We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location ---- Not much else”
Review of Citadel Inn Makati

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Citadel Inn Makati
Ranked #77 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My stay at the Citadel Inn was a last-minute booking which allowed for reasonably easy access from the airport and a good location for an inexpensive (cheap) price. That's exactly what I got.

There is an almost laughable disparity between the professional online photos of this hotel and reality. It's still a good value, but the hotel is old, basic, and somewhat dingy. The staff is pleasant but essentially uninterested. I'm sure this is in large part due to the fact that the hotel is located in the heart of the "entertainment" district, popular for its nightlife, massages abd (prostitution). Sitting in the lobby for a half-hour or so, I observed that the hotel is accommodating to its guests who bring in their massage finds. The hotel makes them register and doesn't let them leave until they verify with the guest that everything is okay. I'm sure that's helpful.

There are some reasonably priced restaurants in close proximity to the hotel, but nothing to write home about.

All-in-all, you get what you pay for here in the center of Manila.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NKyAdventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (512)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 512 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

i got the "studio" and its toooooo small to be called studio....it got a mini fridge, twin beds joined together one is lower then the other...soft bouncy mattresses....sheets covered with stains ....no hot water in shower..... got electric stove that u have to pay to use it....the rooms are really old and you can tell that the only maintenance that has been done to the place is a new paint job.....the loooong time to check you in after a 12hrs flight and the looooong time you have to wait for the elevator every time is another reasons why i wouldn't stay there again...it got nothing special about it except the location and i consider it over priced for the quality of the rooms....you can find another better place in the area with the same rate per nigtht.....i've cut my stay there and checked out early.
well never stay there again ( my personal experience and opinion).

Room Tip: i wouldn't recommend this place to anyone
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramsey_sa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I booked into this hotel, on line. It seemed OK there, on checking in found not up to reports. One small piece of soap, thin towels, no blanked, a practically no shower, no bedside lamps, out of date television. Would not recommend, for $40 plus would expect more, I moved hotel after first night

Room Tip: Don't bother, but lower floors better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zappa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Having stayed in the Citadel on and of for over a decade ==> we have seen the changes brought by time and poor maintenance.
The latest insanity is to charge extra for a rusty old plug in hot plate to cook on and a jug to boil water with.
I say insanity because about a quarter of the size of each room is the kitchen that unless one pays extra extra for ==> is totally useless.
This will be our last stay there.
The Best Western just up the road is about the same price and much cleaner and more modern plus one doesn't have to pay extra extra for tea and coffee facilities in the room.
It's sad to see the old place so run down.
Many of their customers now seem to be the bargirls that frequent the clubs below ==> 5 minutes after arrival ==> 3 young girls from a nearby room came knoking on my door offerring special rates.
Sus.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grue4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Stayed many times now, the place is getting old (has got old) but clean, the staff are very good, security at the door is good. Pay for wifi if you need it in your room, can go to the bar next door and get free and the food there is ok. The superior room is fine for a solo traveler, double bed thin sheets but clean, air con, only warm water in the shower if your lucky. TV and fridge. Also stayed in the suite, ok if you are having guests and want to sit round, eat and drink otherwise not worth the extra money. Free Safety box at front desk. Location is the best thing about it, very safe area 24/7.
Lot of bars and night life in the street, good malls within walking distance. 7 11 store next door.
If you are coming in from the airport or going back out there the 20 peso to use the
sky road is worth it.

Room Tip: None smoking 5th floor, slow lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grumpy_1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed in a one bedroom suite for 3 days during the first leg of my Manila trip then another 3 days on the last 3 days of my Manila trip. While the room was spacious it was not very well maintained. There were no sheets and had to request reception to give me sheets to put on the bed. There was no blanket on the bed and on most nights slept without the AC on just so i wouldn't get sick from the cold. On the second leg of my trip I started getting rashes on my neck from the bed and/or pillow. This resulted in me buying some sort of sheet and disinfectant to cover the bed. All the furnishings in the room were quite outdated and in the first 3 days of my stay the TV was not working because the antenna cord was busted. On the second leg of my trip the TV was working fine but the bar fridge wasn't plugged in and when i did plug it in, it wasn't working. The toilets smelt like stale urine and I had cockroaches coming out of the drains.

Also arranged for airport pickup. At the international airport we couldn't locate the driver and were not given any instructions where to meet him. We were going to arrange other transportation with another driver when we saw the hotel driver outside the arrivals area. At the domestic airport we were also not given any instructions where to meet the driver so we went with another driver. Once we arrived we had to argue with the receptionist about not having to pay the driver because we could not find them and were not given any instructions where to meet him.

Overall the only thing i have positive to say about this hotel was the size of the room and its convenience to CBD. A lot of bars and local eateries around but thats where the positive stops. I won't be staying in this hotel ever again and definitely do not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jayski05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

The 1 bedroom suite was surprisingly large with an anteroom, kitchen, living room, bedroom, and bath. There were two balconies, one off of the bedroom and one off of the living room. The elevators were efficient. There was a lot of hot water and the bed was relatively comfortable. Air conditioners worked well. Room was somewhat dated. For the price, it was a pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: Higher floors have great views, and the cost for a one BR suite is very little more than the cost fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wslawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makati hotels
1.6 mi away
ZEN Rooms La Paz
ZEN Rooms La Paz
#54 of 86 in Makati
193 reviews
1.3 mi away
Eurotel Makati Hotel
Eurotel Makati Hotel
#75 of 86 in Makati
176 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Planet Manila Makati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Durban
Hotel Durban
#23 of 86 in Makati
428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Artina Suites Hotel
Artina Suites Hotel
#27 of 86 in Makati
325 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hop Inn Hotel Makati Avenue Manila
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Citadel Inn Makati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Citadel Inn Makati

Address: 5007 P Burgos Street | Bel-Air, Makati, Luzon, Philippines
Region: Philippines > Luzon > Metro Manila > Makati
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #77 of 86 Hotels in Makati
Price Range: £18 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Citadel Inn Makati 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Citadel Inn Makati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Citadel Inn Makati Hotel Makati
Citadel Makati
Citadel Inn Makati Metro Manila, Philippines

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing