We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As nostalgic as ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Peninsula Manila
Ranked #4 of 82 Hotels in Makati
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“As nostalgic as ever”
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

We had an overall great stay in a hotel that really plays with your senses. Top corner rooms are the best for a good view of the Makati skyline. Just don't look down at the streets because traffic is terrible on weekdays and unpredictable on weekends. The hotel itself is just a short walk from nearby malls and dining areas so if you fancy a bit of exercise to explore the city, this may be a good starting point.
We were greeted by warm and ever-attentive staff who really look after you during the whole stay. No need to ask questions-- just flash a bewildered look and they'll pounce on you.

The breakfast buffet and dining experience was good with highlights on fresh seafood and a great dessert selection. Ambience lends to the comfort in a gracefully aging setting. Modern and classical music from an ensemble are a nice touch as well.

The rooms were always kept clean and dust-free. Proven and certified -- with no complaints from the highly sensitive noses of the perennially allergic wife and kids.

Looking forward to returning to this one...

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,095 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,294
    586
    145
    42
    28
See reviews for
335
483
163
885
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I stayed in Pen for 3 days 2 nights for a conference inside the hotel itself. Being on a conference trip, I spent almost 3/4 of my time in Manila inside the hotel. As it was described earlier as the oldest luxury hotel in Manila, the decor was old but grand. I really impressed by all the gigantic display in the lobby itself. My group arrived late and was raining heavily, so we decided to dine in the hotel instead of eating out. We chose an ASEAN cuisine restaurant named Spices. I was not puting high expectation for hotel food from my past experience, but the dishes served in Spices are way above expectation! Thumbs up for Spices.
Room was decent and meeting the standard of a 5 stars hotel, and the room service was really fast and efficient. Staffs are friendly and warm. Breakfast with good variety too!
The only little set back is the pool. It is too tiny for such a big hotel, but the ambience at the garden surrounding the pool is nice.
I must say that don't judge a hotel by the outer look, as it will surprise you once you step in the lobby.

Room Tip: Choose the tower wing with city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherene1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
165 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Stayed 2 nights while attending a conference. This is a luxury hotel with excellent services and very well maintained.
Lobby is huge with high ceiling. All day dining is available at the spacious lobby. Security is tight at entrance to lobby as elsewhere in Manila. Everyone will be screen before entering hotel.
Deluxe room is very spacious and well kept. There is a king size bed, flat screen TV with many international channels, mini fridge filled with drinks, tea making facilities, electric iron, safe deposit box, etc. Daily supply of mineral drinking water and replenished fruits are complimentary. Bathroom is spacious with bathtub, separate toilet and shower area. Comes with complimentary toiletries, including shaver and toothbrush.
There is gym & spa facilities, with both sauna and steam bath. Free flow of cool mineral water for consumption. Swimming pool is moderately large with a kids pool. Adult pool can be as deep as 2.4 meters at the centre, with the other end, 1.7 meters.
Buffet breakfast is excellent. Yummy and variety of selections. Love the Philippines pork sausage and fresh mango juice.
Hotel is just 10-15 minutes walk to Greenbelt Malls, Ayala Museum and Landmark shopping centre. Gorietta Malls is also about the same distance by foot.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrClementLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014 via mobile

A world class hotel, with a beautiful ambiance. The hotel standard is very impressive. We arrived and there was a mini orchestra playing in the hall which is by the way incredible. The buffet for the morning was really great, a lot of choices, and the food was excellent, we are definitely going back to this hotel.
I recommend it !

Stayed September 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

The hotel itself is luxurious but what stood out the most for me was the service provided.

Edward from the Front Desk was superb! He was really nice, courteous, professional and yes he's cute :-)! He gave in to all of our requests during check in and when he gave the room keys he even went out from the counter and told us that he would be accompanying us to our room. We've been to many hotels but this was the first time that a front desk staff was going to take us to our room. That was really great but we told Edward that he didn't have to do that. But that gesture really meant a lot. Great service Edward!

Oh, and another front desk staff, Cedric, provided us with exceptional service.

It was indeed a pleasurable stay. Thanks to Edward and Cedric.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonypet1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arras, France
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

This has to be one of the best and weirdest stays that I have experienced. The hotel is situated close to one of the many "hot" areas of Manilla and is not really impressive from the outside. But go through the doors and travel back in time around 100 years. A HUGE lobby, wonderfully decorated in a classical imperial style, classical music drifts across the lobby from a small orchestra playing on the balcony.... simply magic.
Apart from that the rooms are ok, breakfast basic and the restaurants are good. Check out the pool and the bar, they are worth looking at.
Great service as you would expect in this part of the world.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Only place I will stay in Manila. Located in the Makati area. near great shopping and restaurants etc. Very clean rooms. 5 star service throughout. Awsome lobby. One of the best hotels I have ever stayed at anywhere. And the hotel restaurants are superb. Excellent pool with food service poolside.

Room Tip: For me..all the rooms I stayed in were good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank glenn b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makati hotels
0.4 mi away
New World Makati Hotel
0.1 mi away
Makati Shangri-La Manila
0.4 mi away
Dusit Thani Manila
Dusit Thani Manila
#17 of 82 in Makati
1,974 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Fairmont Makati
Fairmont Makati
#3 of 82 in Makati
1,603 reviews
0.3 mi away
Makati Diamond Residences
0.1 mi away
Discovery Primea
Discovery Primea
#2 of 82 in Makati
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Manila? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Manila

Property: The Peninsula Manila
Address: Corner of Ayala and Makati Avenues, Makati, Luzon 1226, Philippines
Phone Number:
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Makati
#4 Business Hotel in Makati
#4 Luxury Hotel in Makati
#4 Romantic Hotel in Makati
#4 Family Hotel in Makati
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Manila 5*
Number of rooms: 469
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Peninsula Manila reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Manila Hotel Makati
Peninsula Hotel Makati
Peninsula Makati
Manila Peninsula
The Peninsula Manila Makati, Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing