The Penninsula can beat them, you'll have no better reason to stay at Mandarin Oriental in Makati. Mandarin Oriental will go above and beyond such as tracking down your business shipment for you and email you when it arrives. Edsa Shangrila and the Penninsula will most likely gives you a concierge or more 'standard' treatment, not 'above and beyond' service like Mandarin Oriental.
-Edsa Shangrila: Edsa Shangrila has no particular category that beats the other two hotels, but it is above average in all categories, which makes this hotel best overall balanced experience compared to Penninsula and Mandarin Oriental.

The bad:
The Penninsula: While it's good for business setting, I wouldn't recommend it for pleasure. If you happen to work all-day, I think you want a distinction between work vs home. The Penninsula is less like home, more like office. If your real office is like the Penninsula, I think all the workers will have very positive work-health-index =)
Edsa-Shangrila: Can't really stay bad thing about this hotel, everything seems to be above average. If I have to name one, I think that because it's a good choice, it can feel a little crowded and less spacious... especially in the swimming pool or lobby area and around holidays... best if in the morning or evening before dark...then it's more serene.
Mandarin Oriental: As others note, the hotel itself is quite depressing. Old carpet, elevator, half of the club house is dark and unused, it's a little spooky. This is why it's balanced with the outstanding service, I think the people have learned a very important lessons - of "knowing that they can or cannot control". While the hospitality workers cannot influence the management for hotel upgrade/renovation for example, they make sure they beat everyone and every hotel in service... and it truly shows and deserves credits.

Overall: Prices are about the same for all three hotels for standard rates, pick one based on what you value best. Is it the business? Penninsula. Is it the service? Mandarin. Is it the best overall? Edsa Shangrila.

BTW, there are two areas where all three hotels fail, though.
1) In all receipts, from meals, laundry, transportation bills, they always address me as "Mr" instead of "Ms". Maybe my name is boyish, but it seems that they all make false assumptions that I'm a male?
2) All three hotels can have more training in the idea of preserving environment, in the context of not replacing towels, bed sheets, etc, when guests choose so. In my experience, although used towels are hanged vs put on floor, they all replaces them. The same goes with bed sheets. In western hospitality world, the guests and employees understand this concept further, thanks to the management that makes it clear for guests in where/how to get replacement/re-uses, and all employees understand what they mean. I think in the eastern side of the world, it'll be good if the management can highlight that as well, so this concept and execution is well understood by both parties (guests vs workers).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aeroyos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.4 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.1 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#18 of 82 in Makati
1,970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 82 in Makati
1,602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Makati Diamond Residences
0.1 mi away
Discovery Primea
Discovery Primea
#2 of 82 in Makati
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Manila

Property: The Peninsula Manila
Address: Corner of Ayala and Makati Avenues, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#4 Spa Hotel in Makati
#4 Business Hotel in Makati
#4 Family Hotel in Makati
#5 Luxury Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 469
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Peninsula Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Manila Hotel Makati
Peninsula Hotel Makati
Peninsula Makati
Manila Peninsula
The Peninsula Manila Makati, Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing