We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Peninsula Manila

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Peninsula Manila
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
bangalore
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Very good hotel in the best location possible . Next to huge complex of malls with never ending eateries and shops .

The rooms are comfortable and the breakfast was nice.

The mangoes served in the room was a nice touch.

I am training for a marathon and the gym came in handy. Excellent equipment and a nice instructor.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank saikatBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,214
    554
    139
    41
    26
See reviews for
318
459
152
839
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

I had a lovely stay at the Pen in Manilla this last trip. The executive sweet was truly world class and the service was among the best I've found of hotels in the Philippines. The restaurant selection was great and they even served vegan food from The Farm, San Benito, which I am a great fan of. I couldn't think of a better hotel to stay at in Manila.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 5StarSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

Exceptional service - 5 min walk to green belt which is where an array of restaurants are. The customer service in my opinion is better than in the USA. Had a headache, and they sent a doctor immediately, free of charge. Live music every evening. Elegant reception....

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Classic hotel, but little to distinguish the Peninsula from its SE Asian rivals. Staff service excellent as usual. Handy to Ninoy Aquino airport (took <20mins both ways despite traffic), the CBD and Greenbelt shopping area and Landmark development mall.

Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Horley85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

You will be taken back to 1940's charm when entering the lobby with piano and hustle and bustle of guests coming and going.. Evening/night are especially charming with lighting softened and people dressed to eat, drink or visit.. Rooms are nice, quiet and fresh daily fruit.. Clean throughout... The hospitality is that of old age class with staff and atmosphere world class..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank winnie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

From the minute you pull up into the carriageway and walk through the doors you will be transported back to a day and age when service and hospitality were trademarks of a classy hotel. In this respect, the Manila Pen hasn't lost its touch and to this day, it is still the staff and the atmosphere that make this hotel what it is and always was, incomparable in terms of class. Yes, the Shangri-la Makati is directly across the street and you could stay there for around the same price. And yes, it is also an excellent property, but it is cold and unappealing compared to the Manila Pen,. Walk into the giant open lobby of the Manila Pen and take a seat to listen to the live music from up in the balcony that plays for most of the day and night and you will actually forget that you are in a big, crowded, noisy SE Asian city like Manila. Rooms are a bit dated but very well maintained and the service is second to none.If you opt for the club lounge, staff will fall over themselves to serve you and meet your needs. Club lounge is recently renovated quite beautifully and as an added bonus, they have I-Pads available in the lounge for you to take back to your seat so no need to drag your laptop or tablet with you. Wi-Fi throughout the hotel was complimentary and exceptional. Breakfast at Escola was fantastic, with enough choices to cause you to give up after your second trip back to the buffet. If you have time, try the high tea in the lobby every afternoon which is very popular and at a time when the orchestra plays live I believe. Dinner or late night snack in the lobby is also popular and excellent, with an ambiance unmatched anywhere else I've ever stayed, In short, the lobby is the place to see and be seen, serving food 24/7 and it is rare to ever find the place empty except for maybe very early in the morning. Glorietta and Greenbelt shopping malls are a short 10-15 minute walk from the hotel and you will also find many great restaurants there. If you ever have a chance to go to Manila, this is the place to stay. This is not the Shangri-la, which is why I like it, so if that's your style, this may not be your cup of tea. Also keep in mind that Makati is quite a distance from downtown Manila (if there is such a thing) with the unbearable traffic, so if your purpose for going there is to be near Manila Bay, U.S.. Embassy, Mall of America, etc., it's a bit of haul, especially with traffic (the plus side though is that you're about 30 minutes closer to the airport than Manila). If your purpose in traveling to Manila allows you to stay in Makati, give the Manila Pen a try and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Makati tower have a nicer view and are closer to the lobby and restaurants. Odd numbere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPG63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
somewhere
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The Manla Pen despite its age has maintained its class. As seen from the outside, it projects class and style. It still has the five-star welcome as you enter the hotel. What I liked most of all during my recent visit was the merienda buffet. I'd really say it was merienda heaven! The ambiance was great. The food was simply mouth-watering especially for someone who has not been back in the Philippines for sometime. The live flute and guitar music made the entire merienda dining experience a really unforgettable one. I would really come back each time I would visit the Philippines.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vict0randr0se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.4 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.1 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#15 of 82 in Makati
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
0.1 mi away
Discovery Primea
Discovery Primea
#2 of 82 in Makati
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Raffles Makati
Raffles Makati
#1 of 82 in Makati
5.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Manila

Property: The Peninsula Manila
Address: Corner of Ayala and Makati Avenues, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Makati
#4 Family Hotel in Makati
#4 Luxury Hotel in Makati
#4 Business Hotel in Makati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 469
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your The Peninsula Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Manila Hotel Makati
Peninsula Hotel Makati
Peninsula Makati
Manila Peninsula
The Peninsula Manila Makati, Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing